We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
460
135
17
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
135
17
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews albergo california don giovanni amalfi coast perfect location room was large family owned hotel the ground floor the bus amazing views family run each morning definitely stay here again first floor enjoy the view a wonderful stay town centre pastries
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 630 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

It seemed everywhere we booked in our Amalfi Coast trip was outrageously expensive and not worth the money. However, in Hotel California this was not the case. Roughly €210 per night for a 3 person room seems expensive for a 3 Star Hotel but our stay was so great, especially compared to some 4 star hotels double the price elsewhere. Upon arrival at Hotel California the staff were very helpful with bags and explaining our room etc. We had a ground floor room, which meant we were looking out over beautiful Positano with the grape-vined terrace in sight - absolutely stunning. Must reiterate how beautiful the terrace and the view are- truly incredible. The rooms are spacious, whilst a little dated they do the job. Bathroom the same. Staff are friendly. Great location- can walk everywhere in Positano! Cars can pull right up to the hotel so you are not carrying your bags up many steps which you would need to do for a lot of hotels in Positano.

A few negatives which are worth noting:
- ground floor rooms have less privacy as guests enter the hotel by walking past these rooms, and also ex-hotel guests also walk past to enter the fabulous hotel restaurant. However, I think the view is better from ground floor so it’s a bit of give and take.
- some lights from the air conditioning / fridge gave off a mild but frustrating light during the night. I wore an eye mask to help me sleep.
- bed was rock hard. Not great.
- fridge didn’t keep anything cold.
- only one key to a room. For 3 people this isn’t great but one time when my father came home before us they used the master / spare key to let him in with no trouble.
- Hotel breakfast (like the rest of Italy) is pretty awful.

Despite all this I’d definitely come back again. For the price (whilst it may seem expensive compared to other travels) is really really great for Italy- you will not get a view and service like this anywhere else at this price.

Great hotel. Great staff. Great location. Great restaurant. AMAZING view. Thanks Hotel California!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Michellehammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Great position with fantastic views, very friendly and helpful staff , excellent restaurant.

Its on the main one way street with easy access to several restaurant's, shops and bars.

The views of the town and beach is spectacular.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank proneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Read the othe reviews and you will get the idea . This truly is a special place. The rooms are great . Everything you need and space to unfold and relax. Giovanni and his team - and they do work as a team - are exceptional. Always friendly always forthcoming always helpful.
As Giovanni said as we depart d “when you stay with us you are part of our family”. Xceptional hospitslity.
A great location. Enjoy.

Btw - the restaurant was top two of our stay in Italy. Don’t miss it. Certainly best we had in Positano. Giovanni is too unprepossessing to say however this new restaurant and their talented chef are tops . True to character the service is friendly and attentive and the food is artfully present d and has that wow factor . Have at least one dinner here.

Room tip: Room 55 has a private enclosed balcony . Beautiful .
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

I have been traveling to Italy (and for that matter, all over Europe, the Middle East, and Asia) for 17 years, and this is my favorite hotel of all the hotels I’ve stayed in.

The location is prime, located about 200 meters downhill from the Sponda bus stop where the bus coming from (or going to) Sorrento or from/to any other Amalfi Coast town drops you off (or picks you up).

The view from the room’s large balcony is breathtaking. The owners provide two large foldable comfortable reclining chairs to take out onto the balcony so that you can relax and enjoy the view.

The room is huge by European standards. The bathroom is just as spacious, and the sink is large.

There are multiple sets of drawers, shelves, and hangars.

The room also includes a mini-frig, a safe, a writing desk with drawer, a flat screen TV with CNN and other cable channels, toiletries, a kettle upon request, and hooks near the door where you can hang your purse, camera, jacket, or umbrella. There is also a pay-for laundry service. Oh, and a FULL buffet breakfast outside on a trellised terrace with a spectacular view!

Albergo California (Hotel California) is a family-run hotel, and its friendly owners (the Cinque family) are always available and happy to answer questions and tend to their guests’ needs.

The Cinque family thought of everything! I simply could not ask for anything more!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We had the most wonderful time staying here. The family hospitality at this hotel was amazing. Gianni, Maria, and everyone that works there were the nicest and helpful group. The rooms were very roomy and quite comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was a lovely buffet of local fare!
beautiful views and balconies and porch. We cannot wait to re-visit this beautiful hotel and resort!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank donnas217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews