We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
79
64
43
35
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
64
43
35
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parked our car old town looked terrific luxury experience original hotel send someone michelin star restaurant second level small things stone walls lots of character booked this hotel charming hotel beautiful town risotto each morning yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 252 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

We booked a Suite in an „Château Relais“.
We found a Totally humid and bad smelling cave.
As we were very sad, and It was evening, we asked for another room. This they gave to us.
The tiny bathroom had 1,5 Square Meter..
Next day they told us we had to pay the full Price of the not useable Cave room of 400. Euro. The owner did Not Even Talk to us!

Rarely we were treated so unpolite and unfair.
This Hotel is by far overselling in every way!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaDonSerafino, Direttore at Locanda Don Serafino, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear Patricia P,

Thank you to taking a time to write a feedback of Locanda Don Serafino.

We are sorry to read an adulterate and not review of your stay. You booked a Luxury Suite with Not-Refundable rate by Booking.com, the unique room located above the Michelin starred restaurant and with check-in on request as wrote in all communication.

We tried to contact you by email and telephone with no answer to know your time arrival, because as explained on email confirmation (that you didn't read as mentioned by you), the check-in is arranged at restaurant that isn't open h24 as the hotel.

When you arrived, called us to inform of your arrival requiring already another room because 'you are feeling out of town' - please take a note that you are at 500 mt away from the main square, Piazza Duomo - and I suggested you to wait the colleague to see the special room and choose to move in hotel but you had already chosen. Room was perfect and with no smell, two different teams checked it after you're leaving in different moments.

Arrived in hotel, I welcomed you hearing your opinion and gave you the opportunity to choose among two Junior Suite and explaining that we could not refund you money but we offered a free massage of '45 minutes to avoid any stress. During our conversation, you told me to be dust allergic. It wasn't unreasonable if you book a room inside a cave with all images available on booking system.

Regarding the room, you have chosen the first without see the other one and because you're husband wanted the shower. The room chosen has two rooms, the bathroom with shower and the bath tube on the living to get different moments in the same time.

The next day, you required the refund and as explained from Guest Assistant Manager, you have already paid the room, and you never ask or require to meet the owner.

It's not true that we treated you unpolite and I was in touch with team all time to assist you but we believe that you didn't understand which kind of room have you booked.

Kindest regards

Alex Massari
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

As soon as we saw the photos of Locanda Don Serafino, we knew we wanted to stay here. It is located in Ragusa Ibla, the Old Town and is a small, personable and charming hotel.

We had no difficulty reaching the hotel. Staff sent exact directions for our drive and after a call to the front desk when we were a few minutes away, they met us and directed us to the front door. They parked our car for free, something in Sicily you learn to appreciate, and took our luggage to our room.

All staff were professional and friendly and there to help with maps, restaurant suggestions and all our needs. A lightbulb was required in one of our lamps and it was taken care of immediately.

The stairs to the room looked challenging but we managed them fine. This was the history and charm we were looking for. There is a street side door option instead but we never used it.
The bed linens were very fine and the towels large and soft. After long days walking the tub was appreciated.

Breakfast was laid out beautifully each morning with many choices of fruit, yogurt, breads, cakes, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, local jams, oils, juices. Service was friendly and proper
The hotel is a five minute walk to the Duomo and piazza where shops and restaurants are plentiful for variety.

We recommend a stay here. It really was a treat.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShelleyW857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaDonSerafino, Direttore at Locanda Don Serafino, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Shelley W,

Thank you very much to taking a time to write such a breathtaking review of your stay with us.

Me and the other 'family members' wanna say grazie mille for your special moments shared at Locanda Don Serafino, it was a pleasure meet you and we wish to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards from Ibla

Alex Massari
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Lets start with the high points of this hotel. BREAKFAST! The food for breakfast was nicely presented and full of flavors in the charming and small breakfast area. The service of the hotel is attentive.

We did not give a 5 star rating as their were small things wrong. A running toilet, challenging stairs to get up and down (but they carried our luggage for us - a real necessity), TINY shower (if you are a larger person - it will be a challenge to get in and out). However, the room was of the highest quality - sheets so soft.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stephrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaDonSerafino, Direttore at Locanda Don Serafino, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Dear stephrab,

Thank you so much to taking a time to write such a lovely review of your stay at Locanda Don Serafino.

Regarding the bathroom, we are sorry for little difficults and at check-out, as communicated we fixed it immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another lovely stay in Ragusa.

Warmest regards

Alex Massari
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

The place is very small ,located in the old city a little difficult to reach by car.If you have walking problems this is not a place for you.
The personal is very nice and helpful.
You have a very very difficult old staircase.It is very nice and authentic but in my view this is almost unacceptable for Hotel guests.
The rooms were nice,stylish and modern.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kenda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaDonSerafino, Direttore at Locanda Don Serafino, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear kenda11,
Thank you to taking a time to write a review of stay with us.

As explained on different emails before your arrival, we know that it's not easy drive in Ragusa Ibla and we provide free valet service to assist you during your stay.

About the old staircase, it's one of original part of the building and last evidence of 1693 earthquake. We know that can't be climbed for some guests, for this reason we provide the access by secondary door.

We want say thank you for staff compliments and style of rooms, we shared with all team and we are very glad.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest regards

Alex Massari
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

This small boutique hotel in Ragusa Ibla is perfectly located to enjoy this beautiful town. The rooms are very unusual with stone walls-- ours had French doors that opened to the tiny winding street-- a little noisy but definitely worth it. Delicious Italian breakfast. The town has great restaurants & a good mix of tourists & locals.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews