We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful secluded luxury property perfect for a relaxing getaway”
Review of Borgo Paraelios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borgo Paraelios
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Rieti
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My husband and I stayed a couple of years back here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is a little eclectic in that it used to be a hunting lodge and has been extensively remodeled and added on to, so rooms are spread throughout. Our room extended to a beautiful deck overlooking the local hills. Birdsong was everywhere - truly a country feel. The room itself was lovely with leaded glass casement windows and a nice bathroom up a few stairs within the room. The staff was completely accommodating without being intrusive - one gets the impression they are used to guests who like their privacy. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was quite good - we both had game meats, which you can't necessarily get everywhere, but were delicious. During the day we ventured into the local small towns to shop and eat, but coming back to our haven here was marvelous. So quiet, so calm, so tranquil, yet only an hour os so back to Roma. We will return!

Room Tip: All we saw looked lovely and each is very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sanfrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

The hotel is something very special, the grounds, the terraces, the private rooms, and the public spaces must be experienced. The help was great and the new small restaurant was terrific. The waiters were friendly and exited about serving us. Definately for the Andrews Harper crowd. The other reviewers with negative reviews should go to some place like Disney World to avoid authentic experiences.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leasuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We adored this Borgo and will be back. Can't believe the negative emails. All I can say is dont stay here if you like glossy, cold business hotels with no character!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

Each time we return to the Borgo Paraelios (third visit), we discover some new detail about this enchanting accommodation. The service and hospitality are always sublime. An example? Our room was carefully prepared for the evening even though we went to dinner late, at 9:30 (you certainly cannot say the same for most five-star hotels). What impresses us most is the labyrinth of sitting rooms, library, billiard room, chock full of precious antiques, allowing the guest a wide choice of corners in which to relax after a round of golf, swim, or massage. We also highly enjoy the genuine country cuisine, well-presented and as refined as the general ambience of this welcoming home.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

After a very busy business trip in Florence and Milan, we chose to "wind-down" for a few days prior to returning to the States. The borgo was a perfect choice. Though it is certainly located in the 'country", if a relaxing few days is what you're after, this is a great place to do it. Room was charming, the weather was great for lounging by the pool, and the food was quite good. There are lots of activities if you so choose (golf, bocce, etc), but leaving the pool was not an option for us! I enjoyed my stay so much that I am looking forward to another visit in early Fall.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2006

What an absolute gem of a find is the Borgo Paraelios located just 40 minutes from the heart of Rome, but so remote from its hustle and bustle. My husband and I stayed there for our anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it. It is elegant in its decor and refined in its service and we were made to feel very comfortable and at home in this very luxurious setting.

The highlight for us was the outdoor swimming pool (they also have an indoor one) and its surroundings. A spectacular pool itself in a lush and peaceful setting with dressing room accommodations was where we wanted to spend all our time. The outdoor seating areas are beautiful spots for an afternoon session of reading or a before dinner drink. They also have a beautiful golf course. As it was August, we wanted to spend our time enjoying the scenery, lush gardens, and all things exterior, but the very grand yet cozy interior rooms are a very romantic setting for a getaway weekend in the fall and winter months as well.
We also very much enjoyed our private terrace where we had breakfast every morning.

The staff was bi-lingual and very professional, but very willing to answer all questions especially about day trips in the immediate area - a beautiful and lesser known part of Italy worth exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabnnif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2006

I will never stay at this or any other Relais and Chateaux hotel ever again!

Our room was infested with bugs crawling over the floor, in our luggage and flying around the room. The management promised to fix this or give us another room. They twice failed to take any action and we were forced to stay overnight (no management were available after dinner when it should have been addressed the 2nd time). We had to stay the night as this hotel is in the middle of nowehere! The next morning I showed a very apologetic manager the room and counted all the bugs in front of her (20-30 left after I had killed even more). She claimed that they were understaffed and that the room hadn't been checked after the doors were left open. The food was awful. Filet Mignon with asparagus gratinee was plain grilled filet with some boiled asparagus - no gratinee! The pasta was very poor, the courses came at the wrong time, the wine I ordered wasn't available, so they picked another and brought it to the table already opened. Even worse, the Matre'd didn't think this should be a problem - serving another wine already opened! The poolside sandwiches we had were stale and were half a sandwich with no salad and just the filling (tuna and a thick spread of mayo). And all this food was expensive and supposedly gourmet! You can get better at any little, cheap restaurant in Italy.

The owner refused to make amends and reduce our room rate (300 Euros) because of this awful experience where we were forced to stay the night in an infested hovel. The worst thing is that after writing a complaint to Relais and Chateaux, all they did was forward it to the hotel and then pass on the hotel owner's response! The hotel owner's response did not even try to address any of my complaints and just said we stayed the night, the maids were always on top of things and that everything was fine, he also praised their "5 star" food. He ignored the fact that I named his manager and that she had admitted that the bug situation and the service were unacceptable and that she had called him personally when we checked out (and he refused to credit us then)!

Relais and Chateaux did NOTHING apart for deliver our e-mail complaint and response. They offered NO recompense, not even a voucher off a future stay - and it was so obvious from the owner's letter that he wasn't addressing my complaint. Relais and Chateaux seem to have no pull with their members and enforce no standards. Now my my credit card co. are telling me that if you stay the night you have no rights... My advice is - Don't even think about staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kamall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rieti hotels
11.5 km away
Relais Villa d'Assio
Relais Villa d'Assio
#7 of 13 in Rieti
174 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#2 of 13 in Rieti
143 reviews
1.7 km away
Park Hotel Villa Potenziani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grande Albergo Quattro Stagioni
0.7 km away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#10 of 13 in Rieti
193 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 13 in Rieti
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Paraelios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Paraelios

Address: Valle Collicchia | Poggio Catino, 02040, Rieti, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rieti > Rieti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rieti
Price Range: $357 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Paraelios 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Paraelios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Paraelios Rieti
Borgo Paraelios Hotel Rieti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing