We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perched on the edge of the city wall - Orvieto...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
SanMateoT...
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perched on the edge of the city wall - Orvieto perfection”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa San Giovenale is THE ideal vacation rental in the fabulous, historic hillside town of Orviento. The apartment is perched at the city wall with breathtaking views over the valley below. It's one bedroom and one bath are large (bathroom is gigantic by European standards). The living / dining room / kitchen is large and well appointed. Bedroom is lovely. And there is a delightful private patio. The Casa is steps from all of Orvieto and about 50 feet from the not-to-be-missed Chiesa San Giovenale, a 12th century church which, while not as grand as the Duomo (which is fabulous) is beautiful, moving, and decorated with extraordinary frescoes. Perhaps the most wonderful thing about it is the neighbors. We had charming and enlightening conversations with the neighbors on city events, the Italian language, WW II and other topics. The Casa would be perfectly wonderful for a very extended visit. Can't give it a high enough recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greynomad...
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful and historic”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely place to stay. The views are excellent, the renovated accommodation comfortable and the hosts, Piero and Ornella welcoming and helpful. If you are going to Orvieto make this your place to stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana40...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holidays in Casa San Giovenale”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent nine wonderful days in a scenic apartment in the fortified hilltop city of Orvieto, overlooking beautiful Umbrian valleys. Our hosts, Ornella and Peiro, were warm and personable; indeed, the kind of people you’d like to have as friends. The apartment was unique, spacious and tastefully decorated, extensively furnished and provisioned. Perfectly located, overlooking one of the walls of the city into the valleys below. We had fantastic views, and we’d step out just to take it in, along with the astonishing sunsets and marvelous sunrises. As the city was not large, it was also a great place from which to explore Orvieto.
Close to grocery stores, where you can buy great cheeses, salumi, meats, and vegetables and fruit, and an excellent bakery. There’s also farmer’s marker that takes place every Thursday and Saturday. The apartment was an easy place to cook and have lunches and suppers in, if you chose not to go out to eat. And you could not turn a corner without finding a place to buy some of the very inexpensive and great Umbrian wines, especially the whites. There was so much to see in Orvieto, and the comfortable, roomy apartment was the ideal place to either hang out in, or to venture out from. We highly recommend Casa San Giovenale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views of an enchanting city
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite accomodations in our 17-day tour of France & Italy! Hosts Piero and Cornella felt like welcoming relatives!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved out stay at Piero’s and Cornella’s in Orvieto. The apartment was truly spacious for the four of us (parents and two teenagers) and could easily have accommodated more. The master bedroom was very comfortable and gave us a private escape when my wife and I needed it. We also liked the courtyard which was just off the master bedroom. Everything was spotless and frankly, we wished that we had planned to stay longer.

The location was fantastic and we only needed to step outside of the apartment to enjoy a beautiful view of the valley below. It was an easy walk to get to the restaurants, shopping and primary sites in the village. Piero graciously picked us up at the train station and on the way to the apartment showed us restaurants, shopping areas, and some of the sites that we later took in in greater detail. Our best pasta in all of Italy was at Ristorante Piazza Del Popolo in Orvieto. We also had the use of two bikes to range a little farther around the village, which was a nice extra.

Much of the art in the unit was created by Cornella, which we enjoyed a great deal. The apartment was elegant architecturally as well as tastefully and comfortably appointed, with plenty of room for everyone to claim some individual space and relax. Another plus was the wi fi in the unit. We had been having trouble with our phones and the access to wi fi gave us an opportunity to check email and to contact people we needed to contact, both in Italy and at home. Piero was even kind enough to pick us up and take us to the train station when it was time to leave.

Both Piero and Cornella were wonderful hosts. They are both very warm people whom we felt truly wanted us enjoy Orvieto and the apartment they provided. It felt like we were being welcomed by relatives we had never met before, who wanted to ensure we had a wonderful experience visiting the village they love!

We highly recommend anyone visiting the Orvieto area look to stay at Piero’s and Cornella’s. It will be a truly wonderful experience.
Steve & Kathy Byko

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious apartment with character, kitchen, beautiful views outside our door; relaxed Italian village. Hosts that made us feel like we were visiting relatives who were so glad we came!
Liked least: That we didn't have longer to enjoy it. That Cornella and Piero live so far away, when can they visit us in America?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A V
Sopron, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful landscape, nice environment, safe and quiet.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa San Giovenale is a very nice place for having a rest, standing in one of the best parts of the old city of Orvieto. Beautiful landscape, nice environment, safe and quiet. All the famous buildings and other attractions of Orvieto are in walking distances. My favorite was the small garden, the best place for just sitting and relaxing in warm summer evenings. Piero and his family are very nice people, they really ensured that I feel comfortable and enjoy my stay. So I can only recommend Casa San Giovenale for those who wish to spend some days in Orvieto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Views, comfort, great hosts, what more could you ask for?”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Piero and Ornella were amazing hosts and the accommodations were really amazing!

The location is just short walk from the busy centre of Orvieto offering a peaceful spot to take in breathtaking views.

You first enter into a large living room big windows and amazing views out into the rolling hills of Umbria. The adjacent kitchen is fully equipped with a nice dining table as well. (The couches and chairs fold into extra beds here as a bonus for families)

From here you can head into the master bedroom with a big bed, nice bathroom and a door out to the courtyard terrace complete with BBQ!

Whether you are a couple, a group of friends or a family you will definitely be comfortable! (There are also a couple of mountain bikes included with the place if you fancy a ride around town.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of amazing space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkovach
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Orvieto mood”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It's a very atmospheric and well-equipped apartment with helpful and nice host. The interior is very well harmonized and comfortable, the whole flat is spacious. It's perfectly fit into the "Orvieto mood". The center of the town, the grocery and bakery is quiet near to the apartment. The view is absolutely amazing. And I especially like the little garden. And one more little detail they are pet friendly and for us it was very important.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mood of the apartment and the hosts.
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing