We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking view!”

Review of Casa Aloe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kati V
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our family of four (2 adults + 8 and 12 years old kids) spent a wonderful two weeks holiday in this great apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It was definitely worth taking those ~120 steps up to the house: the view from it's huge terrace was so lovely and beautiful; even better what you can see from the pictures!

Praiano is very nice and quiet little village with plenty of good restaurants. You don't need a car to stay here, everything can be found within walking distance and in addition the public transportation (local bus + SITA bus) works well. It is a great spot to visit nearby cities such as Positano, Amalfi and Ravello.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the terrace
Liked least: nothing, everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gale396
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Casa Aloe has a wrap-around veranda with a really lovely view! It is on top floor of a building which houses the landlord & landlady below, and her parents below that. There are 127 tough steps to climb (but the landlord DOES bring the luggage up on a rigged wire transport). The Wi-Fi stopped working on second day, but when landlady returned at night, she fixed it for rest of week. (Small problem with wall connection, but, since it has happened before, we would have appreciated knowing about it when we arrived!) Good little market nearby, and wonderful restaurant not too far (Mama's). We did a lot of hiking on high trails during week we were there, so the steps were a bit of a struggle at the end of the day! But, do-able. There has been no expense spared in outfitting the apartment/condo with state of art furnishings and kitchen items. Just a little strange that toilet paper for the whole week was not provided, nor dishwasher detergent. Sheets and towels were changed by the management at mid-week, however, and in general, the landlady was most generous in other ways, as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful veranda, lovely ceramic dishes
Liked least: Neither toilet tissue, dishwashing detergent, paper towels or even a small amt of coffee was furnished
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marilyn15...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My husand and I just got back from the Amalfi Coast, and we had a wonderful holiday in Praiano. We stayed at Casa Aloe for 15 nights and loved every minute we were there. The villa was perfect for us and the views from the terrace were absolutely amazing. We had breakfast everyday on the terrace, it was so peaceful. The villa has 2 lovely bedrooms, a good size bathroom and a combined living room/dining room and kitchen. We had WiFi connection, which allowed us to connect to back home. Praiano is a lovely village between Amalfi and Positano where you get a flavour of the local people and their hospitality. The owner Lucia could not have been more helpful during our stay. We booked a lovely Capri excursion with her company Lucibello, it was perfect. On our last day Lucia even drove us to Amalfi so we would make our connection to the Amalfi-Salerno boat, we were really pampered. Thank you so much Lucia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing terrace and the views.
Liked least: Mattress was a little hard for my liking but after a few days, no problem.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Location ... a view worth a million”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed at Casa Aloe for 6 days in April, it was a wonderful place to call home for that time. Very clean and very well equipped for a rental vacation home. The owner Lucia was very helpful and friendly ... she gave advise on stores, restaurants, buses, boat tour to Capri... everything that we asked was answered. Thank you to her mother who baked twice for us during our stay. The 128 steps up were a great workout... but well worth the view and privacy that we had on our terrace. A wonderful place to stay. Thank you!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our terrace
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0sephUSA
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a view! And the best service to boot...”
Reviewed October 28, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at Casa Aloe for 8 nights. The flat is much larger than what the pictures depict. The owner, Lucia, made sure we felt at home. We cannot say enough great things about the flat. The location is ideal, between Positano and Amalfi. It is within walking distance of restaurants and grocery store. There are over 100 stairs to reach the apartment as described in the listing, but very manageable. We will be back!!! Thank you for a comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, and the monstrous private lanai...
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace1997
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view. Felt like home”
Reviewed September 6, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

located in the quieter village of Praiano, Casa Aloe was the perfect place for our holiday. The owner Lucia was helpful and left us a bottle of local wine to say welcome.She even helped us out with some groceries we had missed on our visit to Tutto per tutti ,the local grocery store just a short walk away. There was a bottle of cold water in the fridge ready for us when got to the top of the 100 steps it takes to reach Casa Aloe. Everything we could need was there, it was clean, comfortable and the Wi-fi was quick which was enjoyed by our teenage daughter. Yes, there are many steps to walk up but once you do the views are breathtaking. We enjoyed our walks to the beach every morning (approx 20 minutes) which is all downhill and you can take in the views and the local buildings. The bus stops are close by as well. We were glad we stayed here and not in the much busier surrounding villages. Walk into town or catch the bus and visit Bar Sole where the beer is cheap and the service was great. We would recommend a stay here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful view
Liked least: the steps!!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing