We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay in Positano”
other traveller has booked this property
View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View
Kitchen Veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
View
Kitchen
Veranda
Seating in the veranda
Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Norwegian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
zfree07
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Positano”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in Villa Mirella. It was in the handy location of Chiesa Nuova, and eateries and grocery stores were all in close proximity. It was clean and modern and had everything we needed. Marika the host was very well organised and helped us to find places and gave us travelling tips and bus timetables. It was quiet and tranquil, and, most of all, had a stunning view! We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMU
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
“Absolutely The Best .....”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay in Marikas Apartment has been our best experience so far & we are into our 13th week of our European holiday.
Marika is professional & friendly ...... She answered every email I sent her promptly ..... Offering advice ...answering my many questions ...... on arrival She welcomed us as though we were friends.
The Apartment was spotless & very comfortable.
A few steps away from bus stops, butcher, Fishmarket, fruit shop, grocery store ..... Everything you will need while staying here.
The views are magnificent ,,,,. High up above the beach & yet a leisurely 20minute stroll down for a swim. The walk back up takes a little longer but great exercise .... We did not use the internal Positano bus .... We preferred the walk.
Thankyou Marika for such friendliness & warmth .... To have been included in your family celebration will stay with us forever ...... We had so much fun.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villa Mirella from July 1st to July 8th for our honeymoon, and it was absolutely perfect! We had stayed in Rome the week before heading to Positano, and Marika was so helpful when it came to travel arrangements. This was our first time in Europe, and Marike made everything so easy for us. We took a bus from Rome to Sorrento, and then switched buses in Sorrento to Positano. (You don't think you'll ever get used to the bus rides down there, but after a couple days, you really do!) Marika was waiting for us at the bus stop when we got there, the bus stop is just a few steps from the top of the stairs at her property. Be prepared to take a lot of stairs while in Positano, but I don't think you can beat how few there are at Villa Mirella, and how close and easy it is to get to everything! The apartment is so gorgeous and clean!!!! The view is so breathtaking, I wish I could have stayed there forever!! We had everything we needed in the apartment, from pots and pans, to towels and extra pillows and blankets. When we first got there, Marika sat down with us and went over all the best places to go in town, and showed us the bus schedule and what not. It was so easy getting around! At the top of the stairs is a little grocery store, a produce stand, a tobacco shop, and a bar/cafe called Bar International. We definitely took advantage to being close to so many conveniences! And even though you're so close to everything, and one of the main roads, the apartment is so quiet and peaceful. Marika was always available via phone or email if we ever had any questions or needed help with anything at all. She even brought us wine and fresh lemons from the garden one night. It was so nice! I hate to say a single negative thing because everything was so great, but the bed was not very comfortable. It's two twin beds on a full or queen frame, and it's a bit hard. I have back issues, so maybe it was just me, but every night I would end up sleeping on the day bed. The daybed was super comfortable!! :) The bedroom is very nice, and even has blackout shutters on the doors if you like it completely dark when you sleep. There is also an air conditioner in the bedroom which was really nice. We like to sleep in the cold, but we never really needed it during the day because the breeze coming in from all the windows was perfect! If you're like me, and you've done your research on where to stay in Positano, you are not going to find a place this great for the price anywhere else! You will not be disappointed in Villa Mirella! I can't wait to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, Marika, the easy access, and the price!!!
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay in Positano! Marika is the most delightful person. She made us feel welcome from the start. Booking was easy, and she was always quick to reply to my e-mails. Marika is also very organized. She shared recommendations, and pointed out places of interest, and made sure we were set to go and knew how to get around. The location itself is great, right by Chiesa Nuova, with a grocery store right there. This was handy so we didn't have to bring groceries back up with us from down below. The rental itself is lovely. It is beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could need. It's perfectly clean and has a fresh feeling. We especially loved the view. If we ever go back to Positano, we will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Marika and the view!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning view & best service in quiet corner of Positano”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

(Just a little background to this long review) We were lucky enough to get married in this stunning town, Positano. We live in South Africa and thus needed a lot of help to organise things from across the waters. My family stayed at Villa Mirella about a year before and Marika was such an awesome host that my mom mailed her and asked her advice and whether we could stay with her again.

Marika was amazing. She helped us with so many things and thought of a couple of things we haven’t. I believe her career in the tourism industry helps her to be one of the best hosts we ever had at a self-catering apartment.(Something not a lot of self-catering apartments include these days). She can also speak English which is a huge plus in Italy.

So when we finally arrived in Positano it was a breeze to get married. My family and I stayed at Villa Mirella while the almost-in-laws stayed at another apartment close by, which Marika also helped us organise.

Villa Mirella is situated just a couple (in Positano this might be more than you think) steps down from the main street. Marika met us on the street. She also organised taxis for us from the airport in Naples since we were a party of 14 people. This made the travelling very easy. However a train and bus can also be used to get here.

The flat is lovely. It is situated in a quiet corner and very well equipped. Also very spacious. It even has a washing machine which is great if you have been travelling a while or staying for a while in Positano. It has a nice kitchen. The low cost for the quality and service you receive is almost unbelievable.

It is however the incredible view from this apartment that makes any step worthwhile. It is just beautiful!

Marika also made sure we know where we should go for what and left us a couple of brochures and maps to use. She is also very willing to find out anything you want to know.
The flat is located in the first (if you come van Naples) “curve” of the town, which means it doesn’t look out onto the Positano church. It is however very easy to get from here to the main beach(where you need to pay to get one of the lounging chairs so rather take you own towel). It takes you about 20-30 minutes to get to the beach, walking down all the stairs. Therefore the flat is walking distance from most of the restaurants in town – we ate at Café Positano, C'era Una Volta, L’In canto & Saranceno d’Ore during our stay.

The flat is however incredibly close to one of the bus stops where you can find two types of busses. The one is the Positano Interno bus (1.30Euros/person/trip and tickets can be purchased at the café next to the bus stop)that loops every 30 minutes. The second bus is the SITA bus which takes you from or to Sorrento and other towns on the cost. (For a day visit)

Right next to the bus stop is an awesome little bar/ café, “Bar Internationale”. We loved getting coffee from here. It is also next to a small grocery store that has EVERYTHING! Anything you need for breakfast, lunch or light suppers you can find here.

Ferries can be taken to Capri, Amlfi and Salerno from the main beach for day trips.

We loved staying at Villa Mirella. The helpfulness of Marika made our stay really memorable and we would definitely stay here again when we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolajan...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect in every-way!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We travelled from Sorrento to Positano on the Sita bus and we were met by Marika. Marika showed us the short walk from the bus stop to the Villa, showed us around the Villa and talked us through all the things we may need for our time on the coast.

It was my partners birthday on the day we arrived and I had been in contact with Marika prior to arrival to help arrange a surprise bottle of Prosecco for our arrival, (which was generously arranged by Marika completely complimentary.)

Positano is a wonderful place and we had excellent views from the terrace in the apartment. The whole apartment was beautifully decorated and very clean, we had everything we needed in the Kitchen and there was even a washing machine which came in handy.

We took trips from Positano to Amalfi, Ravello and Capri which are highly recommended. We had mentioned on arrival that our next stop after Positano was Rome, the next day Marika had e-mailed us with information on how to get there via Train and ferry, which was very helpful as we did not know this was option.

Marika also recommended a local restaurant (around 3 minutes walk from the apartment), named C'era Una Volta, the food here was lovely (the Gnocchi was the best we had in italy) and we were very pleasantly surprised when we received the bill. We would highly reccomend this restaurant if you are looking for authentic Italian food at a great price.

The whole stay was perfect, we would recommend Villa Mirella to anyone looking for a home-from-home on the beautiful Italian coast line.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly host Mireka and the great views
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaKole...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I really wanted to see Positano but were honestly priced out of the hotels near the main square, especially since we wanted to stay for a few days. This apartment was an amazing value (we paid ~90E/night for 3 nights in June) and still in an excellent location. The views from the windows in the hallway were jaw dropping. It took us about 20 minutes to walk down to the beach (we used the 'side' beach since it was much cheaper than the main beach to rent chairs, if you're smart enough to bring a beach towel there's also free areas to lie down) and we took the 'Positano Interno' bus back up from the main square in the center of town (1.30E/person). Some of the top rated restaurants in Positano were ~5-10 minute walk away from the apartment so we walked to dinner. Just a couple of minutes away is the stop for the SITA bus from/to Sorrento and a couple of small groceries to get food for breakfast. The kitchen in the apartment looks newly renovated and beautiful. If you want to buy breakfast there's the 'Bar Internationale' 2 minutes away as well which has pastries to buy for 1E each. The apartment comes with a little washing machine and a clothes line which were very welcome since we had a lot of sweaty clothes to wash! Lastly the owner of the apartment was extremely nice and helpful, she gave us a map of Positano and showed us how to get down to the beach/restaurants and recommended some for us to try. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone on a bit of a budget that still wants a beautiful and well located place to stay in lovely Positano!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing