We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
94
21
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
21
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth the climb views are stunning words cannot describe worth the effort an easy minute walk a wonderful holiday amalfi coast arienzo beach beautiful breakfast steep steps path of the gods sun terrace overlooking positano we loved our stay other guests your luggage night stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Guided by previous reviews and the price we expected a high quality stay but we were to be disappointed.
As stated, the hotel location is good for the town (fabulous view) and for the beach if you don’t mind climbing! The hotel is 125 steps above the parked-up coast road (with a suitcase lift in the nearby creek) and over 400 steps above the nearest gravel beach (with a good beach 'club'). The walk to town (15-20mins) is along the busy fume-filled coast road. To reach the harbour takes about half an hour - down this same road, then more steps, then down many narrow shopping alleys amongst the inevitable tourists.
The hotel gardens are attractive and well-tended, though do attract mosquitos - be warned! Also, with no vehicle access, it’s €30 per day to park your car in an outlying garage, unless you're lucky to find a space nearby in the evenings. The staff are friendly & helpful and the service & breakfast are very good.

The main disappointment and shock was the damp room, noticeable with the condensation and bedding especially, even in 30deg+. (Likely issue with all the rooms since they are all adjoining). The room included a cramped bathroom with a jamming door and a cracked sink. There were no bedside tables, only one chair, the room door lock was loose, and there was no long mirror. A few added cautions: 1. There is very limited privacy both in the rooms and gardens – the hotel path goes past both the room and bathroom windows. 2. You are not allowed your own food in the room fridge 3. You can’t swim in the plunge pool.
Positano is a great holiday spot to visit on the Amalfi coast, with a beautiful cliff-side position. There are limitations which must be considered here though such as the high meal prices, difficult access driving / public transport to other places in the region, and many steps to get around the town area. The hotel I Giardini dei Sensi has is a good hotel which urgently needs attention to the rooms and which certainly does not reflect £500+ a night.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a de-humidifier with you to make the room less damp!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LongMeadowBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igiardinideisensi, Responsabile reception at I Giardini dei sensi, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you very much for finding the time to write this review, it's a great source of important suggestions for us to improve our service. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our staff work but we hope you will give us a second opportunity to make your future stay at "I Giardini dei Sensi", an unforgettable experience. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We recently stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and cannot fault this hotel, aldrich and the staff were so helpful and accommodating. Although it is just outside the centre (5 mins walk) its secluded and tranquil location truly has one of the best views of Positano, well worth the steps, also you are above Arienzo beach club which again is a secluded and relaxing break from the hustle of the centre itself. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maloneys56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igiardinideisensi, Responsabile reception at I Giardini dei sensi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you choose i Giardini dei Sensi to spend your special holiday and we are glad to hear that you have been able to appreciate Positano at its best while staying at our Resort. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2018. We had a wonderful time. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent staff. They helped us with whatever we needed...no problem. Very nice. The room was clean and well attended to. Don’t let the stairs to the hotel scare you. I actually only counted 109 stairs but I had prepared for much more. They have a lift so you don’t have to carry your luggage up the stairs. It was well worth the climb. Also, if you don’t like stairs Positano is probably not for you. It’s about a 20 min walk into main Positano. Not bad at all. Absolutely a dream vacation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JJanne1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igiardinideisensi, Responsabile reception at I Giardini dei sensi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you had a dream vacation while staying with us, and of course we are always more than happy to help our guests in any possible way. There is indeed some effort to undergo in order to enjoy the beauties of our Resort and of Positano in general, but as you rightly pointed out they are definitely worth a little effort. We hope that you will return soon at i Giardini dei Sensi.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Words cannot describe the feelings of home we felt staying at this cliffside getaway. We only stayed one night as a family of four, despite making a last minute booking, we were met not as guests but as family, where every need and detail was meticulously considered by the staff to make our stay the best it could be. As hectic as Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be, the hotel creates an impression of having the whole of the area to yourself, where noise is at a minimum while still enjoying panoramic views of the area from the rooftop breakfast to the cliffside pool. Aldrich and Daniel, two of the kindest and most thoughtful hotel staff any of us have ever met in our travels, met us from the start making sure we never had to touch our luggage and that we felt at ease climbing the steep ascent to the hotel. Upon arriving at our room we were greeted by Christine and Anna who had gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome with treats and lovingly made refreshing drinks. The quality of everything in this hotel, from the pool, gardens, and the rooms are of the utmost quality and care and though we were only able to spend one night we wish we could have stayed the entire trip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igiardinideisensi, Addetto reception at I Giardini dei sensi, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Mr Benjamin thank you very much finding the time to write such a wonderful review. We are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that you had the chanche to enjoy Positano and the Amalfi Coast at its best. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our refreshing drinks and our treats, given that we always try our best in order to provide our guests with fresh, local homemade products. We hope that you will get the chance to come and visit us soon here in Positano! Best regards, Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We had the most wonderful time at this hotel. Staying here was a highlight of our trip around Italy. Where do I start. This place is a haven tucked away on the side of a cliff. Its gardens are beautiful, lush and green and filled with scent. The views are post card incredible.
The service is 5 star. Aldrich, Anna and Christin went out of their way to make us feel so welcome. There were welcome drinks when we arrived and each afternoon while we sat by the pool we enjoyed their tasty homemade snacks. They organised transfers, tours and dinner reservations at some great restaurants and their breakfasts are to die for.
The room we had was lovely. It is smart, clean and spacious with an outdoor terrace and of course a beautiful view.
We also liked that the hotel is located just out of Positano which whilst beautiful is busy so for us it was nice to be away from the buzz. It is an easy 10-minute walk into the town.
We hope to come back to Italy and if we do we will be staying here again and we will also be recommending this hotel to anyone we know who is heading that way.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank annmacmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igiardinideisensi, Addetto Reception at I Giardini dei sensi, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our gardens and the beatiful view of Positano. We are also happy to hear that we were able to make your stay here with us as enjoyable as possible, and that we were able to help you in order for you to make the best out of your stay here in Positano. As you rightly pointed out our position gives you a chance to be at a walking distance from Positano, whilst enjoying the peace and quiet of our villa. We really hope that you will come and visit us again soon! Best regards, Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews