We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
333
103
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
103
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting the owner franz aperitivo personnel menus products german dolomites
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 452 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Second time at this property and was once more very happy with the choice. The hospitality remains excellent. Helpful and cheerful staff, nicely decorated facilities, excellent breakfast and restaurant. Clean and spacious rooms. The hotel offers certain activities for guests (wine tasting, aperitivo, Glühwein evening etc) which add to the charm. All under the supervision and with the distinct touch of the delightful owner.

An added value is the key location of San Candido which allows the exploration of the surrounding area. If you don't have or don't want to use your car, there's an extensive network of public transport, use of which is included in your stay.

Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOrsoGrigio, Proprietario at Boutique & Gourmet Hotel Orso Grigio, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear guest! Thank You so much for the wonderful words! Hope to see You soon!
Franz Ladinser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

San Candido is off the beaten track - frequented predominantly by Italians. It is worth the detour, as (in addition to its stunning setting) it combines the best of Northern European organisation with Italian charm and food. This hotel has been in Franz' (the friendly proprietor) for many generations. It combines beautifully the characteristics of an ancient inn (cloisters in the reception and an antique wine cellars - with weekly tastings), with modern comforts. It is unusual for us to opt for full board, as we like to dine out regularly. However, we did not regret the decision; throughout each day we were looking forward to the nightly feast - it being of the highest quality and innovation (often with local produce). But the most pronounced highlight was the generous and warm hospitality offered by Franz and his caring staff. The feeling was one of being welcomed into a dear friend's home - and being taken care of like an honoured guest. His weekly hike into the stunning scenery of the dolomites was wonderful, as were his recommendations of wine and day trips. Thank you Franz, we will certainly be back, even if it is a long way from Hong Kong.

Room Tip: view of mountain
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattchabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOrsoGrigio, Proprietario at Boutique & Gourmet Hotel Orso Grigio, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Matthew thank You so much for Your wonderful writings. It was a big pleasure for me meet You and Maria. Some times Hongkong can seem very closed...! Best regards and hope see You soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at that hotel 10 years ago. It was great. We explored the Dolomite from here. The location is fantastic in the center of old Innocent. The food is great too. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights. We should have stayed longer. I am sure we will be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Proprietario at Boutique & Gourmet Hotel Orso Grigio, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thank You so much for Your evaluation. Hope to see You soon!
Franz Ladinser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Plus:
Courtesy and professionality of Mr. Franz the owner (very nice the wine tasting experience in Mr. Franz's cellar), and of the entire staff
Excellent cooking
Spaciousness and brightness of the room
Services: wi-fi, sauna and solarium
Minus: impossible to find!!
Not cheap, but it's worth the value. Suggested.

Room Tip: Hotel di fascia medio-alta. Al terzo piano è possibile avere un'eccellente vista sul gruppo dei Baranci.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianlu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOrsoGrigio, Inhaber at Boutique & Gourmet Hotel Orso Grigio, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Dear guest, I am so sorry about the delate answer on Your fantastic compliments. Thank You very much! Franz Ladinser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Just a quick note of thanks to the amazing staff at Orso Grigio. Everyone was so, so friendly and we appreciated the hospitality while in San Candido. My boyfriend and i were hiking the Dolomites for a few days and used San Candido as a base.

We loved our experience there and again were thankful everyone was so kind and helpful. From sitting in the outside area for drinks to the terrace to the lobby and rooms... the hotel was impeccable.

We would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you again!

(If we had any negatives it would be this: the bed and the pillows were not the highlight... generally very uncomfortable.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are probably quieter due to the festive square. You can't miss the church bells at 7 AM daily!!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sus1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz L, Proprietario at Boutique & Gourmet Hotel Orso Grigio, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear guest! I am so happy about Your comment even a bit sorry about pillows and the bed. Next time tell us during Your stay and we can change. Hope to see You soon!
Franz Ladinser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews