We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Piccolo Hotel(Malcesine)
US$139
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Benacus Malcesine(Malcesine)
US$184
US$171
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Capri(Malcesine)
US$193
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
137
91
40
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
91
40
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardlake viewchef cookingevening mealferry boatreception staff were very friendlyrestaurant and bar stafffour courseswaters edgeitalian cuisinewalk in wardrobesalad barwonderful positioncable carshort strollbottled waterplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 299 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

This has a great location right on the lakeside with lovely views. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Generally the hotel is clean and comfortable.
Our original room was good but extremely noisy, it sounded like there was a generator outside so we asked to change rooms. The room were were offered was much smaller but quiet, however the airconditioing was not very good so we had to run it permanently to keep the room at an acceptable temperature. The main let down with this hotel was the evening meals. Some were OK but others were awful with overcooked veg and tough meat, also some of the combinations were a bit strange.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Excelsior Bay, having read several bad reviews before hand, we turned blind eye to them and although some rang true, our stay there was sublime.

Excellent surroundings with the mountains to the west side of Lake Garda - sun kissed in the mornings to which we faced eating our breakfasts - in the company of British and German guests. The staff were professional in every sense - catering, service, cleaning and in reception, culminating in an excellent and unforgettable holiday.

We went half-board and each evening the menu comprised of a starter, with which you could fetch a accompanying salad if desired, 2 main courses and a sweet.

Any wine or bottled water consumed was paid for at the end of the stay when settling the bill. On half-board, each course seemed rather small compared to those on B n B basis - but because of the temperature, of suitable size and very tasty.

We would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lake. Go B n B not half board to benefit from the larger meals.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbertolaso60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Superb location, literally 10 yards from Lake Garda. Wonderful patio to sit, have a drink and watch passers by on the promenade and activity on the lake. Wonderful staff, receptionists, waitresses, drinks waiter, all were extremely friendly and helpful... all day and night. Spotlessly clean. Bedrooms basic but perfectly adequate, 3 changes of sheets during the week.
A real pleasure to have been there and will return again,and again. Thank you Excelsior Bay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank j0hnsmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and our fourth to Lake Garda. The staff at the hotel, the same as last year, all greeted us a long time friends, from the baggage porter to the manager all were welcoming and friendly. Of particular note are the restaurant staff, Kristina, who was at the hotel last year, and her colleagues work very hard to provide an outstanding service with cheerfulness and smiles. The reception staff are extremely professional, charming and helpful.
The rooms overlooking the lake, at a premium but worth every penny, are a little small but this is the case with most Italian hotels. The small balcony is ideal for a drink at sunset with a fabulous view across and down Lake Garda. Our tip is take an excursion to the Spar shop for good value wines, beers and aperitifs!
The hotel bar prices are expensive, this is normal in Italian hotels. There is a small lake front bar along the promenade about 300 yds. away which serves good local wine and beer at reasonable prices.
Take the ferry to Limone for a walk around a very small and crowded village with souvenir prices to match, or go further afield to Riva del Garda where the prices are reasonable for the same things.
You can take a ferry to the south of the lake but it is a long journey, 3 hours, but worth the relatively high cost. Take your passport if your over 65 and get a Senior Citizens discount!
We went to the opera in Verona and this a must do once in a lifetime experience, just fabulous and unforgettable.
We travelled with Jet2 Holidays and found them to be excellent from the onetime flights, superb private taxi transfers to the knowledgeable and helpful resort representative.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank montysbestmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous holiday in a beautiful part of Italy. Good hotel with everything you needed. Fantastic location at the base of wonderful mountains with a cable car to get right to the top. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews