We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A painful one to review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Location ***** Breathtaking and so convenient for the centre of Malcesine
Staff ***** Always really helpful, courteous, efficient and welcoming
Rooms *** Small beds, inadequate air conditioning and generally in need of refurbishment
Food ** Sadly, very poor. You can read the many TA reviews for examples of the numerous shortcomings

Over the period of our week's stay we became really attached to the Excelsior Bay Hotel and our initial feelings of disappointment soon changed to that of concern for a dear old friend who has fallen on hard times. This was almost entirely down to the staff who are so good and next only to the location, should be regarded and the hotel's most valuable asset. There is also a large luxurious open swimming pool and surrounding sun bed area.

Our overall verdict is that we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel but I am really concerned that the hotel survives largely from an older, traditional generation of clientele who are generally less internet savvy and unlikely to scrutinise customer feedback before booking or loyal repeat customers. As this is a shrinking market segment, it is so important that the management takes action now to address the food and room quality issues before the world moves on!

If so this could turn around the fortunes of what could be a thriving, popular, upmarket **** hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are by far the best but come with a hefty premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This has a great location right on the lakeside with lovely views. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Generally the hotel is clean and comfortable.
Our original room was good but extremely noisy, it sounded like there was a generator outside so we asked to change rooms. The room were were offered was much smaller but quiet, however the airconditioing was not very good so we had to run it permanently to keep the room at an acceptable temperature. The main let down with this hotel was the evening meals. Some were OK but others were awful with overcooked veg and tough meat, also some of the combinations were a bit strange.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Excelsior Bay, having read several bad reviews before hand, we turned blind eye to them and although some rang true, our stay there was sublime.

Excellent surroundings with the mountains to the west side of Lake Garda - sun kissed in the mornings to which we faced eating our breakfasts - in the company of British and German guests. The staff were professional in every sense - catering, service, cleaning and in reception, culminating in an excellent and unforgettable holiday.

We went half-board and each evening the menu comprised of a starter, with which you could fetch a accompanying salad if desired, 2 main courses and a sweet.

Any wine or bottled water consumed was paid for at the end of the stay when settling the bill. On half-board, each course seemed rather small compared to those on B n B basis - but because of the temperature, of suitable size and very tasty.

We would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lake. Go B n B not half board to benefit from the larger meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbertolaso60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Superb location, literally 10 yards from Lake Garda. Wonderful patio to sit, have a drink and watch passers by on the promenade and activity on the lake. Wonderful staff, receptionists, waitresses, drinks waiter, all were extremely friendly and helpful... all day and night. Spotlessly clean. Bedrooms basic but perfectly adequate, 3 changes of sheets during the week.
A real pleasure to have been there and will return again,and again. Thank you Excelsior Bay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and our fourth to Lake Garda. The staff at the hotel, the same as last year, all greeted us a long time friends, from the baggage porter to the manager all were welcoming and friendly. Of particular note are the restaurant staff, Kristina, who was at the hotel last year, and her colleagues work very hard to provide an outstanding service with cheerfulness and smiles. The reception staff are extremely professional, charming and helpful.
The rooms overlooking the lake, at a premium but worth every penny, are a little small but this is the case with most Italian hotels. The small balcony is ideal for a drink at sunset with a fabulous view across and down Lake Garda. Our tip is take an excursion to the Spar shop for good value wines, beers and aperitifs!
The hotel bar prices are expensive, this is normal in Italian hotels. There is a small lake front bar along the promenade about 300 yds. away which serves good local wine and beer at reasonable prices.
Take the ferry to Limone for a walk around a very small and crowded village with souvenir prices to match, or go further afield to Riva del Garda where the prices are reasonable for the same things.
You can take a ferry to the south of the lake but it is a long journey, 3 hours, but worth the relatively high cost. Take your passport if your over 65 and get a Senior Citizens discount!
We went to the opera in Verona and this a must do once in a lifetime experience, just fabulous and unforgettable.
We travelled with Jet2 Holidays and found them to be excellent from the onetime flights, superb private taxi transfers to the knowledgeable and helpful resort representative.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank montysbestmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous holiday in a beautiful part of Italy. Good hotel with everything you needed. Fantastic location at the base of wonderful mountains with a cable car to get right to the top. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed at the Excelsior Bay Hotel for our wedding anniversary. We arrived in Malcesine with some misgivings, as previous reviews of the resort and the hotel were mixed, but we found both to be excellent. The reception staff were very warm, helpful and hospitable and the restaurant and bar staff very attentive.
We had a lake front room and the views are to die for and loved eating our meals on the terrace overlooking the lake. It couldn't have been better. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the pool was a welcome addition in the very hot weather. It was a short walk along the lake into town. If you decide to do the cable car up Monte Baldo, try to get there very early.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dix29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
0.5 km away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#20 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.8 km away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Address: Via Lungolago 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $276 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing