We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Bar Settentrionale

Bar Settentrionale
Cuisines: European, Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We popped in around 10:30pm on the way back from the station en route to our hotel.

The pricing was good, the service was great but the food was average at best. We had a pizza, a lasagne and a pasta dish, all of which tasted and looked similar to ready meals from uk supermarkets. The meals were about 7€ each so competitive by local prices. Just my honest opinion.

The food did the job as we were hungry and in a rush but I wouldn’t go back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank fatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2018

Located right next to Hotel Settentrionale Esplanade and considerably more affordable than the hotel's own restaurant. Food was acceptable but not delicious and both times it had clearly come out of the freezer – sitting on the side of the terrace actually gives you a good view of the bar's twin freezers. Visited the bar twice due to its convenient location and found the service to be kind albeit a tad slow on both occasions, which is puzzling since the reheated freezer food shouldn't take that long to prepare!
If you're staying at the hotel and too tired to look for a better place, this will do but otherwise you'll get better quality for your money and stomach if you are willing to go farther.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RangeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Worst pasta this holiday, warmed up in a microwave. Hard and some pieces a little bit cold, not what you expect in Italy. Also the Arrabiata with chili should be spicy but it wasn’t spicy at all. Just sweet tomato sauce. Location and staff is okay but a little bit slow.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank remzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We looked for and found an inexpensive evening meal. Good acceptable. Breaded chicken could have been crisper. Decent house wine. We got what we paid for.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ace97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017

We had the opportunity to enjoy both lunch and dinner at this bar. They had fresh made mushroom soap to die for and their pasta and wine selection was very good.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Whynemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Settentrionale also viewed

Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Alto, Montecatini Terme
 
Montecatini Alto, Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Nievole, Montecatini Terme
 

Been to Bar Settentrionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing