We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
188
49
19
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
49
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch barski shopmagic carpetperfect locationski hireshop next doorski holidayhalf boardevening mealrecommend this hotelclotes liftend of the dayboiled eggsfamily runboot roompastatea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 256 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

This is a really lovely family run hotel - very clean comfortable bedrooms, great food and in a terrific position opposite the Clotes ski lift. All the staff are very friendly and Caroline the owner is so welcoming and helpful. A perfect base for a ski trip to Sauze d'Oulx.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maps625964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

4th visit and I'm sure many more to come. We love this hotel and it's staff. Always welcoming and hospitable it really has a family friendly atmosphere. (Particularly at Christmas time). The location is great, right at the bottom of the ski slope and they can provide all your ski equipment from the shop next door. The bar is relaxed and warm, whilst the dining room is beautifully situated to look out on to the village.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

My first ski trip ever, arrived at Turin airport and had booked transfers through Caroline - much cheaper than anything we were being quoted for a start. Nice mercedes drove us to the hotel. We landed at 9.50 ish and were at the hotel by 11.00. Checked into our room which was helpful as check in could have been a lot later. Changed into ski gear, went next door to hire boots and skis - very quick and easy (also owned by Caroline) got a discount because we were staying in Stella Alpina.
Room was on the 2nd floor facing the main road above the kitchen/restaurant. The noise was a bit of a problem as you could hear people getting in late and walking up the stairs. The room was hot but we opened the window then you heard road noise (especially when clearing the road of snow). Not the hotels fault at all just maybe get a room that faces the back of the hotel. Our room had two bedrooms, both with two single beds - one was made into a double after the first night as the cleaner obviously saw we moved both together! second room was our wardrobe which was lovely!

Breakfast was simple with everything you needed, toast/eggs/cereal/coffee/tea/yoghurts/pastries etc

Location was perfect!! it snowed all night on our last night that the next day skiing was amazing! plus you could ski the home run right to the front of the door! Ski room at the bottom of ski rental shop was great, boot dryer and safe place to leave skis etc. Plus lots of places to eat and drink around the corner.

All staff were very helpful and friendly - wont hesitate to rebook here if we were to come again.

Thanks for all your help Caroline
Jack and Ashley.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above - not facing the front
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 984ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

The Hotel is right next to the Clotes chair lift - just a short walk up the road to the Travelator will get you on to the lift, even when the snow is receding at the end of the season.
We took the half-board option.
Caroline and her stafff are extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Straight outside the front door is the building housing the ski locker and heated boot racks so you can get going easily in the morning. This is also the ski hire shop run by the Hotel so you can also get your equipment from here too.
A minor gripe was the wifi - usage for a week is a small charge, but the username and password must be entered every day - a small annoyance.
The rooms aren't huge but they are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keywee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Booked based on the great reviews, and whilst location is great right next to the lift, the hotel is very average. 'Alpine' rooms were small and basic but ok. Bathroom was tiny and impossible to move around in shower. Breakfast was a basic buffet - no hot food (apart from boiled eggs). Dinner good quality but limited salad choice. Breakfast and salad buffets not frequently replenished. Tiled/wooden floors throughout hotel made it very noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ginge298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and am sorry that you had one of the smaller rooms (they are not all the same size), we have tried our best to make them as comfortable as possible. I'm not sure what else you wanted on the buffet as you called it basic, as it had everything that a typical continental breakfast has, we are in Italy after all, cooked breakfasts are definitely not Italian. I think 4 different choices of bread, 3 different types of cereals, 2 different types of croissant, ham ,cheese, salami, boiled eggs, fresh fruit and fruit in syrup, yoghurts, a choice of various flavours of jam, biscuits, orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. As for the salad buffet... green salad, red lettuce, beetroot, tomatoes, grated carrots, celeriac, tomatoes, sweetcorn are always the base, then we often have russian salad, rice salads, sliced hams, quiche, pizza, fried gnocchi, chicken salad, vitello tonnato, caponnata, and other vegetables to compliment it. Perhaps a four star hotel would give more choice.... we are a very reasonably priced 3 star, but I don't think that is ever taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews