We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, beautiful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday House Gilda
Ranked #3 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, beautiful people”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Positano was a scheduled stop along a 1 month trip in Southern Europe. We arrive later than planned from Florence, looking forward to one week of relaxation before we headed to Rome. The Patrizia apartment was exactly what we needed. We had a lovely little balcony, where we could have our own candelight dinner's, with a view that was gorgeous of the sea and city of Positano.

Gilda and Giuseppe are warm, loving people. Their daughter Daniele, along with Chiara provided the assistance across the language barriers, as we spoke our basic Italian. What couldn't be said in words, we managed with laughter and smiles. They were so incredibly accomodating, and special that we enjoyed just hanging with them in the breakfast room, as we started our day. Knowing we loved cappucino's , they made sure every morning we had an extra special coffee to start our day. After one week, they felt like family. Leaving was difficult, and as I hugged Gilda goodbye, the tears flowed, as I knew it was going to be tough to wave goodbye.

Overall, great value for your money. Positano has a great mini market where you can buy ready made delicious meals, to bring back to your apartment if you do not feel like eating out. We started every day with a walk to the town for our daily needs, since the scenery is so beautiful.

The walk down to the beach from the B&B is a challenge,like all Amalfi coast locations, but worth every step. Believe me, you get in shape doing this every day. When you arrive, you are in a lovely little beach, great water temperature.

I would recommend this place, for all it has to offer. You will fall in love with the location, the beauty, and most of all, Gilda, Giuseppe, Daniele, Rosa and Chiara.....

We will never forget you, XXXXX

Maria and Drazen

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vasaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
218
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Gilda's from May 28th to May June 1st and we had a fabulous time. Gilda, Giuseppe, Rosa, and Daniele and her sister were very generous and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. They make delicious breakfasts, give recommendations, and arrange for cars to pick you up and take you to exceptional restaurants. I was born in Italy but this was my (grown) children's first trip to Italy and we all felt that we were part of Gilda's family. The rooms are well appointed, clean and large--we had apartments with kitchens and living rooms with a lot of privacy. The views are absolutely breathtaking and can be enjoyed from the private balconies of each apartment as well as everywhere else on the property. We went on to tour Italy but if we did not have bookings in other areas of Italy, we would have stayed at Gilda's the entire 2 weeks. It is also a great value. Positano and Holiday House Gilda hold a special place in our hearts and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UnBelMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at Gilda's towards the end of our 9 week holiday, and it really was a very special way to wind up our time away. Set on the high road just South of Positano town it has the most amazing views of the town and the coastline - the sunsets will blow you away.

The rooms are well appointed and big enough that you can unwind and really relax. The walk down to the beach (about 250 steps) is worse going down than coming back up but it is really worth the effort. Getting into town by walking along the road can be a bit nerve racking, but we never had any issues. In the evening Rosa will arrange for cars from the resturants to come and pick you up and drop you back.

Even though Gilda and Guiseppie don't speak a lot of English they make you so welcome, and really enjoy having guests stay with them. And Rosa is really nice, helping with anything she can. While we where there she made us special breakfasts, and baked a suprise birthday cake for another guest who was staying with them. Breakfasts are awesome... what more can I say.

If you're going to Positano make the effort to visit them.

Room Tip: They all have fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in the apartment Latizia for two nights. It was fantastic value for money.

We took the Circumvesuviana train from Naples to Sorrento and the sita bus from Sorrento to Positano town. If you ask the driver to stop at Arienzo he will stop at the bus stop right at Gildas.

The apartment itself has a double room and an extra single bedroom it shares in the same room as the bathroom. The living room also had what looked like a sofa bed and a kitchenette which was well equipped. The apartment was spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a good shower with good pressure and plenty of hot water. The apartment had a view of the sea and Positano town. It was a wonderful view but is better described as a partial view because it was slightly blocked by a large tree in the garden. The apartment was decorated in blues and was peaceful and quaint. There are a couple of chairs outside the apartment and the view there is better - but the chairs are right by the breakfast room so you dont get privacy by sitting there. The photos of the apartment dont indicate this so its best to be aware of this. Having said that - the view from both the apartment and the property in general are amongst the best views of Positano I saw throughout the trip (and we did rent a car and do the Amalfi coast drive). Thats because you get to see the sea and Positano night especially at night with the lit houses cascading down the hillside.

I expect the other two apartments which are on higher levels benefit from an unobstructed view.

There is a long flight of stairs from the apartment leading to a private beach (you can rent kayaks from here and also take a ferry to the mainland). I didnt find it a problem climbing up and down the stairs. Deck chairs have also been set up on one of the balconies for the guests to use with magnificent views of the sea and Positano.

The breakfast was excellent (the best through our Amalfi coast trip) - eggs (scrambled or fried), croissants, toasted bread, fruit, juice, super pancakes with maple syrup, cereal, capuccino or black coffee with separate milk. Gilda, Rosa and Daniella were always around to check if we wanted anything more.

There is a bus stop right outside Holiday House Gilda. We did try and use the bus system and I definitely think its more eco-friendly. Having said that, on a two day trip a lot of our time was used up in trying to catch buses. Halfway through the first day we rented a smartcar through an agency Daniella recommended and it was the best decision for us. The car was delivered to Holiday House Gilda with a full tank of petrol and was fully insured (we needed to return the car with a full tank as well). The garage that owned the car was in Positano town and we could park there free of cost when in town or there for dinner at night. There is a 24 hour code for the garage so we could park and retrieve our car when we needed. Parking was free at Gildas. We drove to Ravello and Positano town and Amalfi. We found the roads pretty quiet and thought that the bus drivers drove fairly carefully. As long as you drive slowly and take care turning around bends, driving is a breeze in late Sept. If we were staying longer in Positano we would have used the bus service because it is more eco friendly but the car was a huge help.

We visited Villa Cimbrone in Ravello - what a breathtaking view the terrace has! We also hiked up the Pathway of the Gods - again - magnificent views. I am far from being sporty but it was a walk well worth doing!

I didnt care for Positano town itself - found it too touristy. I suspect having visited Santorini, I found Positano town itself a let-down. If we had stayed longer, we would have done more hikes/drives. Oddly (see my Capri review) we loved Capri - I think that because the long walks there permit you to avoid all the tourist numbers and you feel you have the island to yourself bar the few people who pass by from time to time.

Gilda, her husband, Rosa and Daniella were friendly and hospitable. For half the view/experience, if you stayed in Positano town you would pay 2-3 times the price (if not more). Holiday House Gilda is a wonderful place to stay and its actually nicer staying a bit away from Positano town. I wouldnt pass up on a chance at staying here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BombayGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arruved on a Friday without resevation and Rosa,who works there,was so helpfull,spoke english and was generous and friendly.The owner Gilda was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable rigth from the start.We stayed for 3 nigth and loved every moment.The rooms are huge,the view is beautiful,it's close to the beach and to the Positano( a 15 minute walk or a 4 minute drive).
If we ever go back to Positano we will be back there.Make sure you have reservation,we got luckey and had a room because there was a cancelion minutes before our arrivel.
The place is very clean,the rooms are cleaned every other day.The beach towels are supplied there.
We liked everything about it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yudith o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My partner and I were staying for 8 nights at Gilda. We arrived after a long journey (planes, trains, boats and automobiles) to be shown to our lovely self contained apartment with private balcony (Patrizia). The apartment was basic with regards to cooking utensils but you could easily prepare meals for yourself if you did not want to eat out.
Gilda is a little diamond - so happy & always cooking! Rosa was very helpful & knowledgeable. We dont know what we would have done without her. Nothing is any bother. Daniella (Gilda's daughter) was also fantastic - always willing to help and such a laugh.
Breakfast was great - plenty choice....eggs, rolls, croissants, toast, cereal, yoghurt, coffee & juice.
Views - breathtaking!
Location - great location just outside Positano. About 20-25 walk into town but buses pass virtually outside Gilda's. Its a fairly long walk to the beach, down over 250 steps but worth it when you get down to the clean pebble beach & crystal clear water. There is a sun terrace on the way down from the building which has loungers, umbrellas and a cold shower. Perfect little spot for an afternoon relaxing in the sun.
Rosa will phone restaurants to collect you and drop you off (free) if you want to eat outwith the main town. She also arranged a day trip to Capri for us.
All in all a great place to stay - magical views, magical staff

Room Tip: Patrizia is a smaller apartment but has the bonus of a small private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank braiders12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The service was exceptional! Gilda is very generous, friendly, and hospitable, but only speaks Italian, so Rosa, who also works there was indispensible. She never acted rushed and helped plan your activites with zest and current information. She reserved the first boat of the season for us to visit Almalfi and beautiful Ravello besides telling us where everything is. She answered our e-mail questions promptly and even upgraded us to a very spacious, cheery apt. Our private terrace's view was to die for! The Mediterranean sea and the view of the huge mountains and cliffs with homes were beyond breathtaking. There was superb outdoor and indoor seating everywhere, even at the breakfast table where food was plentiful. The large lime and orange trees on the grounds and the beautiful walk down to their private beach was like a fairy tale and gave plenty of exercise. Positano is one of the pretties towns on the Almalfi coast and so was this lodging with its reasonable rates, service, and cleanliness. It takes approx. 15-20 min. to walk to town downhill and not a bad uphill walk back. It was hard to leave their tranquil property to go sightseeing! We liked everything about it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deyols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.5 km away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
1.6 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.5 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.4 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Property: Holiday House Gilda
Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing