We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$268
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Capri(Malcesine)
US$192
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Benacus Malcesine(Malcesine)
US$183
US$171
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolomiti(Malcesine)
US$154
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
214
43
23
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
43
23
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolevening mealvilla cristinaoverlooking the lakesuite villatourist busflip flopshalf boardlovely hotelval di sognoour honeymoonminute walkfive courseshotel is situatedlarge walk in showerthe ground floormain building
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 290 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2016

nothing but excellent. location super, staff very very attentive, breakfast and dinner really great with great choice. rooms excellent and the views across the lake super. being able to use the courtesy bikes was a boon and great fun. overall a superb hotel which is great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016

First off the setting and views from this hotel are stunning. It is situated right on the lake.
Location wise it is just outside malcesine although you can catch a bus or walk alongside the lake for 20 minutes (a word of warning for those less mobile, there is quite a steep section back up to the road on the return walk from
Malcesine is a beautiful quaint place and can be strolled around for hours. Lots of restaurants and little shops, particularly good for leather.

We did spend quite a lot of time selecting this hotel and overall we made a very good choice. We stayed in a suite in Villa Stefania which appeared to be more modern accommodation than in the hotel itself. We had a well equipped room with a lounge area and TV, a large bathroom, lots of storage and a HUGE balcony with two sun loungers and a table and chairs. The decor of the room was to a high quality and we were provided with a beach bag each containing a robe, pool towel and some flip flops.

Our rate was bed & breakfast so we can't comment on any other meals but breakfast was served on the terrace each morning with a view over the lake & apart from constantly having to deter small birds from sitting on your table it was very relaxing. Breakfast is continental with a small selection of fruit too.

Facilities wise there is a small outdoor pool as well as a small indoor one too. Both have loungers around as well as in the garden type area. There is a food served outside during the day.
Ensure you take trousers for evening meal if you intend to dine in. No shorts are allowed.

The hotel and in particular our room did have some negatives though, mostly to do with the housekeeping. Firstly upon check in there was an abundance of ants on our balcony and inside the room. It was clear the balcony had been treated but upon asking them to clean the room half a job got done. Instead of keeping an eye on the issue and continually cleaning them out the problem remained
Also, during our stay we appeared to have a few birds that used our balcony as a toilet. Whilst not an issue this went uncleared for the rest of our stay.
Thirdly the air conditioning. They only turn it on from the start of June onwards. The temperatures whilst we were there were 28/29 degrees and quite frankly sleeping was uncomfortable in the heat. Add to that a very powerful light outside the front door which kept the inside of the room lit up too! And no you couldn't turn this off from inside the room.
Finally and being picky the room was provided with two plastic cups and two wine glasses. Each day we had to wash the wine glasses ourselves and the plastic cups were simply left unchanged on the side.

Overall we did really enjoy our stay at this hotel. The balcony in particular and the views were simply stunning. I appreciate that I have been picky in the review but when you pay over £200 a night for a hotel you expect that little bit extra with the standards, particularly the cleaning and room upkeep.
For that reason it is a 4 and not a 5

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We booked at the hotel for two weeks staying in a lake facing suite.

The suite was in a section a short walk from the main hotel building. It had huge sliding windows to open up the room onto the balcony area. On the balcony, there were your own sun loungers and table, chairs and parasol.

The room, and bed were really comfortable. The only slight downside was having no kettle for that early afternoon cuppa!

We stayed on a half board option. Previous reviews had stated that you had to book your evening meal at breakfast. That appears no longer to be the case, as your order is taken at your evening meal. The food was freshly cooked, varied and tasted delicious on every occasion. The staff were attentive and friendly, even when the restaurant was busy.

The location allows for beautiful views over the lake and nearby mountain. Walking along the lakeside path to Malcesine takes about 20mins. This is mainly flat other than a stretch of hill nearest the hotel. However, this only takes a couple of minutes to climb. There is also an interesting village heading in the opposite direction along the lake called Cassone. Coffee in the Al Vogaor is also half the price of coffee in Malcesine.

A trip up the cable car to the mountain of Monte Baldo is also worth doing (20 euro each) but get to the cable car station early to avoid the crowds.There are many walks and mountain bike routes, and if you are brave - you could even paraglide off the top, or just watch others more brave than you!

All in all an excellent hotel with great friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2016

Ten days at this lakeside hotel would have highlighted any faults but there were none!We were half board and the evening meals were excellent and not one course was duplicated in 10 days. The staff were amazingly efficient and polite and helpful.The rooms(8&10) were clean and bright.Would suggest ground floor facing lake.One item which would give it 6 stars would be a tea&coffee machine in the room.

Room Tip: ground floor facing lake
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakheart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

This small family owned Hotel has a wonderful location to enjoy the sights on the `Dolomite end of Lake Garda.
A short Tourist Bus ride away from the pretty town of Malcesnie,this gem of a Hotel offers superb food,accomodation and views that will stay with you long after the holiday is over!
Here you can truly relax and unwind and think about the wonderful Dinner that evening - this is not a 5* star palace with gourmet dining,but each night the Chef prepares a 4 course dinner selection that has something for all tastes,served discreetly by professional & helpful staff,in a dining room that offers splendid views from behind panoramic windows or al fresco on a beautiful balcony.
The Garden suite rooms are well worth having and a further upgrade to the newest bedrooms means real luxury living.
This is our third time on Garda and it will not be our last - and we will be back to The Maximilian in Val de Sogno,Malcesnie!

Room Tip: Garden suite offer the best value
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews