We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Lake Garda”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2016

A fantastic place to stay
Quiet with beautiful views of the lake
Except housekeeping with separate swimming gowns and towels provided
short walk to the town
Staff very friendly and helpful
Highly recommeended

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2016

nothing but excellent. location super, staff very very attentive, breakfast and dinner really great with great choice. rooms excellent and the views across the lake super. being able to use the courtesy bikes was a boon and great fun. overall a superb hotel which is great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

First off the setting and views from this hotel are stunning. It is situated right on the lake.
Location wise it is just outside malcesine although you can catch a bus or walk alongside the lake for 20 minutes (a word of warning for those less mobile, there is quite a steep section back up to the road on the return walk from
Malcesine is a beautiful quaint place and can be strolled around for hours. Lots of restaurants and little shops, particularly good for leather.

We did spend quite a lot of time selecting this hotel and overall we made a very good choice. We stayed in a suite in Villa Stefania which appeared to be more modern accommodation than in the hotel itself. We had a well equipped room with a lounge area and TV, a large bathroom, lots of storage and a HUGE balcony with two sun loungers and a table and chairs. The decor of the room was to a high quality and we were provided with a beach bag each containing a robe, pool towel and some flip flops.

Our rate was bed & breakfast so we can't comment on any other meals but breakfast was served on the terrace each morning with a view over the lake & apart from constantly having to deter small birds from sitting on your table it was very relaxing. Breakfast is continental with a small selection of fruit too.

Facilities wise there is a small outdoor pool as well as a small indoor one too. Both have loungers around as well as in the garden type area. There is a food served outside during the day.
Ensure you take trousers for evening meal if you intend to dine in. No shorts are allowed.

The hotel and in particular our room did have some negatives though, mostly to do with the housekeeping. Firstly upon check in there was an abundance of ants on our balcony and inside the room. It was clear the balcony had been treated but upon asking them to clean the room half a job got done. Instead of keeping an eye on the issue and continually cleaning them out the problem remained
Also, during our stay we appeared to have a few birds that used our balcony as a toilet. Whilst not an issue this went uncleared for the rest of our stay.
Thirdly the air conditioning. They only turn it on from the start of June onwards. The temperatures whilst we were there were 28/29 degrees and quite frankly sleeping was uncomfortable in the heat. Add to that a very powerful light outside the front door which kept the inside of the room lit up too! And no you couldn't turn this off from inside the room.
Finally and being picky the room was provided with two plastic cups and two wine glasses. Each day we had to wash the wine glasses ourselves and the plastic cups were simply left unchanged on the side.

Overall we did really enjoy our stay at this hotel. The balcony in particular and the views were simply stunning. I appreciate that I have been picky in the review but when you pay over £200 a night for a hotel you expect that little bit extra with the standards, particularly the cleaning and room upkeep.
For that reason it is a 4 and not a 5

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We booked at the hotel for two weeks staying in a lake facing suite.

The suite was in a section a short walk from the main hotel building. It had huge sliding windows to open up the room onto the balcony area. On the balcony, there were your own sun loungers and table, chairs and parasol.

The room, and bed were really comfortable. The only slight downside was having no kettle for that early afternoon cuppa!

We stayed on a half board option. Previous reviews had stated that you had to book your evening meal at breakfast. That appears no longer to be the case, as your order is taken at your evening meal. The food was freshly cooked, varied and tasted delicious on every occasion. The staff were attentive and friendly, even when the restaurant was busy.

The location allows for beautiful views over the lake and nearby mountain. Walking along the lakeside path to Malcesine takes about 20mins. This is mainly flat other than a stretch of hill nearest the hotel. However, this only takes a couple of minutes to climb. There is also an interesting village heading in the opposite direction along the lake called Cassone. Coffee in the Al Vogaor is also half the price of coffee in Malcesine.

A trip up the cable car to the mountain of Monte Baldo is also worth doing (20 euro each) but get to the cable car station early to avoid the crowds.There are many walks and mountain bike routes, and if you are brave - you could even paraglide off the top, or just watch others more brave than you!

All in all an excellent hotel with great friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Ten days at this lakeside hotel would have highlighted any faults but there were none!We were half board and the evening meals were excellent and not one course was duplicated in 10 days. The staff were amazingly efficient and polite and helpful.The rooms(8&10) were clean and bright.Would suggest ground floor facing lake.One item which would give it 6 stars would be a tea&coffee machine in the room.

Room Tip: ground floor facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakheart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This small family owned Hotel has a wonderful location to enjoy the sights on the `Dolomite end of Lake Garda.
A short Tourist Bus ride away from the pretty town of Malcesnie,this gem of a Hotel offers superb food,accomodation and views that will stay with you long after the holiday is over!
Here you can truly relax and unwind and think about the wonderful Dinner that evening - this is not a 5* star palace with gourmet dining,but each night the Chef prepares a 4 course dinner selection that has something for all tastes,served discreetly by professional & helpful staff,in a dining room that offers splendid views from behind panoramic windows or al fresco on a beautiful balcony.
The Garden suite rooms are well worth having and a further upgrade to the newest bedrooms means real luxury living.
This is our third time on Garda and it will not be our last - and we will be back to The Maximilian in Val de Sogno,Malcesnie!

Room Tip: Garden suite offer the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

A hotel with views to die for, the staff are friendly and the rooms are excellent with a beautiful bathroom.
The food is high quality and umbrellas and cycles are free to borrow with a lovely 15 minute walk to the charming town center. The infinity pool blends with the lake.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 km away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
245 reviews
2.7 km away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
1.5 km away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
631 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Via Val di Sogno 6, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: C$305 - C$509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Maximilian Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing