We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday House Gilda
Nearby Hotels
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$873
US$847
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)
US$605
US$547
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$555
US$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
US$730
US$634
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$427
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
US$1,600
US$843
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$2,076
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Reginella(Positano)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Albertina(Positano)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
356
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
22
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarienzo beachthe busamalfi coastshort walkapartment was spaciousitalian familyfruit treesprivate beachwell equipped kitchencroissantsevery morningguest housethe perfect place to staya wonderful staywonderful hostswhere breakfast is servedbeautiful view of positano
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 380 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Gilda's from May 28th to May June 1st and we had a fabulous time. Gilda, Giuseppe, Rosa, and Daniele and her sister were very generous and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. They make delicious breakfasts, give recommendations, and arrange for cars to pick you up and take you to exceptional restaurants. I was born in Italy but this was my (grown) children's first trip to Italy and we all felt that we were part of Gilda's family. The rooms are well appointed, clean and large--we had apartments with kitchens and living rooms with a lot of privacy. The views are absolutely breathtaking and can be enjoyed from the private balconies of each apartment as well as everywhere else on the property. We went on to tour Italy but if we did not have bookings in other areas of Italy, we would have stayed at Gilda's the entire 2 weeks. It is also a great value. Positano and Holiday House Gilda hold a special place in our hearts and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UnBelMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Gilda's towards the end of our 9 week holiday, and it really was a very special way to wind up our time away. Set on the high road just South of Positano town it has the most amazing views of the town and the coastline - the sunsets will blow you away.

The rooms are well appointed and big enough that you can unwind and really relax. The walk down to the beach (about 250 steps) is worse going down than coming back up but it is really worth the effort. Getting into town by walking along the road can be a bit nerve racking, but we never had any issues. In the evening Rosa will arrange for cars from the resturants to come and pick you up and drop you back.

Even though Gilda and Guiseppie don't speak a lot of English they make you so welcome, and really enjoy having guests stay with them. And Rosa is really nice, helping with anything she can. While we where there she made us special breakfasts, and baked a suprise birthday cake for another guest who was staying with them. Breakfasts are awesome... what more can I say.

If you're going to Positano make the effort to visit them.

Room Tip: They all have fantastic sea views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the apartment Latizia for two nights. It was fantastic value for money.

We took the Circumvesuviana train from Naples to Sorrento and the sita bus from Sorrento to Positano town. If you ask the driver to stop at Arienzo he will stop at the bus stop right at Gildas.

The apartment itself has a double room and an extra single bedroom it shares in the same room as the bathroom. The living room also had what looked like a sofa bed and a kitchenette which was well equipped. The apartment was spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a good shower with good pressure and plenty of hot water. The apartment had a view of the sea and Positano town. It was a wonderful view but is better described as a partial view because it was slightly blocked by a large tree in the garden. The apartment was decorated in blues and was peaceful and quaint. There are a couple of chairs outside the apartment and the view there is better - but the chairs are right by the breakfast room so you dont get privacy by sitting there. The photos of the apartment dont indicate this so its best to be aware of this. Having said that - the view from both the apartment and the property in general are amongst the best views of Positano I saw throughout the trip (and we did rent a car and do the Amalfi coast drive). Thats because you get to see the sea and Positano night especially at night with the lit houses cascading down the hillside.

I expect the other two apartments which are on higher levels benefit from an unobstructed view.

There is a long flight of stairs from the apartment leading to a private beach (you can rent kayaks from here and also take a ferry to the mainland). I didnt find it a problem climbing up and down the stairs. Deck chairs have also been set up on one of the balconies for the guests to use with magnificent views of the sea and Positano.

The breakfast was excellent (the best through our Amalfi coast trip) - eggs (scrambled or fried), croissants, toasted bread, fruit, juice, super pancakes with maple syrup, cereal, capuccino or black coffee with separate milk. Gilda, Rosa and Daniella were always around to check if we wanted anything more.

There is a bus stop right outside Holiday House Gilda. We did try and use the bus system and I definitely think its more eco-friendly. Having said that, on a two day trip a lot of our time was used up in trying to catch buses. Halfway through the first day we rented a smartcar through an agency Daniella recommended and it was the best decision for us. The car was delivered to Holiday House Gilda with a full tank of petrol and was fully insured (we needed to return the car with a full tank as well). The garage that owned the car was in Positano town and we could park there free of cost when in town or there for dinner at night. There is a 24 hour code for the garage so we could park and retrieve our car when we needed. Parking was free at Gildas. We drove to Ravello and Positano town and Amalfi. We found the roads pretty quiet and thought that the bus drivers drove fairly carefully. As long as you drive slowly and take care turning around bends, driving is a breeze in late Sept. If we were staying longer in Positano we would have used the bus service because it is more eco friendly but the car was a huge help.

We visited Villa Cimbrone in Ravello - what a breathtaking view the terrace has! We also hiked up the Pathway of the Gods - again - magnificent views. I am far from being sporty but it was a walk well worth doing!

I didnt care for Positano town itself - found it too touristy. I suspect having visited Santorini, I found Positano town itself a let-down. If we had stayed longer, we would have done more hikes/drives. Oddly (see my Capri review) we loved Capri - I think that because the long walks there permit you to avoid all the tourist numbers and you feel you have the island to yourself bar the few people who pass by from time to time.

Gilda, her husband, Rosa and Daniella were friendly and hospitable. For half the view/experience, if you stayed in Positano town you would pay 2-3 times the price (if not more). Holiday House Gilda is a wonderful place to stay and its actually nicer staying a bit away from Positano town. I wouldnt pass up on a chance at staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BombayGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We arruved on a Friday without resevation and Rosa,who works there,was so helpfull,spoke english and was generous and friendly.The owner Gilda was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable rigth from the start.We stayed for 3 nigth and loved every moment.The rooms are huge,the view is beautiful,it's close to the beach and to the Positano( a 15 minute walk or a 4 minute drive).
If we ever go back to Positano we will be back there.Make sure you have reservation,we got luckey and had a room because there was a cancelion minutes before our arrivel.
The place is very clean,the rooms are cleaned every other day.The beach towels are supplied there.
We liked everything about it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yudith o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My partner and I were staying for 8 nights at Gilda. We arrived after a long journey (planes, trains, boats and automobiles) to be shown to our lovely self contained apartment with private balcony (Patrizia). The apartment was basic with regards to cooking utensils but you could easily prepare meals for yourself if you did not want to eat out.
Gilda is a little diamond - so happy & always cooking! Rosa was very helpful & knowledgeable. We dont know what we would have done without her. Nothing is any bother. Daniella (Gilda's daughter) was also fantastic - always willing to help and such a laugh.
Breakfast was great - plenty choice....eggs, rolls, croissants, toast, cereal, yoghurt, coffee & juice.
Views - breathtaking!
Location - great location just outside Positano. About 20-25 walk into town but buses pass virtually outside Gilda's. Its a fairly long walk to the beach, down over 250 steps but worth it when you get down to the clean pebble beach & crystal clear water. There is a sun terrace on the way down from the building which has loungers, umbrellas and a cold shower. Perfect little spot for an afternoon relaxing in the sun.
Rosa will phone restaurants to collect you and drop you off (free) if you want to eat outwith the main town. She also arranged a day trip to Capri for us.
All in all a great place to stay - magical views, magical staff

Room Tip: Patrizia is a smaller apartment but has the bonus of a small private balcony
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank braiders12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews