We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
910
60
26
11
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
60
26
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach complimentary boat ride the cliff on demand water taxi the general manager heaven on earth best hotels in the world our honeymoon michelin star restaurant main restaurant the hotel manager free shuttle beautiful hotel favorite hotel moment you arrive very special place
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2016

Il San Pietro di Positano is one of the best hotels I have ever visited. Words really do not do justice describing how generous and accommodating the staff is. The professionalism and efficiency of the entire staff is second to none.
As soon as you arrive you enter an almost magical world of warm hospitality .The hotel is just like heaven. The amount of flowers and citrus trees is incredible.
The check in process was extremely smooth. The owner Virginia greeted us and presented us with a delicious fresh fruit welcome cocktail with fresh olives and nuts on the side. We stayed in two rooms during our stay, both of them are exquisite and unique with gorgeous views and large balconies with sun-beds .But our second room was out of this world, it was a corner room with a huge balcony and breathtaking view. Breakfast at the hotel had a large variety of extremely delicious fresh food.
The hotel has one of the most beautiful terraces I have ever seen. The terrace is decorated with gorgeously ceramic tiles. This terrace has the best views of Positano. The terrace bar has some of the tastiest fresh fruit cocktails possible; we could not resist them and had them daily.
The gym has some of its equipment outdoors shaded by lemon trees. The aroma as one exercise’s is unforgettable.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to Positano that takes you whenever you want. When you are finished you call the hotel and they will pick you up.
San Pietro is a family run hotel. Virginia and her sons run the hotel. She is extremely proud of her hotel and she took us on a tour of the hotel explaining its history, and how her uncle founded the hotel. I was impressed with the hotels long and illustrious history. Their family has dedicated their lives to making the hotel great and it shows.
Finally, I would like to thank Virginia and her son Vito for their hospitality and for making our stay unforgettable. The views, the hospitality, the overall experience was a dream trip and one I will never forget. I miss it already and I can’t wait to visit them again.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank H_alnamleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Cinque, Proprietario at Il San Pietro di Positano, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

The entire staff wihes to thank you for your generous review, H_alnamleh. We are very proud to have guests like you who makes us to love what we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

To put is simply, this hotel is perfect! We just finished our week long stay at Il San Pietro, and it was nothing but amazing from the time we arrived. This was our second stay at this hotel, the first time was 3 years ago, and it was equally as amazing and perfect. We plan to return each year. The staff, the rooms, the restaurants, the food, the grounds, the amenities, the interior decor, the daily boat cruise, the other guests you meet, etc, all exceed every expectation! We have stayed in many luxury hotels all over the world and nothing compares to the personalized service and quality you receive at Il San Pietro. They truly want you to relax and enjoy yourself from the minute you arrive. We look forward to seeing all the wonderful staff next summer! Thank you Il San Pietro for another perfect visit!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EFBCapri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Cinque, Proprietario at Il San Pietro di Positano, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

We plan to welcome you each year, EFBCapri2013. Thank you for your lovely contribution and for being a huge fan of Il San Pietro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Our expectations were high when we arrived and were surpassed throughout our stay. We had arrived from staying at another rival luxury hotel in Portofino and the difference between the two was incredible. The location of this hotel along with the size of the room and the spectacular views were breathtaking, the staff were extremely helpful. The restaurant experience was a wonderful surprise, the ambience and the food were excellent. We also visited the Spa for a deep tissue massage and I have to say it was one of the best we had ever experienced. They are certainly fully trained masseurs. Another very impressive fact was that the Manager was around and visible to anybody who wanted to speak to him, something that is rare in any company. We are already planning when we can return and were sad to leave

Room Tip: Rooms with a view out to sea
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsykate70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Cinque, Proprietario at Il San Pietro di Positano, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you for beliving in our magic, Gypsykate70. If it was sad to leave it will be even happier to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016

Experience you will newer forget! Very welcomed ,relaxing ,tranquilizing atmosphere anywhere in hotel. Friendly, smiling stuff , manicured property ,unexpectedly large,almost huge halls ,restaurant, hotel lobby. For the small and overcrowded Positano , this hotel stands far away from all other luxury properties. Different from all points of view , in good way! 24/7 unlimited , very friendly shuttle to the city of a Positano makes this hotel even more attractive . You feel beauty , relaxing and piecefull atmosphere . Very pleasant experience with a SPA . Fullness of the colors , cliniest mountain fresh air , nice size of the rooms , perfect service, food , tranquility , Italian authenticity and hospitality ! Very well kept property with a strong management. A lot of small ,but important touches ! Highly recommended! Last ,but not least ! The hotel has strict dress code for guests and visitors - please keep it in force ! , this made your hotel special for selective people- you do not visit palace at night time wearing shorts! Thanks for the beautifull time we spent at your hotel ! Sincerely Dr Kotlyar

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms and higher
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yury K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Cinque, Proprietario at Il San Pietro di Positano, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you for your kind review perfectly matching our primary aim, Yuri K. "Experience" is the right word. We don't want you "just" stay with us. We want you to have an experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016

Everything about this hotel is special and magical - the location, the staff, the service, the rooms, the grounds, the common areas, the food...I could go on and on. We are experienced and well-traveled but our jaws dropped when we first laid eyes on Il San Pietro and stayed that way for the entire time we were there. Everyday you discover something new and marvelous about this place. We felt like we were in a dream the entire time we were there, and it was the best 4 days of our 2 week trip in Italy (so glad we saved it for the last stop!). We were torn between choosing this hotel and Sirenuse which is located closer to the town of Positano (both premier properties), and we were so happy we chose this one as it was slightly outside of the craziness of the town. They provide free shuttle service to/from town (5-7 minute ride) 24/7. By far, this is the better choice! Be prepared to pay high prices and tip at every turn, but it is all well worth it and well deserved . I don't think there is anyplace on earth like this property and we can't wait to go back one day. The story and history of the place is as charming as the place itself, and we feel privileged to have the means to stay here and enjoy everything this hotel has to offer. The rooms are large, well appointed and each one is unique but my favorite part was the location and the surrounding grounds...how do they do it? Like I said...magical! Thank you to everyone at Il San Pietro who made our trip so special...Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Every room has amazing views...you can't go wrong in any category
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlshuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Cinque, Proprietário at Il San Pietro di Positano, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2016

Thank you to every guest like you, Trvlshuz, who make Il San Pietro so special and magical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews