We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
109
102
34
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
102
34
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fornillo beach main beach private terrace amalfi coast the bus rooms are basic main positano minute walk smaller beach a great place to stay family restaurant town centre spiaggia grande beautiful view path of the gods carlo fridge
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 270 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at Pensione Maria Luisa in September 2010 during our trip through Italy and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
The pensione is positioned on top of a cliff which overlooks the beautiful sea. We were lucky enough to stay in a sea view room and were mesmerized as soon as we stepped out onto the balcony! Admittedly, the rooms and bathrooms were a little dated, consisting of cane furniture, pink tiles and pink bedspread. Not a deal breaker for us as there were too many other pluses!
Carlo was absolutely fantastic! He was the nicest host we meet in all of Europe! He really made you feel at home and even went to the extend of calling our car company in Rome to let them know we were going to be handing in our car a day earlier. He called, spoke to them in Italian for us and didn't charge us for the inter-state call! You can't fake that! He is a real genuinely lovely person!
Overall, we LOVED Positano and our stay at Pensione Maria Luisa. It was affordable and the views from the balcony were simply magical. We can't wait to return to Positano and have no hesitation in staying at Pensione Maria Luisa again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I will concur with the other reviewers that Carlo has to be the nicest proprietor in all of Italy. The location makes this a difficult choice for older travellers, the less fit or those with mobility issues. Positano clings to a cliff face and has many streets which are so steep they incorporate stairs. The Maria Luisa is half-way down such a street and when you reach the pensione it is on several levels separated by steep stairs. Getting in is not easy but then you also need to get out.

This is how I remember pensiones in Italy 40 years ago but it is now more backpacker lodge than B&B. Our room was very tired with an extremely old bathroom ( 1950's) but a lovely large terrace looking back towards the town and out to sea. Lonely Planet Italy states that many of the bathrooms have been updated but we didn't see any evidence of that.

We cut our visit short because the weather was bad and getting around was so difficult. We were only charged for the night we stayed and not the extra 2 nights we had booked. Carlo recommended his sister's hotel at the top of the street for breakfast ( good breakfast) and organised a car to drive us back to Naples and he carried our suitcases back up to the road for us. The family seem to own a number of hotels and restaurants in the area and are all very pleasant helpful people. It was cheap for Positano but for older traveller's it is worth booking a hotel on the bus/taxi route at least then you will only have to contend with the internal stairs

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We just recently stayed here in October and had the ocean view room. Let me just say that the view from the terrace will immediately make take your breath away and make you relax. The room décor is basic but clean and the room we stayed in the bathroom had been recently been renovated and clean..

The real star of this place is Carlo, he is extremely friendly and speaks excellent english. Upon arrival showing us where we could go on the map without asking. He was more than helpful and always a smiling face and great chat.

The pensione also has a communal breakfast room with refrigerators, microwave and grill. Even better you don't have to wash your dishes.

Extremely great value to boot in comparison to other places in positano. Would also recommend that you eat at his relatives restaurant Saraceno D'Oro really lovely.

The location is a little walk out from the main town 15-20 minutes and the shortest way does involve stairs. Alternatively you can take a longer more gentle walk along the road or take the local bus which runs frequently and just stops up from the pensione.

Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and take the ocean view rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Carlo, the owner's childhood home. He was very helpful, arranging a driver to take us to Salerno 6.00. We had a problem with SITA bus and luggage from Sorrento to Positano.
We were unable to get one of the fabled rooms with terrace overlooking the sea, but the room we got was OK, with sea glimpses and overlooking Positano. Breakfast room overlooking sea, with microwave, fridge etc was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattimavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 at the end of three weeks travel in Italy. The pensione is basic and honestly "dated". Our balcony room was spacious but was in need of a facelift. Still - it was clean and the service was good. But - the biggest PLUS was that awesome balcony and FANTASTIC view. Having the fridge available in the dining area was also a plus. We purchased cheese, buns and fruit in town and ate our breakfasts overlooking the Amalfi coast. An inexpensive bottle of wine on same balcony in the evening ended our day.

So ... the avilibilty of this large balcony and the amazing view (and a close proximity to the bus) made up for the plain dated accomodation.

One thing that nearly ruined it for me was the smell (like cat pee) in the lobby. I did not smell it anywhere else - but a nasty "welcome" to the hotel.

We rented a scooter right around the corner and drove the coast to Amalfi for one day - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: REQUEST a Balcony Room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews