We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
143
93
41
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
93
41
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardlake viewchef cookingevening mealferry boatreception staff were very friendlyhead waiterrestaurant and bar stafffour courseswaters edgeitalian cuisinecable carwalk in wardrobesalad barwonderful positionshort strollbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 308 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

The good stuff :-
Location next to Lake shore with Promenade into Malcesine that was great for my disabled buddy. Photo views over lake from restaurant, terrace or upper terrace.
Staff in general were all friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and bar staff in particular were very good. BIG positive for hotel to allow use of a corner of reception to allow charging of a motobility scooter. Its position did not restrict access to anything or anyone but we of course accepted that they could not be responsible for it. He did have a ground floor single room but it would have been very cramped with his scooter in it at night.
Drinks menu :- very good in quality and value
Average Stuff -
Room :- We had a first floor Pool View room. It was average. Although bed, linen and maid service was good, it was on small side for a double. The single walk in wardrobe that had safe inside positioned in a way that restricted the hanging space. Due to lack of space in main room we had to have our cases as there as well. Bathroom was a good size with shower, sink and bidet. The room terrace had little to no privacy and you couldn't see the pool from it. It was also in shade from mid morning.
Food:- Breakfast food quality was good, but range average. Hot buffet was limited mainly to an egg station. Cold continental buffet was also limited for hotel of this rating. I expected at least a couple more meat/cheese options as well fresh salad. Cereals and Fruit choices ok. Evening meal options were a bit hit and miss with a few strange combinations. Desert choices were limited and on three days running included creme brulee. Fresh Fruit or cheese and biscuits not options.
Swimming Pool :- The pool area was ok with enough sun loungers for most people when they wanted one. Pool itself was clean but was barely big enough in the busy afternoon periods.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Malcasiene and have no regrets about choosing the Excelsior Bay. Further I would recommend it anyone using a wheelchair or buggy. With a few changes to the food options and room makeover it can be better.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms get full sun from early pm so will get hot. Ground floor rooms good for accessibility, first floor room view not good
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Location ***** Breathtaking and so convenient for the centre of Malcesine
Staff ***** Always really helpful, courteous, efficient and welcoming
Rooms *** Small beds, inadequate air conditioning and generally in need of refurbishment
Food ** Sadly, very poor. You can read the many TA reviews for examples of the numerous shortcomings

Over the period of our week's stay we became really attached to the Excelsior Bay Hotel and our initial feelings of disappointment soon changed to that of concern for a dear old friend who has fallen on hard times. This was almost entirely down to the staff who are so good and next only to the location, should be regarded and the hotel's most valuable asset. There is also a large luxurious open swimming pool and surrounding sun bed area.

Our overall verdict is that we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel but I am really concerned that the hotel survives largely from an older, traditional generation of clientele who are generally less internet savvy and unlikely to scrutinise customer feedback before booking or loyal repeat customers. As this is a shrinking market segment, it is so important that the management takes action now to address the food and room quality issues before the world moves on!

If so this could turn around the fortunes of what could be a thriving, popular, upmarket **** hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are by far the best but come with a hefty premium.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

This has a great location right on the lakeside with lovely views. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Generally the hotel is clean and comfortable.
Our original room was good but extremely noisy, it sounded like there was a generator outside so we asked to change rooms. The room were were offered was much smaller but quiet, however the airconditioing was not very good so we had to run it permanently to keep the room at an acceptable temperature. The main let down with this hotel was the evening meals. Some were OK but others were awful with overcooked veg and tough meat, also some of the combinations were a bit strange.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Excelsior Bay, having read several bad reviews before hand, we turned blind eye to them and although some rang true, our stay there was sublime.

Excellent surroundings with the mountains to the west side of Lake Garda - sun kissed in the mornings to which we faced eating our breakfasts - in the company of British and German guests. The staff were professional in every sense - catering, service, cleaning and in reception, culminating in an excellent and unforgettable holiday.

We went half-board and each evening the menu comprised of a starter, with which you could fetch a accompanying salad if desired, 2 main courses and a sweet.

Any wine or bottled water consumed was paid for at the end of the stay when settling the bill. On half-board, each course seemed rather small compared to those on B n B basis - but because of the temperature, of suitable size and very tasty.

We would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lake. Go B n B not half board to benefit from the larger meals.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbertolaso60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Superb location, literally 10 yards from Lake Garda. Wonderful patio to sit, have a drink and watch passers by on the promenade and activity on the lake. Wonderful staff, receptionists, waitresses, drinks waiter, all were extremely friendly and helpful... all day and night. Spotlessly clean. Bedrooms basic but perfectly adequate, 3 changes of sheets during the week.
A real pleasure to have been there and will return again,and again. Thank you Excelsior Bay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank j0hnsmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews