We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
188
49
19
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
49
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotch bar ski shop magic carpet perfect location ski hire shop next door ski holiday half board evening meal recommend this hotel clotes lift end of the day boiled eggs family run boot room pasta tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 256 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018

This isn’t a 5 star hotel but it is undoubtedly the best 3 star Hotel I have stayed in. I fully endorse the other 5* reviews I have read, the rooms are functional and clean, the food is different every night with a choice of starter, mains etc. There are 2 things which differentiate the Hotel. the first is the location perfect for skiing and on the doorstep of the towns nightlife. The second are the family owners and staff who are welcoming, attentive, friendly and could t be faulted. Caroline leads a great team

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEy, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Many thanks for having taken time to write such a nice review, hope to see you again next year.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

Sometimes in life you hit on something that’s does exactly what you want time and time again without any hassle or stress. Well for me, that is the Hotel Stella Alpina.
Having been to Sauze many times, Caroline, Renato and their team always welcome you with a smile, genuinely want to make you feel at home and will do anything to help you get the best out of your holiday in Sauze.
Part of a holiday experience for me is to enjoy the food of the area you are staying in and Caroline tries hard to give you this experience. The breakfast is a very extensive continental buffet with wide range of options - meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, croissants etc. If you stay half board for dinner you get a fantastic salad bar to choose from followed by a choice of 2 or 3 starters and 3 or 4 second courses then you get a dessert option or fresh fruit. However, this may not be everyone’s taste and if you like to take a bit of the UK with you on holiday and have a full English for breakfast, then pie and chips for dinner, then you may want to consider other options.
After you have enjoyed the welcome at the Stella Alpina, you will soon realise how well located it is. Right at the base of Clotes ski slope with the chairlift about 100m away and there is a magic carpet to help with that bit if you want. The hotel offers ski hire on site from their shop, Eydallin Sport, the best ski shop in town which also gives you ski and boot storage in the heated ski room beneath the shop. When you have dropped your skis off at the end of the day, head for the Scotch Bar, the hotels bar which is great for apres ski. Not crazy busy, but full of excited people talking about their days skiing.
I could go on some more, but hopefully you get the idea about the Stella Alpina. If we were planning to go to Sauze and couldn’t get a room at the Stella, then we wouldn’t go, simple as that.
Chris S

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Without a doubt the best Hotel to stay at in Sauze!
The family that operate the hotel are divine! Being a family run hotel they were incredibly accommodating and personable, making our stay so much more enjoyable. They also own a great ski shop next door that has professional ski instructors giving you advice on what are the best skis to rent or buy for your level. You can virtually ski into the Hotel bar for a drink at the end of the day and leave you skis in the ski shop. I have traveled the world but continue to return to Stella Alpina for the Hospitality and amazing family that run it.
Hopefully see you again in 2019!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank craig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEy, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thanks so much, I think you should make it a yearly event to come and see us !!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

I just returned from a great week staying in the Stella Alpina, having also stayed there about 10 years ago. Without doubt the best hotel to stay.
1) It is only 20 metres to the magic carpet travelator which takes you up to the 1st ski lift.
2) You can ski back to the door of the hotel! This is the handiest hotel I have ever come across for real 'ski in - ski out'
3) The ski rental shop and ski deposit are part of the Hotel.
4) The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful
5) The rooms are comfortable and warm
6) The food is good and the Bar is also
7) Pricing is very reasonable.

I would highly recommend Stella Alpina.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed from 7th -14th January and can honestly say we couldn’t fault a thing. Caroline and her team work hard to make your stay special. Breakfast was continental but had a huge variety of choice and would suit anyone, the restaurant overlooks the clotes lift and we found it lovely to watch the morning unfolding...before we ventured out. Dinner is a three course meal, you get a choice of two meals that you order the night before. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed every meal... in fact we looked forward to dinner. The bar area is lovely too, Matteo was PROBABLY the best barman in Sauze! This was a bit of a joke we had with him.

The hotel is located at the bottom of the clotes slope and you can almost ski to the boot room so I would say it had the best location overall.

Our room was great, not massive but perfect with a refurbed ensuite, it was cleaned we think every day.

Can’t wait to return!!

Many thanks for a fabulous holiday x

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Manager at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review, very much look forward to seeing you again next year.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews