We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“This is paradise”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations . . . . and did so literally from the time of our arrival when we were escorted to the pool restaurant and had the best pizza we had ever tasted. The staff was exceptional, and I loved the touch of a providing a chilled bottle of prosecco in the room. . . that is the kind of detail which is not a huge expense to the hotel but which creates a huge positive feeling for the guests. And the bellinis? They were simply unbelievable, although we learned it was a special treat for the white peaches to still be growing this late in the season. And we loved the spacious bath and the yummy bath products . . . the most comprehensive and lovely collection I've ever seen in a hotel.
One thing you need to be aware of if visiting here, however, is that you cannot simply "call a cab" to go somewhere in a short time period. The manager got a little huffy when I asked a second time where our taxi was to go to Mama Agata's cooking school since the majority of the cars are doing longer transfers to other cities along the Amalfi Coast, and it takes time to organize someone to be there. So a short ride of less than five minutes to the cooking school and back was really unreasonably expensive. So be forewarned about the transportation issues since Ravello is a walking town only for the most part.
To get there I would recommend the transfer service at Amalfi-drive.com as they had the most economical rates I could find and were exactly on time for each transfer and very professional. And be sure to schedule a day at Mamma Agata's . . . that is a special experience unique to that beautiful coastline.
The Caruson is an incredibly lovely hotel that evokes a special feeling and is worth the expense. Ravello in early autumn is a great place of beauty. Bellisimo!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl4Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    71
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
122
483
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Caruso hotel is just perfect- super staff & service, lovely rooms, stunning pool and views.

We were spoiled enjoying lazy hours around the amazing infinity pool. The pool staff was incredibly friendly and tried to make every guest feel very special. Lunch at the pool was superb and the staff was equally friendly and fun. The lunch personnel also doubled up as the bar staff in the evenings. The Bellinis with the view over Ravello were the best ones we had in Italy.

We also had dinner in the hotel once. We found it good, but it was too much and too fuzzy for our taste. We prefer simple Italian dishes.

The hotel ambiance was perfect. Classic, comfortable and clean. Our room was very spacious, the marble bathroom luxurious and our private garden a joy to sit in. The gym and garden landscape was also very enjoyable.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel, you will love it!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

STRUCTURE: Although I do not like Ravello, I love the Hotel Caruso, the perfection of the property, the perfection of the landscape, the unique style of every single thing.
LOBBYING: spacious, typical of the place, cozy, decorated with frescoes, overview.
ROOMS: As a frequent guest of the Orient Express every time I come courtesy of the beautiful upgrades. The rooms are superb, every kind of comfort, fresh, clean, quiet, romantic, unique, true class rooms for a true five star luxury.
RESTAURANT: magnificent view, service too genuine for my taste to be almost unpleasant, good quality food.
SWIMMING: swimming pool with magnificent views will take your breath away.
PERSONAL: all the staff at reception were very friendly and above all professional. The staff at the booking is of an extremely friendly and every wish comes true
What I liked most: furniture, floors, bathrooms, view, breakfast, lunch by the pool
What I like least: service at the restaurant, Ravello.
OVERALL: Unique Hotel, go there without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I had to use Tripadvisor due to the exceptional experience my wife and family had at The Caruso where we held our wedding.

We intended getting married in Italy and having been to the Amalfi coast on holiday many times we decided to go to Ravello to investigate venues. At our first meeting we were greeted by the hotel staff as if they knew us for years. The General Manager of the hotel took time to sit with us and introduce himself and his staff prior to Tiziana (Event Manager) giving us a tour of the Hotel. For us he was very professional and genuinely cared about us and our plans.

When we met the Tiziana little did we know that she would become a friend as well as the event manager for our wedding. On the tour we were genuinely blown away with the setting. You really have to see it. Tiziana took control of every facet of our wedding and stay at the hotel with complete competence. To say we had to do nothing and worry about nothing would be an understatement. Even when Tiziana recommended partners for various elements of our wedding you could see that they had to be up to the high standard of the hotel.

When it came to our wedding everything went seamlessly. The welcome we and our guests received at the hotel was wonderful. We had drinks and canapés on the terrace overlooking the coast which is breathtaking. They even created a special welcome Bellini drink for us that our friends are still trying to replicate.

The dinner was simply a different class with the chef preparing a myriad of fantastic courses for our guests. Many guests who did not like pasta or fish had their own menu and their specific request delivered to each without mistake at the same time as everyone else with no mistakes. I am sure the Caruso take this as a given but it was efficient nonetheless. The standard of food was simply outstanding and we did not experience better anywhere on the Amalfi coast.

They recommended nice little extras such as rather than a wedding cake we had individual mini wedding cakes for each guests “just because the chef thought it would be nice”. We also had our reception up at the infinity pool and pizza was served to the guests late in the evening which was a nice touch.

Our room was elegant and spacious: everything you could possibly want and a fantastic view. We actually stayed in two different types of rooms and they were equally nice, hard to choose. Initially we stayed in garden rooms for privacy and they were just that with our own garden. We also stayed in the main hotel and the views are stunning, you really have to go to Ravello to experience it.

All in all we would heartedly recommend the Caruso, the staff, the service, the food the location, the pool and if you are fortunate to have your wedding or any event there Tiziana will look after you extraordinarily well!!!! We can't wait to go back!

My only criticism would be that Tiziana deserves a holiday for all of the work she did for us!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guest1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I had my honeymoon at Hotel Caruso last april, and the place is amazing. They think about almost every detail and everything is prepared to make the guests have the time of their lives! The food is amazing, the pool is a real dream! And the people that work in the hotel are really nice!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family just came back from a 8 night vacation on the Amalfi Coast, four of which were spent at the Caruso. This property is incredibly expensive, but worth every penny!
The rooms were beautiful, elegant, spacious and each has it's own patio with a wonderful view (ours was mountainside and the view was beautiful). The property itself is an 1100 year old villa that rests atop the highest point of Ravello. The views from the gardens, pool, restaurants, common areas are awe inspiring. It is the kind of view that enables one to relax completely and enjoy every breath.

The staff at the hotel is excellent, equal to the quality of the property. They are there to provide an experience that goes above and beyond.

Breakfast is served overlooking the sea and the selection was excellent. We eat at the pool restaurant everyday for lunch and it food was superb. Fresh grilled fish, deboned right in front of you, good wine list, wonderful antipasto bar and clearly the best pizza in the entire town. Try the Pizza Pescatore, it was out of this world!

The Caruso and it's staff allow one to achieve a level of relaxation that is very difficult to attain! I give this property my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aflando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I went there with my husband for a short holiday.i choose this hotel by reading the reviews from tripadvisor and all i can tell you it is that i never saw such a hotel and such a view... Just a small tip, the village room are with their garden and the view is beautifull also. We took the dinner twice in the hotel and the price was according with the quality of food , with the quality of service , with the wonderfull view....
We rent a vespa, helped by Genaro from concierge and we enjoy all the amalfi coast with this vespa...
Wonderfull place , we will return for sure....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 km away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
734 reviews
3.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
994 reviews
2.4 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
407 reviews
1.0 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
10.9 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing