We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
272
82
17
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
82
17
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 383 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Just returned from my 4th visit to this special place. Two friends and I go whenever I am in Umbria and this trip was no different. It was freezing cold and raining for several days but we didn't want to give up our visit. We confirmed by telephone and drove through the Umbrian hills into the mountains and up to the Casale, located just above Norcia. As Norcia was within the earthquake zone struck so violently not long ago, we weren't sure what we'd find, tho Ernesto, the owner, had assured us by phone that there was minimal damage in the town and they hadn't suffered damages, due to their careful renovations a few years ago. Upon arrival, we checked in, were pleased to find the room already well-heated, and went in to dinner, only to discover we were the only guests. All the staff was at our disposal and dinner was, as always, delicious, creative and beautifully presented. More wine? An extra blanket? There was always someone ready to assure our comfort. At breakfast, they laid out the delicious array of local specialties, with fresh ricotta arriving from the nearby sheep farm, still warm. Again, we were the only guests. We were continually struck by their committment to our stay with them. Will return with pleasure next year!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016

With a group Elegant Walkers we stayed a week at 'Il Casale degli Amici'. This charming place has good rooms with comfortable beds, a very good chef de cuisine, a cordial waiter and above that all a hotelkeeper who cares about his guests in a natural and hartwarmig way. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay at the max.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We spent a week in the agriturismo with a group of 11, using it also as a basecamp for walks and visits in the region.
The location is wonderful, the rooms are not very spacious but satisfactory, the restaurant (lately extended) very tasteful with stunning view over the valley.
We were very happy with the way we were taken care of. The kitchen did great, with delicious meals, very well adapted to our wishes. And with an extended breakfast buffet fit for walkers.
The quality level is high, but still there is the feel of an agriturismo, with home grown products on the table.
And very important: we loved the atmosphere, the friendly people of the Amici family and the rest of the staff, the good balance of personal and professional treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Il Casale degli Amici is a beautiful agriturismo, located just outside Norcia. The location up in the hills means that dinner and breakfast are taken on the terrace, with great views. The agriturismo is very comfortable, our room with ensuite bathroom was spacious, and the swimming pool is now open. Stay half board and enjoy the great local food, with home made pasta, and fruit and vegetables grown on the farm. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrick_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2015

This Agriturismo has the advantage of an arresting countryside location that remains within walking distance of Norcia's historic center -- if you like to amble, even guidebooks judge the distance that way. The homestead also retains the authenticity of a farm in full gear. The downside is that the staff includes individuals with quirky personalities who are not predictable hoteliers. For example, breakfast is served in the expansive restaurant, but only at assigned tables near the kitchen, not at tables where one can enjoy the view (see photo). When we sat near the wall-to-ceiling windows, we were moved because inexplicably no one is permitted take such a table for breakfast, only one in the dark cellar section of the same room, a few feet away. There were other oddities. We reserved a suite and received a puzzlingly upgraded room, but on checkout we were informed we had not had a suite after all, so we were charged a lower rate than originally agreed. The owner aims to please, so all fine in the end, just be prepared. Plus: it seems a pool is being built, so we experienced construction noise that might strike some as occurring early in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews