We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
35
21
1
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
21
1
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Arriving at the hotel is impressive. It is just such a wonderful looking place. Our superior room had a sitting area and a bedroom with an attached shower/bath/wc. We stayed for two nights and unfortunately the initial positive impression was just slowly eroded away until departure when we left somewhat disappointed.

It began with the room - we were in the area for motorsport at the nearby Varano race track so we had a lot of gear. Unfortunately, in the superior room there were only two tiny drawers in which to put stuff and very limited space for hanging things up. Ok, no worries, we just draped things over the couch. Our group had a dinner in the ground floor restaurant and it was not that great unfortunately - for example the vegetable accompaniment was just dried out. On returning to the room it became obvious that the (very needed) air-conditioning was working in the sitting room area but not in the sleeping area. Unfortunately, the selection of beverages in the mini-bar didn't include more than two small bottles of water so no help in dealing with the heat.

In the morning, breakfast was unimaginative with no local specialties at all (like Parma ham for example), just the same sort of stuff you would expect to get anywhere else -nothing that set this place apart as a five star hotel in a great culinary part of Italy. There is a coffee culture in Italy, but not in the breakfast room where it was not possible to order a "real" espresso or cappuccino and one had to make do with two automated coffee machines with powdered milk dispensers, one of which did not work at all.

Our group of 9 also had dinner in the hotel on the second night. This time in a cellar restaurant which had great ambience. Unfortunately, they split us into two smaller groups in adjacent caves and it was not easy to rearrange the seating to get us into one, larger, dining area. The heat in the cellar was oppressive and uncomfortable and it was not possible to ventilate the room. Although the dinner in this place was superb and much better than the first night, we had the annoying accompaniment of a shrill alarm tone from an adjacent technical/network room that the waiter just could not shut off. It must be said, however, that the food and wine were excellent.

After dinner, we when asking how to get to the terrace outside, we were given imprecise directions that led us to wandering around on the first floor before realising we had gone up the wrong access staircase - the staff saw us heading in the wrong direction but never said anything. We finally found the terrace - and - incredibly it had a wading/soaking pool which was just what was needed to cool off in the mid-thirties evening temperatures. Unfortunately, the pool area was only open from 9.00am until 6.00pm - also nobody ever thought to inform us that there was such a relax area. The terrace is wonderful and a very nice place to sit, but without service after 18.00h. Not only that, but there wasn't even a little brochure in the room outlining the facilities available in the hotel.

Our room was facing the piazza and despite this was very quiet, but the windows had to be kept closed to keep it so. Given that the air-conditioning didn't really work this was somewhat unhelpful as it would have been better to open the windows to get some cool air at night.

In conclusion, this is a beautiful well-situated place. The hotel is clean and superbly renovated to a very high standard. Unfortunately, it just seems to fall short of really deserving the five stars it displays. There was no single big problem, just a collection of small things that simply don't add up to a five star experience.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the piazza, but even so the room was quiet with windows closed.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca C, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Salsomaggiore, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Mister Doug D,

if you had told us that you had problems with the size of the room or with supports for the beams, the staff would have been happy to find a solution more suited to your expectations.
To avoid energy waste, the air conditioning is switched off when the window is open so you can decide whether to have air conditioning or air from outside and in case there are problems with the temperature you just have to inform the reception, with staff h24, to solve the problem.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our cellars and the excellent food and wine offered during dinner, but unfortunately the organization of the seats was decided by the girls of the organization staff and not by us.

All breakfast desserts are prepared in our patisserie every day and espresso or cappuccino can be requested from the staff.

The timetable and directions for the solarium are displayed all along the way from the reception desk and are called at the time of check-in. It is open from 9 to 18:30 so after dinner it was normal not to find open umbrellas or bar service.

We are sorry that you did not mention all these things during your stay to be able to solve them and make a five-star experience.
We hope you will want to be our guest again to re-evaluate the services.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a work course not knowing anything about it and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations not so long ago which has resulted in a tasteful blend of traditional and new modern elements.
The room was very clean, air conditioning worked well and all amenities available for tea/coffee and the bathroom. Breakfast in one of the restaurants was also very good with a wide selection of choices while we also dined in the underground cellar restaurant which was very good. There was a day spa using the areas well known hot springs but I didn’t have time to test it unfortunately.
A really pleasant hotel in a beautiful town.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank ACSARfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca C, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Salsomaggiore, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Guest,

many thanks for review, we are sure to see you here in Salsomaggiore soon!


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We stayed here as it was halfway between Milan and Pisa and were not disappointed. The room was very grand (we had the entry level room) Bath and separate shower, huge bed, huge double window with shutters, really couldn't fault the room at all.

The hotel itself looks amazing and I'm sure judging by all the people milling about that its popular for conferences which some people may not like.

Breakfast was ok, pretty standard really but with hot and cold buffet available.

We didn't see what there the town of Terme had to offer as were just passing through but if we ever did venture back this way, we would stay here again.

A great value 5*.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrld_Trave11er_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca C, Assistant manager at Grand Hotel Salsomaggiore, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear mister Wrld_Trave11er_1984,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that you want to return in the future to appreciate it better.

In our hotel there are no conferences, but we offer meeting room facilities that are not close to the rooms and do not disturb our guests during the rest.

We do our best to offer better services and we are sure that the next stay you will find a better breakfast.


We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews