We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
86
51
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
51
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa croce every hour path of the gods the bus mini market road ends pay lot amalfi coast amazing views hiking trail paid parking piece of paradise worth the effort thoroughly enjoyed our stay private balcony wonderful family yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 154 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a holiday around the Amalfi Cost and it's a fabulous place. Some of the other reviews are accurate in that it is in a quiet village and off the beaten track but the views and accommodation make it all so worthwhile.

Positano as a place is beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone, it's stunning with so much to see and do. But it is busy, it was still really busy in September so can't imagine what it's like in the height of summer. That makes it all the nicer to stay somewhere like Nocelle and get away from the hustle and bustle.

It's also perfect if you have a car, staying in Positano itself with a car would be tricky as parking is so limited but in Nocelle you can park easily.

We read all the reviews on how many stairs there are and the vast variations in people's stories so we decided to count! There's 161 but they're broken up into two lots so if you're carrying luggage you get a bit of a break.

The views are unbelievable, the best we've ever had, the hosts are lovely and helpful and the rooms are clean and well equipped. All rooms have sea views, you honestly can't go wrong with this place.

There's one restaurant just up the path, Santa Croce, it's nice enough, the food is good but we ate there a couple of times and the service isn't great so just be prepared to enjoy the relaxation and be in no rush.

The bus from Nocelle into Positano is good, can be really busy but, again just enjoy the experience of being in a fabulous country.

There's also a lovely little square with a church and a drinks stall a few steps down from the gates to the Villa, don't leave without popping down.

It takes about half an hour to walk down the Path of the Gods steps....there's around 1700 (we didn't count those ones!) and then you can go down a few more and you'll find yourself on a lovely little beach with a nice bar and restaurant. You can spend the day here, have lunch and pay €5 for the boat to take you to Positano beach then just get the bus back to Nocelle....a way better idea than getting the steps back.

All in all a great place, we would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lblufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

This B&B is not in Positano. This is located in Nocelle, which is 30-50 minutes of either €1.30 bus ride or €60 taxi. Here are pros and cons.
Pros: the view and hospitality. Our room has a balcony with the view of Positano. The bathroom is spacious and clean. The hosts were very nice.
Cons: Location, bed, limited selection breakfast and wifi access.
1. Location. Like I mentioned earlier this is not in Positano. To get there and go to Positano, spare at least an hour to travel and prepare for overcrowded bus ride. Once you arrived in Nocelle station, there's still a walk up and down the steps, which is definitely not handicap friendly. If you want to stay in Positano, pick a place in the city center as this city is not easy to get around either by car or foot. With its remote location comes limited access to store and restaurants. Only one mini market and one restaurant. Restaurant is great and delicious but definitely make reservation or you'll be out of luck and no dinner. Mini market closes around 6-7pm and has fruit, snacks, beverages.
2. Bed, the keyword in bed and breakfast. The bed is super hard and uncomfortable.
3. Limited breakfast selection. Mostly consists of marmalade filled croissant, cereal, fruit, yogurt, cold cut and cheese. Definitely not hearty breakfast. They do have cappuccino and coffee and OJ.
4. Wifi access only in the dining area and the terrace nearby. No access in the room.
5. Other miscellaneous. Bring your own shampoo and lotion. No air conditioning.

If we have to redo, we wouldn't stay here because of the time spent transiting and the stress of catching the bus schedule. Hope this is helpful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wongchizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa la Quercia. Carmela and Salvator were fantastic hosts and happy to answer any and all of our questions. The breakfast was great with excellent cappuccinos. The view from our villa was spectacular. The villa was very tidy and clean however could benefit from some minor upgrades with bed/bedding. The shower was a difficult experience however overall we enjoyed our trip! Please note the WIFI is only available in the common room downstairs which can be a slight pain however didn't really effect us. The location is not in the Positano city centre. It does require a 30 minutes bus ride up the mountain which only leaves every hour and is extremely crowded. We enjoyed being out of the hustle and craziness of Positano. Very peaceful place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mikaelabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

It was a nice place - BUT poor breakfast (good capuccinos only) and WAY TOO FAR from the center : Positano. It is a good 30-35 mins bus ride to go. Bus runs on hour schedule only. I was disappointed...

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Véronique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We were not expecting such a brilliant facility when initially booking our four nights in Nocelle/Positano (€70 per night). This included breakfast and a BREATHTAKING view from our balcony and terrace common-area. Breakfast was coffee (cappucino, espresso, americano, whatever you'd like), croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit, ham/cheese/rolls. The reviews are true, that you have to time your trips in and out of positano and surrounding areas, as the bus runs about once an hour and can be packed with people. However, we found it fantastic to leave the bustling/busy Positano area and escape up to our private & quiet haven of Nocelle. The market in town seems to be open til about 8:00 pm, so time your food purchases if you want to have a dinner of meat/cheese on your balcony. There is one restaurant in town with nice service and a reasonably priced menu (Average €12 per non seafood mains. €8 euro pizzas on Saturday nights only). Villa La Quercia is always perfectly placed at the beginning of (or end of, depending which direction you go) the Path of The Gods. This is a really nice hike that took my girlfriend and I about 2 hours total w/ plenty of stops along the way. The internet does only work in the common area so that can be semi inconvenient if you think of something last minute you want to look up, but for the most part we had no issues. The couple who owns the B&B were nothing but lovely and in communication the entire time. They are around a lot in the morning but seem to disappear after that. Some people reviewing seem to not like that, but we were happy with the "self-service" style the couple presented. There is a fridge stocked with beers, juices, & cold waters) that you can take at any time and settle the bill at the end of your stay. Beers were €2.

Great view, great people, great service! Slightly off the beat and path, but that only really inconvenienced us because of our own lack of planning.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acrobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews