We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
143
95
41
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
95
41
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardlake viewchef cookingevening mealferry boatreception staff were very friendlyhead waiterrestaurant and bar stafffour courseswaters edgeitalian cuisinecable carwalk in wardrobesalad barwonderful positionshort strollbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 310 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We booked this hotel independently as booking just bed and breakfast was not possible online. The hotel position is fantastic, a short stroll along the beautiful promenade to Malcesine shops, cafés and restaurants. In the other direction 15 minutes to a lovely bathing spot opposite Olive Island.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and appeared to have been recently decorated, in a slightly old fashioned style, but with such an amazing Lake view who cares!
Breakfast was self service buffet; fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, rolls, ham, cheese, tomatoes and a chef cooking omlettes to order. Coffee from a machine was good, would have been better with fresh milk.
Lots of choice for eating out. Some very good quality leather goods amongst the usual tourist stuff, better quality bags seemed to be towards the back of the shops.

Room Tip: Lake view was wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Fi_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Stayed at this hotel for a week in the middle of August with my wife and adult daughter.As someone who is hard to please I cannot understand where all the critical reviews come from.
Our room was adequate in size,beautifully decorated and furnished together with a balcony overlooking the lake.Food both at breakfast and dinner was very good.Ample portions,in fact many times couldn't eat it all.
Service at the table was excellent.Speedy,attentive and smiley.Marcello,the man in charge ran the show with military precision but with personality!Heaven knows how many hours he puts into a shift because he always was around.His staff were on the ball and whilst one cannot remember all of their names, in particular Irene with her cheeky charm and wit together with Beatrice ( Miranda lookalike) stood out.
Location is fantastic-10 yards from the water's edge.An 8 to 10 minute stroll into town.
Malcesine is a myriad of narrow cobbled streets littered with shops,bars and eateries.
We all had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to return to both Malcesine and the Excelsior Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peterandteresaro2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

The hotel is in an excellent location and breakfast on the terrace on a sunny day is a memorable experience. There is a good selection of food and the staff are very attentive at clearing away plates etc. This is OK as you can take your time before you get the next course (self-service). However...

At dinner the staff are very attentive at clearing away plates - this means that your next course arrives within 30 seconds of you finishing the last one - not the relaxed experience you want at dinner.

You have to choose your meal at breakfast time with no options for the started and four options for the next 2 courses, which is a bit of a nuisance. If there's nothing you fancy - hard luck. You can get a packed lunch instead of dinner if you tell the staff the previous night, when you don't know what the next night's meal will be.

One night my starter did not appear.

The 'primo piatto' was always a lot of pasta with a little sauce which contained very little meat r veg.

The secondo piatto' was meat or fish. One night I got a fillet of trout the size of a playing card! The Treccano restaurant down the path to Malcesine did a lake trout with grilled vegetables for 12.40 euros where the trout covered two thirds of a bigger plate than the one at the Excelsior Bay.

The plates were, as a rule, cold which is one of my pet hates.

The wine waiter insisted we upgraded from a normal Valpollicela to a "vintage" one - sadly this was just a tired old wine.

When it came to paying for extras (e.g. wine), we had at dinner, the hotel could not find all the vouchers I had signed for.

You have to 'rent' a towel for the swimming pool (10 euros). When I went for a swim and left my towel, it had disappeared when I came out of the pool. I complained at reception, but they refunded my 10 euros anyway, saying the the cleaner removed unattended towels from the pool (!)

Room Tip: Partial lake view means that you are on a side wall with a balcony which shows the lake from one side. There is no privacy on it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

The good stuff :-
Location next to Lake shore with Promenade into Malcesine that was great for my disabled buddy. Photo views over lake from restaurant, terrace or upper terrace.
Staff in general were all friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and bar staff in particular were very good. BIG positive for hotel to allow use of a corner of reception to allow charging of a motobility scooter. Its position did not restrict access to anything or anyone but we of course accepted that they could not be responsible for it. He did have a ground floor single room but it would have been very cramped with his scooter in it at night.
Drinks menu :- very good in quality and value
Average Stuff -
Room :- We had a first floor Pool View room. It was average. Although bed, linen and maid service was good, it was on small side for a double. The single walk in wardrobe that had safe inside positioned in a way that restricted the hanging space. Due to lack of space in main room we had to have our cases as there as well. Bathroom was a good size with shower, sink and bidet. The room terrace had little to no privacy and you couldn't see the pool from it. It was also in shade from mid morning.
Food:- Breakfast food quality was good, but range average. Hot buffet was limited mainly to an egg station. Cold continental buffet was also limited for hotel of this rating. I expected at least a couple more meat/cheese options as well fresh salad. Cereals and Fruit choices ok. Evening meal options were a bit hit and miss with a few strange combinations. Desert choices were limited and on three days running included creme brulee. Fresh Fruit or cheese and biscuits not options.
Swimming Pool :- The pool area was ok with enough sun loungers for most people when they wanted one. Pool itself was clean but was barely big enough in the busy afternoon periods.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Malcasiene and have no regrets about choosing the Excelsior Bay. Further I would recommend it anyone using a wheelchair or buggy. With a few changes to the food options and room makeover it can be better.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms get full sun from early pm so will get hot. Ground floor rooms good for accessibility, first floor room view not good
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Location ***** Breathtaking and so convenient for the centre of Malcesine
Staff ***** Always really helpful, courteous, efficient and welcoming
Rooms *** Small beds, inadequate air conditioning and generally in need of refurbishment
Food ** Sadly, very poor. You can read the many TA reviews for examples of the numerous shortcomings

Over the period of our week's stay we became really attached to the Excelsior Bay Hotel and our initial feelings of disappointment soon changed to that of concern for a dear old friend who has fallen on hard times. This was almost entirely down to the staff who are so good and next only to the location, should be regarded and the hotel's most valuable asset. There is also a large luxurious open swimming pool and surrounding sun bed area.

Our overall verdict is that we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel but I am really concerned that the hotel survives largely from an older, traditional generation of clientele who are generally less internet savvy and unlikely to scrutinise customer feedback before booking or loyal repeat customers. As this is a shrinking market segment, it is so important that the management takes action now to address the food and room quality issues before the world moves on!

If so this could turn around the fortunes of what could be a thriving, popular, upmarket **** hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are by far the best but come with a hefty premium.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews