We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
188
49
19
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
49
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch barski shopmagic carpetperfect locationski hireshop next doorski holidayhalf boardevening mealrecommend this hotelclotes liftend of the dayboiled eggsfamily runboot roompastatea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 256 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

Every year for 22 years we come to Caroline, usually coiled up like springs with all the stress of work and everyday life.

We leave relaxed and recovered, this year was vintage it was a chance for the three of us to spend time together. The food was fabulous and Mattel’s surprise me cocktails and hot toddie night caps meant we had all we needed on our doorstep.

We see friends and enjoy meeting others - a highly recommended hotel and home from home
Thanks for having us - see you next year

Sally

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We have lost track of times visited and as ever the reception by Caroline in the Hotel and her husband in Eydallyn sports next door for ski hire etc was as always superb.
Hotel is always being updated with refurbishment of the rooms but without losing the ambience of the family run business.
All the staff are friendly and smiling even though work very hard.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter but you miss some views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

What a great hotel this really is!
Clean and well appointed rooms with en suit and decent showers.
Ski hire available next door (at very competitive rates) and the free ski store with heated boot rack could not be more convenient.
The food was consistently excellent with plenty to eat and a good variety of Italian fare on offer.
Hard working attentive staff make sure you are well looked after.
The chair lift is just across the road so just a few steps, hop on the magic carpet and you are on you way.
Getting back is even easier......ski down to the bottom and you are just opposite the ski store!
Caroline and her staff are always available to make sure everything is in order. The Scotch Bar is well stocked with great service.
I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank mikeday19642018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEy, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Many thanks for having taken time to write such a nice review. Very much hope you will be back again next year.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

This isn’t a 5 star hotel but it is undoubtedly the best 3 star Hotel I have stayed in. I fully endorse the other 5* reviews I have read, the rooms are functional and clean, the food is different every night with a choice of starter, mains etc. There are 2 things which differentiate the Hotel. the first is the location perfect for skiing and on the doorstep of the towns nightlife. The second are the family owners and staff who are welcoming, attentive, friendly and could t be faulted. Caroline leads a great team

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEy, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Many thanks for having taken time to write such a nice review, hope to see you again next year.
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

Sometimes in life you hit on something that’s does exactly what you want time and time again without any hassle or stress. Well for me, that is the Hotel Stella Alpina.
Having been to Sauze many times, Caroline, Renato and their team always welcome you with a smile, genuinely want to make you feel at home and will do anything to help you get the best out of your holiday in Sauze.
Part of a holiday experience for me is to enjoy the food of the area you are staying in and Caroline tries hard to give you this experience. The breakfast is a very extensive continental buffet with wide range of options - meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, croissants etc. If you stay half board for dinner you get a fantastic salad bar to choose from followed by a choice of 2 or 3 starters and 3 or 4 second courses then you get a dessert option or fresh fruit. However, this may not be everyone’s taste and if you like to take a bit of the UK with you on holiday and have a full English for breakfast, then pie and chips for dinner, then you may want to consider other options.
After you have enjoyed the welcome at the Stella Alpina, you will soon realise how well located it is. Right at the base of Clotes ski slope with the chairlift about 100m away and there is a magic carpet to help with that bit if you want. The hotel offers ski hire on site from their shop, Eydallin Sport, the best ski shop in town which also gives you ski and boot storage in the heated ski room beneath the shop. When you have dropped your skis off at the end of the day, head for the Scotch Bar, the hotels bar which is great for apres ski. Not crazy busy, but full of excited people talking about their days skiing.
I could go on some more, but hopefully you get the idea about the Stella Alpina. If we were planning to go to Sauze and couldn’t get a room at the Stella, then we wouldn’t go, simple as that.
Chris S

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews