We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and private beach; rooms and service OK but views amazing.”
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Agavi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I think you need to weigh the pros and cons of this hotel We loved the location just atop the cliffs of Positano, but some might prefer to be down in the center of the town where you can walk everywhere. Le Agavi has a shuttle that goes back and forth down the hill to the town, and we preferred to sleep, eat and relax a bit away from the very crowded narrow streets of Positano. The private beach (or sunning area) is pretty amazing with a restaurant as well, but we never would have even known it was there but for other guests who we met in the elevator! You have to take a walk, a cable car and an elevator to get there which is part of the fun. The service at the desk was spotty - some of the staff making great recommendations and being very helpful, others just handing us a flyer from a local vendor without much thought. The breakfast was delicious though, on an exquisite terrace, and our room also had a beautiful terrace with views of the sea. So weigh it with your other options - but we had a wonderful time during our stay,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldreams06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Le Agavi was the last hotel we visited during our honeymoon in Positano. Unfortunately its was a very dissapointing experience because the hotel was nothing like what we expected, especially for the rate charged for a double room. Additionally the website is very misleading!!!! The hotel is very old and old fashioned and needs refurbishment and redecoration immediately!!!!! The main problem was with the hotel facilitues. The private beach and beach bar has nothing to do with the luxury that one should expect from a 5 star hotel. The hotel has a poor wooden deck for a beach with plastic sun beds, tables and chairs. The beach bar looks more like a cheap canteen and the quality of the food is also that of a very low quality canteen. The beach shower and changing room are so old and rusty.... Not to mention the extremely dirty water that made it impossible to swim in! Please see the pictures below which reflect reality to a 100%! The same stands for the pool area - plastic chairs, sunbeds and a pool bar that belongs to the 70s! The rooms were ok in general but had nothing to do with what appears on the website. They were very noisy though since the doors were not at all soundproof so we could here everything from very early in the morning!!! It was a very disspaointing experience for us so we upload all pictures below to present the real image of the hotel. Of course the view was great but this was the only good thing about this hotel....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DiliGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capivanni, Responsabile reception at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dimitra Lignou-Afea SA Travel Congress Service-Grece

referring to the content of your e-mail, I am obliged to point out that the website you consulted before you made the reservation corresponds to what we really offer to the clients.

It is not misleading as you would like to make believe.

If you did not like the hotel, you could have booked other hotels in Positano.

We have rejected other reservations more remunerative than yours in order to offer you the availability, but you repaid us with your overbearing, provocative and defamatory attitude to our hotel and its staff.

I think that your complaint is just an excuse for obtaining a refund which is not due to you as per the hotel rules (earlier departure).

We always do our utmost to fulfill the clients’ wishes, but it is necessary that we receive eventual cancellations three or four days prior to the date of arrival so that we have the chance to make other bookings in order to avoid an economic damage.

We would never take the liberty of judging hoteliers or travel agents we work with.

Your opinion and threats are not constructive and they cannot concern us as most of our partners are very happy to cooperate with us and our guests do enjoy the services we provide.

Reception Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon and the best by far. The hotel is located outside of the downtown area on a cliff overlooking Positano so the views were incredible. We preferred being outside of town because it felt more exclusive and relaxing and wasn't as touristy. The hotel also provided a shuttle downtown which was very convenient (only a 5 minute drive and they picked up and dropped off just about every hour on the hour, which made it very easy). This is the only hotel with a private beach which is rocky, but all beaches in positano are rocky and it didn't bother us at all because we enjoyed laying by the pool, having cocktails and taking in the view. Our suite was very large, clean and had two floors with a huge balcony and we didn't have a problem with the decor at all, it did add to the charm of the place. We stayed for 6 days and actually ended up skipping Pompeii because it was so relaxing we didn't want to leave and we did not have one issue for the entire stay. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The staff was the best out of any of the hotels we stayed at on our honeymoon. We want to go back every year! Also, check out the vendors outside the hotel. I bought bracelets as souvenirs for my friends and saw the same exact bracelets downtown for 5 euro more.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndm0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at Le Agavi in Positano for a week in early July. The hotel is split over several levels and, despite having the use of the various lifts, there are still several flights of steps involved in, for example, getting to and from the pool and the beach area. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the food in La Serra restaurant and the poolside bar is excellent (didn't try the beach restaurant). The views overlooking Positano are really what makes this hotel - they are simply stunning. The shuttle bus into Positano town runs regularly and is very reliable. Our room was comfortable and we had a large private terrace. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I thought the hotel was a little expensive but I guess that part of Italy is not the cheapest of holiday destinations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Agavi during two weeks in Italy. We only stayed one night, and we really enjoyed this hotel. It's really a standout from our vacation. The hotel is built into the steep hill and is a series of small buildings that are stacked above each other. My description doesn't do it justice. What moves you from level to level in the hotel is the furnicular. The emphasis is on being outdoors and enjoying the magnificent scenery. We had an amazing terrace where we ate dinner and took it all in. To get to the beach, you take the furnicular down, walk across to an elevator, elevator down, and then walk through a tunnel. It's so cool! A hotel with a private beach is unusual in Positano, so I'd imagine that helps their star rating. The rooms feel like a 3-star, but I could see it being a 4-star hotels with the views, unique layout, and private beach. Loved the breakfast buffet with three different types of croissants. Yummy. An hourly shuttle takes you into town, and that works fabulously. Cars are wedged in with a shoehorn - it's an art - so leave extra time for the staff to extricate your car when you're leaving. We were having issues with our wireless Internet device, and the front desk was generous about my husband using their computer. Really cool hotel. Not fancy, but so what? The other stuff makes up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We were there for 3 nights! The view was amazing, that's the only good memory we have from this hotel. The room was OK but the beds were so uncomfortable. There were bugs (tons of it) in the closet. The staff was OK but the service at the different restaurants and at the beach was bad. It is definitely not a 5 stars hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMC1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of September and had the most wonderful time. Our beautiful room had the most amazing view from our balcony. The staff were so helpful and accomodating. From making reservations to room service, everything was extra-special.

There are quite a few stairs both to the rooms and the pool. However, if you are in decent shape, you should have no problem. Just think, that's more wonderful Italian food you can eat without guilt!

We especially enjoyed our cloudy day hanging out by the pool with Tomasso. He was such fun and great company. Thanks, Tomasso!

Also, if you get a chance to have dinner at the hotel restaurant try the seabass grilled in lemon leaves. Absolutely extraordinary!

Thanks for a wonderful 4 days!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.8 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0.4 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,485 reviews
2.1 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#19 of 38 in Positano
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 127, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $512 - $1,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Agavi hotel, a sheer drop from the cliff to the sea, is just five minutes by car from the center of Positano. It features a private beach, a breathtaking view over the Amalfi coast, an open-air swimming pool with a snack bar and rooms with air conditioning. All the rooms of Le Agavi hotel, belonging to different room categories, dispose of equipped balconies or terraces, a satellite TV and private bathrooms with a tub or shower. Le Agavi hotel has 3 bars and 2 restaurants,led by our starred chef. The hotel disposes of a shuttle bus service to and from the center of Positano, leaving almost every hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing