We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
282
66
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
66
5
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 356 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a very dirty toilet.
They are not friendly.
Very racist people.
They are looking only for money not to make tourists happy.
Take care about this place.
It is not safe.
Looks for neighbours.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank petrescucristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

it's very hard spot to travel around Elba- even going do a beach hoping. I would not recommend the place if you do not have a car. The management ( Lorenzo) does not care to give in formation or extended extra help regarding for information or make my trip easier. No extra help for information for taxi or transfer. I do traveled around Italy and lived in Italy before. I must say " it's worst hospitality- information I've ever experience in Italy. With Lorenzo attitude of "cosa me ne frega "
I will not recommend at all. Although the food and the view was excellent. Serving staff was very kind. It's still left a bad test.

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank Noniebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Cameriere at Hotel Belmare, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016
Google Translation

Gentilissima sig.ra
ci fa piacere che ha apprezzato alcune cose del nostro Hotel.
Ci dispiace che lei abbia percepito il nostro modo di aiutarla come "peggiore ospitalità", ma il sig. Vincenzo (non Lorenzo), non parlando Inglese, ha chiesto di preoccuparsi in particolare di lei per agevolarla nel suo soggiorno. Io sono Matteo, il cameriere, e nel nostro possibile abbiamo sempre cercato di aiutarla, fornendole tutte le informazioni possibili come i prezzi degli ombrelloni (sui quali lei ha scarabocchiato), gli orari degli autobus e la fermata che dista 50 m dal nostro Hotel. In questa zona se non si ha la macchina ci si deve affidare al servizio degli autobus per muoversi, che comunque, in questo periodo, passano ogni ora sia in direzione Marina di Campo che Marciana, o della navetta che porta alle spiagge vicine. In particolare, Vincenzo, quando lei era ad aspettare la navetta a Sant'Andrea, le ha passato al telefono il nostro chef Mirko che, parlando inglese, era l'unica persona che poteva aiutarla dato che lei pretendeva che qualcuno la venisse a prendere quando aveva il servizio della navetta gratuita che la riportava in Hotel a pochi minuti dalla telefonata.
Le vorrei ricordare che comunque non le abbiamo nemmeno aggiunto nessun supplemento per la rottura della chiave della camera.
Vorrei inoltre sottolineare che Vincenzo, in quarant'anni di questo lavoro, non si è mai permesso di dire "Cosa me ne frega" a nessun cliente.
Cordiali saluti
Lo staff dell'Hotel Belmare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed here for three nights in May, which appears to have been the off-season. The hotel is of a very high standard, with our room having a terrace with a view of the sea. We had half-board, which we would definitely recommend, as the food is amazing and good value (there are also not many alternative places to eat in the area if you don't have a car). The breakfast is also very good, with a wide variety of food included in the buffet. If you do have a car, there are quite a few places to eat out within a couple of miles drive - some of these are within walking distance for lunch (30 minutes or so). If you do decide to travel here by bus, make sure you check the timetables carefully as not all services run every day. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk of a couple of pebble beaches, which seemed very secluded when we were there, as we didn't see anyone else on our favourite one during our stay.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonbF612FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Direttore at Hotel Belmare, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear Simon
thanks for your wonderful review and for choosing our Hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that our Hotel met your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Belmare. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2015

We loved our stay at the Belmare. Elba itself is fabulously beautiful. The hotel is situated above the sea in western Elba with wonderful views of Capraia and Corsica from rooms and terraces. Drives along the coast took us to beaches at Pomonte, Fetovaia and Marina di Campo, and a trailhead for a major well-maintained hike was just a few hundred yards down the road. We were there in preseason (late May) and the place was fairly empty. That meant we had gifted chef Mirko Lanari to ourselves, and were able to consult each morning about fish in the market, and whether gorgonzola cream sauce would be good on homemade gnocchi (it was). We ate all our dinners there. Service was excellent. Our host Vincenzo spoke little English, but we got along fine. At checkout I was sure he had added up bill wrong, being about half the cost I had expected; apparently dinners are billed as a per day charge, not a la carte, added beers and wine were amazingly inexpensive. Room 6 was very comfy with its own private seaview balcony, full bath. If I were to search for flaws, I would say internet was a bit difficult, but was being replaced as we left, and breakfast choices were slimmer than some hotels, probably a function of the spread being just for a few couples. We understood that the hotel would be much busier in season (June through August). We plan to go back when we can.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schuylkill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Direttore at Hotel Belmare, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Dear Schuylkill2,
thanks for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Belmare and you have appreciated our kitchen. We hope to welcome you again at Patresi. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We visited Elba as a part of Tuscany trip. This hotel we chosen because of we would like avoid hectic in main tourist centres.
Even though hotel has only 2 stars, it offers much better services as many hotels with higher classification. Our room booked for 2 persons was enough large for 4 adults. Equipment was basic, but also more than satisfying. With one exception negative influencing sleeping quality - all beds loudly creak.
Hotel has main building with reception, dining room and guest rooms. We have been located in an adjacent building, maybe 3 meters from reception. For us it was an advantage, because of we can use small sits in exterior in front of our room, and view on romantic sunsets.
Again warning for all who wish order sea view :) Yes, some rooms have sea view, but do not forget, sea is about 5 minutes with car and 20 minutes walking, because of hotel is located near upon sea but in high altitude :) I recommend to go to beach (rather with car) to see sunset and/or sunrise, but it is probably possible only out of high season - beach has very limited parking possibility.
Back to hotel: very helpful man on entry desk, speaking Italian and German, but there were also english speaking people in staff. We received many valuable recommendations. Breakfast maybe not the best one in comparing other hotels on our tour, but satisfying in quality and more than satisfying in quantity :) On demand also lunch and dinners are available. We used this possibility for first dinner, also valuable.
Hotel is ideal as starting point for travelling in west Elba, with many wild and interesting secret beaches, wild road to south villages with views to Corsica. Probably the most explored attraction nearby is "Cabinovieva" - cableway with yellow opened cabins for 2 persons. Via Cabinovieva you can reach the highest hill on Elba with grandious views. For us ideal, but off-center location on west corner of Elba could be problem for people who plan discover also east part and doesn't like long driving. You have to calculate that every kilometer takes 1 probably 2 minutes and velocity 30 km per hour is usual.
Summary: very good stay for reasonable price, very good service. Location - depends on your plans.

Room tip: Ask hotel for room description before booking - not all rooms have "sea view", not all have sits in exterior, you can choose optimal room for you when you will active ask.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiroslavP739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews