We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
402
121
19
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
121
19
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinque terre la spezia junior suite parking garage amazing hotel perfect view restaurant staff sitting room half the price whole team star service reception staff highly recommend this hotel perfect spot bucket list buffet breakfast is unbeatable location
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 555 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Stayed in Executive double room on top floor with fantastic views of sea and harbor, very centrally located modern hotel, shops, restaurants and ferries all just out the front door, modern facilities and nightly entertainment in lounge and al fresco breakfast and dining on the terrace overlooking harbor, knowledgeable helpful concierge services and staff provided assistance on hiking Cinque Terre and nearby islands as well as some excellent local restaurants/reservations; need improved transfer process from La Spezia train station, taxis are not plentiful (30 min wait) and expensive (35 Euro one way; 50+ return)

Room tip: Get an executive double on the top floor, awesome views of harbor and sunrise
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WoodlandsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Portovenere, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear WoodlandsMike,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at The Grand Hotel.

It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you so much for giving such a good recognition to the team!
We are pleased that our location worked very well for you , but for the taxi fares , which is regulated by local laws.

We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Antonio Polesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We loved our stay at the hotel. The room was excellent with a lovely view. The bathroom was exceptional with a wonderful shower. We enjoyed drinks on the terrace, also with lovely views. The staff were friendly but helpful and professional at all times. I would go back in an instant

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Portovenere, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Dear Elizabeth B

I am delighted to read such a nice review of our Grand Hotel!

It's an absolute pleasure to read your comments, especially highlighting the exceptional service from the Team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards,

Antonio Polesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand. We were unaware there was a parking garage but when we arrived they kindly took our luggage and parked our car for us. We stayed in room 405 which has a lovely view of Porto Venere. We would sit out on the small deck everyday just to take in the beauty!
The room was small but the bed was comfortable. Staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions and even made a reservation for us. The ferry to Cinque Terre is right outside the hotel. We loved the patio for breakfast dining. Lots of choices in the buffet. On our departure they packed our luggage and even drove our car out of ramp so we wouldn’t have to. Great service!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank kimmysue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Portovenere, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear kimmysue42

Thank you for your feedback following your visit at the Grand Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you found our service at the level you expected , welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Your comments regarding the room assigned , comfortable beds and the Buffet Breakfast were a good fuel for our effort to deliver service to our customers.

We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Polesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

The Cinque Terre area was on our bucket list for years. We picked this hotel for our base, and we are so glad we did. Our standard room was large, very comfortable, quiet, and clean. The hotel was right on the main road so it was easy to explore the town and was a very short walk to the ferry.

Breakfast on their terrace...amazing! The view was stunning, and the food choices were extensive. The staff was so attentive and helpful as well which made the starts of our days there relaxed. We stopped in for a coffee there one night and they gave us a table overlooking the water. Coffee came with cookies, a nice surprise. The bartender that night took such good care of us even though we were only having coffee. We felt very pampered our entire stay there.

I can’t recommend this hotel enough. You will be so glad you stayed here to explore Cinque Terre as well as Portovenere. We loved the relaxed and uncrowded feel of Portovenere and would love to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank StacyD494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Portovenere, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Stacy D,

Thank you so much for yout amazing review and recommendations.

I am truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you loved your room as well as the daily breakfast at our Palmaria restaurant.
Thank you so much also for your very kind words towards the team members who always strive to add the little extra touch that makes the difference!

We very much look forward to your return in Portovenere in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Polesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Beautifully and conveniently situated in the heart of Portovenere. The hotel rooms were modestly sized but clean and modern. Nice breakfast buffet for guests at the restaurant with a beautiful backdrop.

The real appeal of this hotel is it's location -- it looks out onto the lovely harbor and is steps away from restaurants and ferry. Keep in mind the ferry does not run to all Cinequeterre stops during high seas so you need to check accordingly. The only way to easily access Cinqueterra is via ferry from here.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alplo857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Portovenere, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear alplo857

I am delighted you enjoyed our perfect location, close to the most popular villages , yet quietly in the evening .
It's good to hear that you have enjoyed also the cleanliness of the room and our Buffet Breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards.

Antonio Polesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews