We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
89
42
6
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
42
6
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 148 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016

The hotel is situated right next to the sea, in the pine forest. Moreover, the hotel has its own beach with all the equipment. We were given sunbeds, so we did not need to hurry to take place every day. The breakfast offered a good choice and we were having it looking at the sea. Staff at the beach and in the restaurant was friendly and spoke English. However, staff at the reception was not very interested in giving advice and lacked key information.
We took apartment which was spacious and comfortable, with big living room and three separate bedrooms, nevertheless it had disadvantages. The handles of the wardrobes were covered in something sticky and the kitchen did not have a kettle. What is more the rules said that we had to pay extra, if we use kitchen without cleaning, but they did not provide any liquids to clean the dishes. There was one shower for 5 people who lived there and two toilets with a transparent door in between, so just 1 person could use it. At peak times, there was no hot water.
Analyzing all the advantages and disadvantages, we think that the price we paid was high in relation to the quality of acommodation.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nataliya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBussolaPuntaA, Direttore at La Bussola Beach&Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Mrs. Nataliya,

thank you for your review. It's always good to read guest's opinion to improve our service.
I am very happy that you enjoyed a lot our beach service and restaurant. We are very proud of our cusine quality.
Speaking about your apartment i think that is a superb room, you can't find anything similar in Punta Ala, 90 mq with big sea view terrace.
As you mentioned the use of the kitchen is not for free due to the fact that we sell it as a suite and not as an apartment. Our staff clean it every morning (if it is used) for just € 10,00 more, a very reasonable price in my own opinion.

I hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have spent 2 nights at Bussola and it was pretty enough to get a clear idea about the hotel and the town.
In 2 words: the hotel and Punta Ala are fantastic for the calm beach vacations if you really prefer to spend all the day on the beach with a breaks for the afternoon sleep and seaside walks in the evening. If you prefer the active way of your days off, you should forget about Punta Ala.
The hotel is situated just on the beach - it is max 50 meters walking from your room. The beach is private and looks really nice. The same about the sea: we were unlucky to come to the hotel exactly on the most rainy day of our Italian trip but even in a rainy day the sea was extremely beautiful. I can only imagine how nice it is during nice summer days...
The hotel is very small, I should say - tiny with 8 rooms only. The rooms are also very small but pretty comfortable. Anyway, it could be OK for 2 persons but don't even think about the third person in a room - just impossible.
There is a restaurant at the hotel where they serve breakfast in the morning, then it works as a bar and it is a nice restaurant in the evening. About the breakfast: a little limited but OK for such a small hotel. You can order fried eggs or omelette.
There is a WiFi but it is really poor. It works only in some parts of the hotel and definitely doesn't work at all in the rooms. That was a little disappointing.
There is an open parking space that belongs to the hotel so there is no headache with the parking at all.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Interesting location adjacent to the narrow beach with dark sand (beach facilities extra paid on top of accommodation). Beach staff very helpful. Reception adequate and fast acting. Room very clean. The walls between the rooms seem to be made of drywall what becomes an issue in case you have noisy neighbour. Breakfast OK with assistance of a very friendly and caring female staff member. On the other side there was not friendly male one who seemed to be in charge of the waiter team at the restaurant. Not flexible, not allowing to use hotel restaurant without prior booking without prior reservation even for hotel guests while it seemed this really was not an issue of full booking - rather of matter of bad attitude (experienced twice). We were accepted with welcome by two neighbouring restaurants - no worse food was served at those locations. Quite unusual not to be able to dine at the place one sleeps. We were not able to connect to any of the hotel's two internet networks with any of our three IT devices due to hotel router issue that could not be identified. As a summary: good, originally located and looking hotel with high prices providing good quality accommodation. Issues with restaurant supervising guy while remainder of the waiter team doing their job vey well and existing internet hotel network not allowing to connect.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had two nights in La Bussola and wished that we could have stayed a little longer. We had the family room and enjoyed great service from Tina in the restaurant that gave our stay that little extra touch. Beside the obvious beach-life you have a fantastic stable/ranch with horses in all sizes. A short walk to Punta Ala and a 15 minutes drive to Castiglione della Pescaia gave additonal value to this visit.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was looking for somewhere for a five night restful and relaxing break. La Bussola was the perfect choice. The Hotel sits surrounded by pine trees just behind Punta Ala's long, sandy beach. The design of the hotel is really unique. The rooms aren't large but are wonderfully organised with every convenience, large very comfotable beds, great linen and attention to little details. From the guy that runs the beach, to the bar and dining room staff, everyone knew my name and immediately made me feel at home. Breakfast, with a good selection of things to chose from was included in the room price, but, although there is a good selection of places to eat in the area, I mainly ate lunch and dinner at La Bussola because the food was so good (I put on 2.5 Kgs in my short stay!). Service was efficient and the dining room staff were absolutely charmimg and helpful. The Hotel was immaculately run and. thanks in part to it's wonderful, quirky, design and use of local timber throughout, had a senase of being on a very comfortable boat parked under the pine trees on a Tuscan beach.

Room tip: The Beach is a little remote so you really need a car in Punta Ala
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews