We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Marina di Massa
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Great location right across from the seafront. Friendly staff, rooms are a good size and very clean. Breakfast served from 6.30-10.00am on weekdays, a little later on weekends, with a good selection of foods available. Snacks are free in the bar area from 11.00 - 5.00 every day. BUT, beware, the beds are like boards!! And, the air conditioning wasn't working properly, so it was like sleeping in a sauna despite being February. Such a shame since this hotel has so much else going for it.

Room Tip: Fourth floor offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

1 -reception employees need more training how to deal with customers they are not bad but they should be better
2 -I have been coming to this hotel for almost 20 years or more . for some reason the waitress in breakfast lounge asked me what is your room number . it is ok if she asked all the gests but what bathers me I was the only one . I hope it is not a sign of racism
3- Management it time to make maintenance the sound of the air conditioner is too loud . and the bathrooms heaters .
4- the house keeping decides how many towels they put in the bathroom , it is the first hotel that put only one towel in your bathroom if you are one person

in general every year I come to this hotel it is getting worst I hope the management catch up before other good hotel in the area open and take all your old customers

Room Tip: always higher floors with room end with number 15 or 18 if not next are 16 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelExcelsiorMS, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear Sig.Khalid,
Thank you for your review, it is always useful for us to hear the opinions of our customers.
Regarding the fact you reported during breakfast we really don't understand what can concern asking the room number of a customer with racism, this statement is really out of place. Our restaurant staff is obliged to ask the room number for an organizational reason, this happens to all customers. If it seemed you that you was the only one maybe it is because with the other customers that had already happened.
The fact that you have been a guest for 20 years has nothing to do with asking every time your room number.
Our housekeeper provides towels for the number of people present in the room to avoid unnecessary waste, additional towels are obviously available if required, just ask.
Hoping to see you again in our hotel
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Generally a good hotel. Good location, very friendly staff. Rooms good, especially from the sea side. But: breakfasts with the full menu only till 8 a.m. !! Very small pool area. We were not lucky with very noisy, spoild kids on the pool - hotel staff didn,t react !!! No parking place except for the garage for additional 30 Eur/day!!! We will not back to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Nice hotel, with a very efficient staff.
Very polite and helpful.
Good place for couples or family.
Great breakfast and bar.
Swimming pool is nice too.
nice restaurant in the roof top. Food is good but not waouh

Room Tip: huge activity in the park close to the hotel therefore if you have a room on the park side, I will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Much better than we could imagine from outside.
Great location, outstanding courtesy, clean, calm and relaxing.

We stayed in a room with added bed for our daughter. Enough space for all, clean and quite (mountain side).

Breakfast is served with homemade patisserie, made to order eggs, crepes and pancakes, fresh orange juice. Not a huge variety, but everything well selected.

Dinner (half board) offers a selection of first and main courses, both sea and land (fish and meat) + dessert. Superior quality of food, reasonable selection of wines. Outstanding courtesy.

Every night, live music at the bar and the options to dine at the last floor terrace (not included in the HB package).

Sea is not the attraction of the region, but if you search for a relaxing and quality stay, this is the location. Would certainly return.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pietro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Thanks to all staff.
Everything was great. It is only a pitty that the hotel hasn't its own beach... 25-35€ for a two sunbeds and one umbrella is simply too much.
Food was tasty. Pool is nice and clean. Rooms are comfortable. Receptionists very gently and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank djidji2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stopped here for 6 nights in July after a couple of nights in Pisa after struggling to find any hotels with availability for a family room to suit our needs (children 4 and 6). There were a couple (which were cheaper) but their location wasn't suitable as they were out on their own. We opted to spend that bit extra to stop somewhere with a much better location. Boy we were not disappointed. The hotel is rather large but it doesn't feel it. It has a pool and grassed areas with tables and chairs which wasn't very busy so great for kids. The family room was large with diving walls, it was clean and modern. Breakfast was great with a chef on hand to cook pancakes, waffles and omelettes, etc. It was also an added bonus as there was a small park located just behind the hotel so in an evening we could take the children there before and after going for something to eat. The areas has a really nice vibe with plenty of places to eat and drink which are very reasonably priced (5 euros for a margarita pizza, 2 Euros for an ice cream). There's also plenty of places to walk at night including the pier as well as access to the beach. One thing we were worries about was having to pay for the beach everyday. The hotel has rates with two places just opposite. We opted for the slightly more expensive one which was 30 Euros. This gave us access to the beach, sun lounger, deck chair, parasol, table and a chair was well as access to toilet and shower facilities and access to a wide array of inflatables for the children. It was great but you couldn't afford to pay that every day just to go on the beach and also we didn't want to as the children didn't want to spend all day there. Early on we found that there is a good sized area of public beach either side of the pier which was great for our needs if we just wanted to pop down for an hour or two. Overall this was a cracking hotel in a great location, it comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great for families with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina di Massa
0.5 km away
Hotel Eco del Mare
Hotel Eco del Mare
#1 of 38 in Marina di Massa
348 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Villa Tiziana
Hotel Villa Tiziana
#2 of 38 in Marina di Massa
519 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#16 of 38 in Marina di Massa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#7 of 38 in Marina di Massa
113 reviews
2.2 km away
Stella della Versilia
0.9 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#5 of 38 in Marina di Massa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 1, 54100 Marina di Massa, Massa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Massa > Marina di Massa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Marina di Massa
Price Range: $141 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing