We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location between Amalfi and Praiano: fantastic view”
Review of Hotel Il Pino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Pino
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location between Amalfi and Praiano: fantastic view”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The room and hotel are in a great spot. We look the Marozzi bus from Rome and it was very close to the stop (always a plus with luggage). No steps to climb etc.
The room was nice : we had a quadruple with one double and 2 twin beds. Balcony with a fantastic view of the coastline and Praiano. Loved sitting out here at night with a book hearing the church bells mark time.
Breakfast is continental, good coffee. Will bring it to yhe our room if requested.
Wifi is paid and available in public areas (or strangely in the doorway of our bathroom:)
We thought it was interesting that the AC is only on from 4pm to 8am. Had visions of an afternoon siesta (we arrived in a heat wave) that would have been much better with a working AC>
Reception on front desk was nice: printed boarding passes for us etc. but found her advice a little vague at times esp around bus stops in Positano: she told us they are all close by (in fact they are very far!)
Went to Positano by the Flavia Gioia bus much less crowded than the SITA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EverRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    92
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
39
149
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights.
Area:
Located in the small city of Praiano, close to the main road, it is easy accessible and no need for walking down long stairs to get to the hotel. The noise from the street is minimal. The hotel is about 2-3 min walking from the famous church with the colourful tiled roof, and the "city centre", although it's a very small town. Only a few restaurants, pizzerias, a church, some small grocery shops and a pharmacy. Nothing elegant, but it's only 20 min drive from Amalfi and 15 min from Positano.
Beach-wise, there's to options in the near. The "official" beach of Praiano is about 1500 metres from the hotel, and takes about 20-25 min along the mainroad and then descending down a romantic stairway to the sea. Otherwise a closer opportunity is a stairway from the church going down to the sea, but the beach it-self is more like a pier, and lying on concrete platforms - if you don't want to buy beachchairs for 10 euro each.
Hotel:
Romantic and beautiful with a stunning view of the ocean and Amalfi Coastline. Modern and tidy rooms with a big bathroom and big, comfortable double-beds.
The breakfast was nothing spectacular - standard Italian with a croissant (with jam), coffee and youghurt. So don't expect that to last the whole day. Staff was friendly and helpful, though their lack of english competences gave us some issues. I think only one of the receptionists was able to speak english fluent. Odd, because 80% of the tourists were not italian..
A nice little hotel, with only great memories! A bit pricey, but cheap compared to near-by hotels.

Room Tip: For no street noise at all, and bigger balconies, choose a room on the -1 or -2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 12 person group tour. The rooms are a good size and have large terraces with great views. It's quite loud at night as you can hear doors slamming and people walking all throughout the night. The restaurant downstairs is fantastic and I highly recommend that. However, the woman at reception was rude to us from the moment we arrived and especially during a misunderstanding we had with her. Good service dictates that the customer is always right and the woman blamed us for this misunderstanding even though it was as much her fault as ours, if not entirely her fault since we could not understand the Italian she spoke. Because of this I would not recommend the hotel and would say you could probably find something cheaper/better.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieK_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We felt at home at this hotel, and wished we had stayed longer. Great little hidden gem. The balcony views were like a picture postcard. The rooms were spotlessly clean and staff friendly and helpful. Great location for towns around the Amalfi coast, perfect for local shops, buses and lovely little town, with just the right amount of restaurants. After 3 days, we even got to know other people in the town. Just the right mix for a perfect holiday. The only problem could be parking as hotel had limited parking, but managed to find some on the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woollysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The view are nice but the rest.... Not exciting at all.
The interior decoration is 70's show and do not even try to sleep if you forgot your ear plugs....... Even with the ear plugs you can hear everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sookie2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you're visiting the Amalfi Coast and want to stay at a comfortable, convenient hotel with a beautiful view of the sea and the coast, Hotel Il Pino is perfect. I stayed here for 2 nights. Every room has a terrace overlooking the sea. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning at no additional charge. They have a delicious restaurant, Il Pino, that I highly recommend. You can easily take the bus to Positano, (15 min ride), and spend an afternoon there and save on the expensive cost of Positano hotels. Praiano is conveniently located between Amalfi and Positano; a great spot to stay if you want to have day trips to Amalfitan Coast towns/cities. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The beautiful luminous coloured(white and blue)small Il Pino hotel,overlooking from the cosy terrace(each room has one) the blue-turqoise sea and the "il pino",the brave old tree ,quiet sentinel of the ambience,conquered instantly our hearts.
Mena,the kind and smiley chief of the reception,and the other young and very usefull members of the staff helped us a lot from the very first moment of the check in ,mornings and evenings during our stay,till the last moment of check out with all what we needed .
The room,bright and spotless clean,functional and pleasant,quiet,bathroom with all what you need and satisfactory size,and the terrace which every morning pushed us directly in the best mood and supplied at sleep time the sweetest dreams ,after watching from there the great views .
Praiano is a quiet nice place,midd distance between the two extremities of the Amalfi coast circuit.
We will warmly recommend this hotel to everyone who intend to spend a great holiday on Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lialiutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.3 km away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
810 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.6 km away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#13 of 19 in Praiano
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
574 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,393 reviews
4.2 km away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pino

Property: Hotel Il Pino
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 13, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Pino 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a natural scenery of enchanting beauty in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, not too far from Amalfi (km. 8) and Positano (km. 4), is hotel "Il Pino". The hotel has a modern and famous restaurant, with terraces on the sea, that offers local and international dishes. Of recent construction, endowed with all the comforts, our rooms guarantee a pleasant and restful stay between the green of the coast and the blue of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Pino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pino Praiano
Hotel Il Pino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing