We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
8
13
18
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
13
18
7
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2018

A nice, quiet clean upstairs room with balcony and beautiful mountain views. Best if you travel by car...a bit of a hike up many many steps from town of you're walking...get ready even though the locals say "10 minutes._...you'd better be in good climbing shape! A decent breakfast is included (hard boiled eggs, cold cuts.) Breakfast was the only time when food or drink was available for purchase...perhaps in higher season, the pretty dining room by the pool might be open? There are no dining options in the immediate area other than a bar.
There was no working internet as advertised... being "connected" but still unable to BE connected. Would be nice, top, for English-speaking guests to have 1 or 2 English channels on T.V. ! There is no reception area to check in, so it's important to pre-arrange an arrival time. There is a taxi ride from town which we paid 10E for on arrival at the ferry terminal. For these reasons, I did not give an otherwise "very good" rating.
Recommended for a restful experience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank VistaGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The staff is extremely helpful. We arrived late and the restaurant worker still managed to get us some sandwiches even though she was about to late. We had a lot of luggage and no car. Roger, who manages the property, dropped us to the ferry point on our last day. The breakfast served is pretty good and you can enjoy swimming pool 24hrs. The balcony gives you view of the swimming pool, mountains and the lake.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rjain707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We stayed in Hotel Sonenga for 3 nights and luckily it wasn't too warm because the hotel room had no ac. On hotels.com they advertise for rooms with ac (see photo), but that was just not true. Asked reception and the receptionist answered that she had told owner before, but he did not do anything. Asked for a table fan, but after a day she said she didn´t find one (didn't look that close either I guess). Also, they advertised for flat screen, it was a 13 inch pc screen. So in total, stay away from Hotel Sonenga.

Room tip: No reason to stay
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per Oyvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We came to lake como at the end of our 14 day trip around Italy.
A bit of a trek up to the hotel so we arrived by taxi.
A very warm welcome and shown to our rooms immediately but was horrified to discover that we had no air-conditioning. I asked for a fan and was delivered a brand-new one within the hour that was sufficient for my needs.
The room was Beautiful and clean and the view totally breathtaking. Panoramic views all around the lake and the mountings, the bathroom was clean and very big.
The hotel does provide breakfast but we ventured down into the square where you can get fresh made Panini's for around €5.
The pool and area are very clean with sun beds and drinks are available from the bar. Staff extremely friendly and polite at all times.
Checkout time was up until 10 PM but we were allowed to stay in our room till 11 and use the facilities for the reminder of the day while we waited for our transfers back to the airport.
Definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

I'm marking this as a 5 on the basis that the hotel and facilities were very good based on the star rating. The management and staff were super friendly. The rooms were clean albeit basic. Breakfast was very nice. The whole setup is very kid and family friendly. Checkin was easy.
The location is excellent and the view and restaurants around the area were very good.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger A, Proprietario at Hotel Sonenga, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

I am very happy that some customers write beautiful things about us!
All this pushes us forward by improving what we can improve!
Roger (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews