We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“RELAX & ENJOY YOURSELF!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“RELAX & ENJOY YOURSELF!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Just return from our 4 night stay(May 2012) in Hotel EXCELSIOR BAY,highly recommend this hotel.Friendly staff,clean.lovely breakfasts and lovely evening meals.Perfect location ,lovely walk in to Malcesine and lovely walk in the other direction.!Close by to the cable car up to Monte Baldo well worth going up there,beautiful views of the Lake,mountains.Trips across lake to Limone are fairly regularly other places they are less often,bus service to places like Garda,Bardolino are regular!So pleased we chose This hotel and resort.

Room Tip: 118 had a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DEBRA110766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    80
    34
    20
    6
See reviews for
44
146
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Excelsior Bay Hotel in May for ten days and we found it an excellent Hotel.
The position of the Hotel was perfect, right on the Lake side and in easy walking distance toTown Centre of Malcesine with lovely walks around the Lake.
The cleaniness of the Hotel was spot on, the room was very nice, clean and comfortable with an excellent veiw of the Lake. The staff was most helpful, very friendly and made our stay special. The Food was excellent ( compliments to the chef ) as was the service. The pool was superb and the area round the pool was lovely to relax in with the Lake in front and the Mountains at the rear.
We hopfully will go back to Lake Garda and would defiantly stay at the Excelsior Bay Hotel.
Pat and Brian Hodson.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The location: The location was perfect, right next to the Lake and the pristine Alpine Range on the horizon! The castle, the town centre and the cable car service to Mount Baldo are all just about 5-15 minutes walk along a beautiful trail from the Hotel.
The Room: We had a double room with balcony offering a spectacular view of the lake. The rooms are cozy, homely and very clean (don't expect 5 starish stuff!). Wi-Fi service is provided in the Lounge, only if you're carrying your own laptop. Internet is inaccessible in the rooms. However, unlike most Italian hotels we stayed at, the Internet service was free here.
The Staff: The best and the friendliest staff we came across throughout our Italian journey. They go out of their way to keep you happy and comfortable! They offered free welcome drinks and noticed the moment we ordered our first munchies that we are vegetarians. And throughout our entire stay, the chef paid special attention to our food and customized all their dishes to suit us, even if we were the only two vegetarians there! The staff, right from the reception to the chef are very helpful and keep the place cheerful!
The Food: Words won't do justice to the awesome food! We were lucky enough to be there during one of the Gala Dinners! Even the normal dinners were so delicious that just one Gala and one normal dinner made me 5 pounds heavier while leaving! Not to mention their freakingly great "cuppa" desserts!
Just go for it! The location, the view, the staff, the food are all worth every single buck you pay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony overlooking the lake. Our room number was 216, which offered a spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wanderer14287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at this Hotel in June for a week. We have stayed in othe hotels around Garda and were quite impressed with this one. The position is perfect, right on the lakeside with an easy stroll into Malcesine. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food, we thought was excellent with a good choice of courses at the waiter service Dinner, including a lovely salad buffet. We often had the pool to ourselves which was spotlessly clean and very inviting! We specially wanted an adult only hotel, but found there were a couple of German parents with children who had obviously booked in on 'spec'! The down-side of the hotel are the slightly small, dated bedrooms, although they are spotlessly clean, in fact our bathroom was probably as big as the bedroom but didn't have a bath, only a shower. Take your own hairdryer if you need to use one often as the over hot industrial type dryers on offer in the bathrooms tended to blow all the fuses in our room if used when the telelvision was on!! All in all we had a lovely holiday, and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for a ground floor room as the views are nil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for one week in Sep 2011.Wonderful position close to the lake,easy to walk into Malcesine.
Rooms are dated.We were given room 208 which was so small we had to be asked to be moved.There was only a single wardrobe,this was obviously a single room.
Dinner was excellent,lots of choice.However deserts were dissapointing.Never had any authentic Italian deserts,no pannacotta/tiramisu.Ice cream every night became boring.
Breakfast was good.Delicious breads. However little fresh fruit.
Staff are excellent and the hotel was very clean.
Just ensure where your room is!!!!

Room Tip: Ask re position of your room otherwise you may have awful view. Avoid rrooms 108 and 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ruthiebabeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

First time to Italy and Lake Garda. Chose this hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and also my husband's birthday (same day).

Hotel exceeded our expectations - especially the food at dinner - extensive wine list and not overly expensive. We had intended to have a special meal out to celebrate but after having checked out numerous restaurants we decided against paying 100 euros plus for a meal as it could not have been cooked or served any better than in the hotel. After dinner that night we were taken out to the terrace by our waiter, Marcelo, who then proceeded to bring out a complimentary (and very good) bottle of prosecco for us - we then had happy anniversary and happy birthday played by the musician that night.

We were fortunate enough to have a room with a balcony and a side view of the lake - think this may have been down to the fact that when I booked this with Thomas Cook I mentioned the anniversary/birthday celebrations - plus we also received cards from them.

The hotel location is excellent, a gentle stroll into Malcesine centre, also near to the small jetty where you can get a boat to Limone which we did. We also went to Riva. Enjoyed visiting both places but really glad we chose Malcesine. We also looked at some other hotels which had been recommended by friends who had been to Malcesine previously and think the Excelsior Bay beats them hands down. The cable car to Monte Baldo was another very enjoyable experience - we bought our entry cards for this from our rep. Chris - saved all the queuing when you got to the cable car station and also the same price as if you had paid at the ticket office itself.

Our room was very comfortable, maid service very good and complimentary toiletries, tissues etc. in the bathroom always restocked. The free room safe was a bonus together with the mini fridge - these are an extra cost in most other European holiday destinations.

We used the rooftop terrace for sunbathing in the afternoon as the pool terrace was partially shaded then - you were able to have drinks/snacks served up there.

Our only small gripe - cost of a gin and tonic at the hotel - 8 euros each - yet the wine/beer prices were reasonable.

One quirky thing - found it strange how many people take their dogs on holiday!!! 2/3 staying in the hotel - the room info says 10 euros per day for small animals!!

Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and Malcesine itself to our friends and will hopefully be back ourselves in 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Greecelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I read the comments here before staying in this hotel and to a degree I can echo some of these. The room was smaller than we'd expected from a 4* hotel and we'd paid quite a bit extra (£362 for a week) for a small balcony. The room did not have all the facilties you might expect from a hotel like this. There were no tissues and no television guide; but there was a room safe. The hotel was hard to access with luggage (a steep slope from the main road) and when we arrived no help was available (but it was when we left).

On the plus side the swimming pool was good. The view from our room and from the dining room was magnificent: over the Lake and to the mountains beyond. The town is within easy walking distance and is most attractive. The hotel food was good, too, far better than the standard package tour fare. The staff were friendly and efficient, and not only spoke English well, but helped us with our basic Italian. The other guests, mainly German and British, seemed happy with the hotel, and so were we.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anglicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#17 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#7 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#18 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 km away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Property: Hotel Excelsior Bay
Address: Via Lungolago Madonnina 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing