We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely, cozy and classy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy and classy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My fiancé and I spent three nights at Palazzo Murat during Xmas time,service was amazing from the moment we walked in to the last minute when we left we've been treated like royalties!
They upgraded us to a deluxe room in the ancient section our room was big, clean with plenty of amenities in there (e.g. I-pod dock station, teakettle, bath robes etc.). On Xmas eve we found a mistletoe sprig on our bed...what a nice and sweet thought!
We will definitely be back in this beautiful, picturesque town and of course we will stay at Palazzo Murat again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan_N35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    113
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
154
557
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but ate here two nights in a row. Its a beautiful place and next time we are in Positano we would like to stay here as its in a better location closer to the beach than where we were staying a bit higher/ 10 min walk up. Although I guess one could argue the views would not be as good. Its really hard not to have an amazing view anywhere in positano. This hotel though is where a honeymooning couple should go for sure. The food is amazing and order the merlot rose if its on the wine list. The first dinner we had there was so good we went back the following night. Although for some reason it wasnt as good as what we ordered the previous night but still tasty. However, you cant beat the atmosphere. Very romantic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilalu814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

we were here July 2011 and stayed in the old part of the hotel (room 1). Getting to the hotel was interesting as there is only one way into the city and one way out - miss where you're going and you've got to circle back around again. Fortunately, we follwed the instructions and asked along the route. We had to park a ways from the hotel as it is down a long pedestrian-only walkway. The hotel sent a valet for our luggage. Even without, it was not a difficult walk to the hotel down the shopping pedestrian walkway. The location along the walkway was ideal, as it was just a bit further down this walkway (which became a bit narrower) to the beach front.
The hotel itself is not beachfront and rooms may have a narrow water view. The room was comfortable but older and this particular room had an upstairs bathroom. The room also had a balcony and the property was fulled with bougainvilla in bloom.
The food at the courtyard restaurant was good, staff were helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: I like the older part of the hotel (room 1) which overlooked the courtyard and had a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I got married in Positano and stayed at the Murat for 5 days in August 2010 along with a return visit in August 2011. We did not actually get married at the Murat but the staff was very helpful with coordinating our transportation of the wedding dress and other items from the US. Our rooms in the new wing were great, the views from the patio were beautiful, the breakfast was very good, and the location was perfect for us as we prefer to be closer to the water looking up at the town rather than the other way around. We agree with the prior reviews...this is an excellent 4 star hotel that is a great value at this price-point in relation to the other 4 and 5 star hotels in the Amalfi Coast.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoBStravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This striking classic palazzo hotel, has received many positive reviews, and I can only confirm, we were tremendously pleased with our decision to stay here, despite the lofty room rate. After a hair raising drive down to hotel, the staff gave us a very warm welcome, and were quick to retrieve our baggage, a daunting task with the tourist crowds. The friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff continued for the 4 days we stayed here. The Palazzo is architecturally magnificent, with broad archways, a grand staircase, black and white tiled floors, and beautifully appointed public spaces for lounging. The rooms and bathrooms are less impressive, but large for Italian standards, and clean and very comfortable, with a balcony for two. But this hotel is about the views which are breathtaking both out towards the crystal turquoise water, and up the steep hill, with its layers of pastel colored residences and boutique hotels. The views are framed with brilliant purple bougainvillea, which is carefully manicured on trellises throughout the property. The location is second to none, with a short stroll to the beach, great shopping, excellent dining or t our favorite, the docks for a quick trip to Capri, or one of the numerous beach restaurants a few minutes away by free water taxis (a must do in Positano). An excellent Michelin recognized restaurant is on the property, with excellent old world service, and scrumptious cuisine and extensive wine list. In fact this is one of the few places I have sent a bottle of wine back, and had the Manager and Sommelier, apologize and bring a much better bottle to the table. Although quite expensive, I would highly recommend this hotel and not hesitate to return. This made our Positano experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elenriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

i was just in positano with my wife. we stayed at the hotel palazzo murat for four nights. they
were very nice. the room was spacious. the food was great. the location was excellent. we would highly recommend this hotel.
We also booked our flights from italy to spain on Iberia airlines. Iberia airlines rebooked it on
something called Vueling Airlines. this was a terrible airline. we were crammed in like sardines
there were thirty rows. six in a row. three and three with isle in the middle. there was no leg room. most air lines have the magazines on the lower part of the back of the seat in front of you. here the magazine rack was above the food tray because there was no place to put your
legs. if you wanted a glass of water you had to buy it. all the food and snacks were on sale for cash. no water. so if you like to fly like a crammed sardine with no food or water and no place to put your legs. fly Iberia. we had flights to barcelona from italy, barcelona to seville and the last leg was seville to london. I WOULD NEVER EVER FLY IBERIA AGAIN. IF THERE
IS NO OTHER AIRLINE TO THE LOCATIONS THEY FLY, I WOULD TAKE A TRAIN OR NOT GO.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TOYJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had just got off a very noisy cruise and were incredibly happy with the peacefulness at the Palazzo Murat. We were greeted by the gate and relieved of our bags. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Check in went fast and we were given an upgrade to our room, and even a bottle of champagne with a note for a happy honeymoon. The staff was very helpful in giving advice on where to go, what to see, where to eat, and even calling the local Mailbox Etc store to ship some of our purchases home. Our room was lovely, comfortable bed, beautiful view, balcony. Each morning we had the breakfast buffet down in the garden and ate dinner one night in their restaurant, which we enjoyed thoroughly. The location is key if you do not want to walk up lots of stairs to stay higher up on the mountain. And there are many lovely shops right close by. We even made plans to come back and spend our 10 year anniversary in Positano, not sure I can wait that long to return though.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 km away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.6 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing