We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the poor internet connectivity and the lack of plug sockets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana - Paestum
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel gives a very good initial impression; the staff seem very helpful and friendly and the cleanliness of the entire hotel is exemplary. However, as a guest who needed to use the internet I found the room and the (rather expensive) connectivity to be disastrous.

The charge for using the internet is very high considering the price of the room. A card for a single day costs 10 euros, 3 days cost 15 euros. But I'd be prepared to swallow this cost if the registration system was acceptable. Sadly it's unreliable and drops very frequently, even though the wifi signal remained very strong in the room (our room being directly above the reception area).

Every time the system dropped I had to reenter a very inconvenient and unmemorable User ID and a numeric password supplied by the system's supplier, Convergenze. Laptops etc are not permitted to 'remember' either of these and because it often takes several attempts to log back in it is very frustrating, to say the least.

Regrettably the hotel staff did not seem able to deal with the situation, first blaming my antivirus s/w, then my choice of browser and finally the weather. However, several other guests, who overheard my conversation regarding this problem, pointed out that they are experiencing exactly the same problems despite using different operating systems and browsers from mine; and I also had the same dropped connectivity when I went online with my smart phone instead.

The staff say the front desk suffers with intermittent connectivity too. It's a great shame they do not have direct control of the router and the system - all previous hotels I've stayed in have an in-house system.

Apart from the poor but expensive internet service, the other frustration was that our darkly decorated room lacked spare plug sockets which means that if I wished to use my laptop I had to unplug one of the only two (bedside) lamps; if I wished to charge my mobile phone at the same time I had to unplug the other one!

The room was poorly lit; the remaining two wall lights were extremely 'low level' and the room is generally not suitable for reading in, apart from in bed (if no equipment plugged in).

There was no convenient place to sit near the sockets to use the equipment and only a small round coffee table which can be used as a 'desk', as one has to sit on the edge of the bed since there's no chair in the room, just a low sofa.

One other small gripe: we were charged 8 euros for an Aperol spritzer in the hotel bar whereas at the equally - if not more - posh hotel bar next door we were charged only 4 euros for a larger glass of the same drink. Needless to say we had all our subsequent drinks next door.

So, I'd recommend this as a great (if expensive) hotel for someone with very good eyesight and no desire to go online.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juandgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Good: The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and we had a nice view of the internal courtyard. Breakfast was a standard continental. Waiter service was attentive.

Poor: Wifi is an extra €15 for 3 days or €10 for 1 day and it was not very reliable.

The service at the bar in the evening was non existent with hotel staff always prioritising private functions such as weddings.

If visiting the archaeological ruins of Paestum it is a good base (10 min drive). Otherwise not much else there.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AberTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

we went to paestum to see the temples and to tie it in with some time at the beach. We never thought that the hotel would be so first rate. The public spaces, including the pools were absolutely beautiful and took full advantage of the beautiful setting. The staff went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank italia082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Excellent hotel! very friendly and helpful staff. Had a problem with hot water in our room and was rectified promptly.
Clean, spacious rooms. Beautiful grounds. Delicious breakfast. Quite and well maintained
Would def. go back and recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnybeachToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have booked this hotel as an intermediate stop on our way to southern Italy. The initial expectation were not very high. We were nicely surprised to find a very well kept hotel with fantastic rooms and above all exceptional service and attitude from the staff. We decided to use it also on the way back and the same positive impressions we can share again from our second visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guylevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks just before the season started. Very nice and clean hotel. The staff is very helpfull. Only drawback is that the private beach is more than 1 kilometer from the hotel so you have to use your car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopenhagenGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank paolo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.3 km away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
1.8 km away
Minerva Resort Hotel
Minerva Resort Hotel
#15 of 33 in Paestum
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#12 of 33 in Paestum
455 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
507 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana - Paestum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana - Paestum

Address: Via Laura 13, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: $139 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meridiana - Paestum 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Meridiana - Paestum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing