We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
127
96
41
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
96
41
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reception staff jacuzzi bath cannot recommend this hotel highly enough ski room snowboarding holiday hard days skiing ski boots half board great holiday a bit hit and miss evening meal meal times up hill clotes lift spa barman slopes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 293 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is not 4 star and the rating is misleading for anybody planning a holiday based on this and the description/photos.

Standard twin rooms are small and bathrooms basic and in need of refurb.

Ski room is poor and not safe for expensive equipment - basically an annex of the garage with a useless low powered domestic heater in one corner.

Spa - cold and uninviting with very dated equipment and some rooms not fit for purpose

Hotel location is good and close to the village which is idyllic.

Staff were helpful and did their best but the fact that the hotel only opens a few months a year makes you wonder how effective the team can be

Evening meal quality was generally good but breakfast a bit hit and miss with food cold. We spent most meal times asking for things ,replenishing food etc

Hotel has great potential but I guess with income limited to a few months unlikely to change

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

Our party of 10 arrived early on one of the busiest weekends to be informed that our rooms would not be available until at least 3pm. Three of the rooms weren't still ready until nearly 4pm which was a bit much after travelling from 2am that morning. The manager in the restaurant was very cold and unwelcoming, a smile would not hurt especially as we were a big party. It continued throughout the week. The dinner time food choices was a strange combination with some being very tasty but others being bland. There was a good selection of choices for breakfast. I only used the spa once but I know my friends made the most of this and benefited from it, especially as they didn't ski much. The evening entertainment was interesting; the singer. This was ok for a couple of nights, but not all the time, not the best I'm afraid. The hotel has a lovely entrance and bar area to sit in near the fire, especially if there is a big party. The rooms are no different to all the others we have stopped in in the resort really. These are definitely not 4 star though. The cleaners need an attention to detail and there was dust and dirt in lots of places in our room. The beds were comfortable though. When we asked for more pillows these were placed in our room. Overall another hotel we have tried in Sauze which accommodated our large party's needs. They do have a mini bus to the slopes, but we did not use as we left our skis and the bottom of the Clotes lift, so walked.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Spent a week at Besson,
Rating the hotel as four star is a stress or wishful thinking. Hotel rooms are ok, but sound isolation is absent and the elevator the noisiest ever heard. Do not accept a room next to the elevator!
Front side room have a view, room on the back .......not.
The ski room is Stone Age, no dryer for you ski boots, only an old fashion heater along one side. Bring your boots to the room if you like them to be try in the morning.
Shuttle service to the lifts are a must with this location, but it works perfect and the driver is extremely service minded.
It's 5 min walking to the village center along small narrow roads, worth the walk.
We ate dinner at the hotel and food is good Italian standard. Resturang staff is great, service minded and helpful.
Hotel have a SPA but we did not use these facilities, but they are in direct connection with the hotel.
In connection to the reception you have a bar and lounge area, during our stay a musician entertained the small audience with overwhelming enthusiasm.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Soneswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed last week in a party of 10 and yes some of the bedrooms are a bit on the tight side but nothing to worry about as ours had a little balcony!

The food was great with a full buffet breakfast including bacon & scrambled eggs. Dinner was also good with a choice of 3 starters, main courses and sweets.

If you are going I recommend you try the spa, Ludovecia runs it and is great, there's nothing better a swim, sauna after a hard days skiing and if you really want to spoil yourself book in for a whole body massage with Valeria, at £40 (10% discount for hotels guests) you can't fault it. I had 2!!

Once again the skiing was fantastic and the resort is very welcoming and I would recommend it and the hotel to anyone.

Room tip: Best views are at the front 2nd floor with french doors looking out over the mountains.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Granthamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights as we always have a weekend skiing with mates every year. The hotel was generally good and not s bad position for accessing the lifts. Just about a 5 minute walk ( up hill on the way up)

The rooms are small but more than adequate for a ski trip like that. A couple of negative things that the hotel need to look at the beds are rick hard to the degree you would get bed sores if you laid in one place. The breakfasts as a bit disappointing as there was no hot offer until we asked. They said you could have fried or boiled eggs with bacon if you wanted scrambled eggs they would cost 5 euros which we could not understand. The restaurant manager was very aggressive if you asked for anything. An example was on the first day there was no bread or croissant left at 8.30 so had to ask which I got a strange reaction back from him. He said ‘really’

The hotel had a spa but was not open all the time so on the Monday it only opened from 2pm and then was charged 20 euros each to enter which I thought was a lot considering we where residents

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful (apart from the restaurant manager)

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews