We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
517
334
77
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
517
334
77
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet cakes nice outdoor pool wedding party rooms are large ample selection marina di reception staff comfortable stay one night stay pastries wonderful hotel breakfast room pasta junior suite conference spa cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 969 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Our tour group stayed at this rather remote hotel during our trip of Sicily, this was our first stop after Catania. The lobby was spacious and our room clean and comfortable. We had a group pizza dinner, the pizzas were fresh, tasty and the crusts just right however the dining room was quite congested with other tour groups which made it a very noisy evening. The buffet breakfast was good. On the whole, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SBandRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Our group spent one night here, en route to Taorimina. We arrived at dusk and ready for rest and a meal. It seemed isolated and in a rustic setting, but is quite lovely upon entering. Beautiful lobby, our room was wonderful. We were in quite a large group and had our dinner in the dining room, which was an excellent meal of very fresh fish, pasta, and of course a wonderful local wine...no complaints. I was so impressed, also, with the accommodation of the non-fish eaters in our group, as well as the gluten-free. If it were warmer, I would've gone for a swim in the pool, but it was chilly in October. The gym was a good place for the hub to unwind. I wanted to enjoy the hot tub in the spa, but it just wasn't worth it to me for 20 euros--fortunately our room had a big soaking tub (not all rooms had a tub) and I went for a nice bath instead. Breakfast was a nice buffet and we were on our way. The hotel seemed very much "in the middle of nowhere", and as a tourist, I wouldn't have found it on my own. Lovely, lovely place, in my opinion.

Room Tip: ask for a tub, if that is important to you. Not all rooms have them.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Schellyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

We were here with a large Travelsphere group. Our room was very large, in fact a triple, with a huge double bed. Even the suitcase shelf was big enough for two suitcases and one of our small bags - a rarity! Everything was very clean. The bathroom was big enough for both of us to use at the same time, and a powerful shower which was easy to use. The room was quiet, in fact there was a wedding party in the courtyard one night, but we didn't hear a sound.
The pool was clean, with a nice space around it with loungers, but like all of the hotels we visited, people who used it said the water was very cold.
The only thing which let this hotel down for us was the dining room. Because of the shape of the roof the acoustics were very bad, and with a large group in there it was very noisy, and when another group turned up, it was extremely noisy! We rather pitied the people who were not traveling in a group. We were however down at the far end by the kitchens and it may not have been so bad up the other end. However the food was good, but as we had had to order the previous night, some people took calamari that they hadn't ordered so 4 people didn't get what they ordered and the restaurant had run out of calamari! They ended up eating steak at 9 pm.
The breakfast room was much quieter with a good selection of all the usual breakfast things, and lots of sweet cakes which to us was slightly odd.
The bar and table drinks were rather expensive, but this seems to be par for this type of hotel in Sicely.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so if you are staying as individuals you really do need a car.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one well away from the central courtyard, as they do cater for wedding parties.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Visited from Ireland stayed here for 4 days. Hotel is very nice though a but isolated. 1 hour 10 mins from Catania airport by car. If you're looking for a quiet, nice peaceful hotel to escape to this is perfect. Can't find much fault there. Bar staff and restaurant staff not the most pleasant people you'll ever come across. Reception staff very helpful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank docDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at Poggio and it was lovely. The rooms are large and well appointed. Bathrooms are also large with modern large shower heads. The breakfast buffet is quite something- sliced meats and cheeses, numerous pastries, cakes, cereals, yogurt, etc. There is also a nice outdoor pool and though we did not see it, a jacuzzi and whirlpool. Though the resort is 10 to 15 minutes outside of Ragusa Ibla, I would highly recommend it

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews