We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodations”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you're looking for luxurious accommodations near the casino and other Sanremo attractions, then this is the spot. If you're looking for something with a lot of family activities, traveling on a budget, or want to experience local culture, then this may not be the optimal location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    196
    52
    17
    21
See reviews for
183
395
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Overall I think the last dozen reviews offer a pretty fair representation of this hotel. We stayed for 12 nights as part of a long holiday through France and Italy.

Others have covered many aspects so I will stick mainly to the "kids" angle. First off - its far from cheap. Kids are charged from 4 years at 50% and if you eat in the hotel then you'd better suspend any normal judgement of what food costs because even the basics are astronomical. Bizarrely though, this is part of the charm of the place - the service is so good, so old world and so sincere that you don't really care. As always, it really helps that (cliche alert) the Italians really do love having kids around and by treating them as important guests the kids have an even more special time of it.

Rooms are well sized and decently equipped. Wifi is scandalously priced so best avoided but there is a decent 3G signal in the area so you will have some options.

Beds are "mature" but good quality and very comfortable. Air-con is very effective and not too noisy. Room service we had no complaint about other than a well loved soft toy disappearing (in the daily linen change we think) and never being found despite several days of searching and reception pestering.

I read below someone saying that breakfast was insubstantial. This man must eat whales in the morning because I have travelled the world on business and for pleasure and I can confidently say this was the widest spread of cereals, baked items and fruit that I have seen. The savoury side is more limited - but not unduly so. Again, service is impecable.

Other guests - San Remo has a strong link to Russia and I'd say 40% of the guests were Russian when we were there. Italians (mature) also much in evidence with French and a few Brits and Americans making up most of the rest. Age profile tends towards middle age and elderly but a smattering of kids all the time we were there. However this is definitely not a standard "kids by the med" type resort or beach hotel.

Finally - the pool. Excellent. Unique. Not a standard kids pool at all but my guys (4,6,8 year old boys) all loved it. Paddling + Kids shallow pool + classic 50's style main pool hitting 3m deep next to diving boards. Pool service is great (drinks and snacks lovely and on demand but steeply priced of course) As mentioned below, small beach club across the road gives free entry+towels + recliners for Royal Hotel guests. Beach is manmade and behind a breakwater which makes it a little disappointing for the adults but very safe and usable for the kids.

All in all, I really think fondly of our time at this hotel and the kids regard it as being a holiday on a par with Disney Florida - which I find bizarre but am delighted about.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a premium as you would expect - but they are worth it. Patio doors do not have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Royal Hotel knows how to make every guest feel pampered, relaxed and special!
Pool: The sea water pool was very nice. It was the first and only time I have actually been seated at the pool depending on how much sun/shade was desired. Towels were brought to each guest.
Room: This was one very luxurious room -marble bathroom with every amenity you could ask for! The room was nicely sized and very comfortable.
This place is first class!
If there was anything that could be improved upon, it would be to not charge a fee just to watch the television. The fees for internet were a bit steep too -it was 7 euros for 2 hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knightrider2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Fantastic position on the Italian Riviera, middle of Sanremo front to sea and near to the casino. Very old hotel still in the hand of the same family since many generations, a touch of charme "belle epoque" for your holidays in the sign of pure luxus! A little expensive but every cent is well spent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxdeldollaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My Leading Member privilege’s it was honored.
We receive a room upgrade, free breakfast and internet, wine and a bottle of good virgin oil (gift)
The front desk was very good; the check-in was fast and friendly. The concierge show us our room! Really good service!
We stay in a Jr Suite with a ocean view, we had 2 bathrooms, and the toilette amenity was very good.
The turndowns night and day service is not good, one day we needed to ask 3 times to our room to be cleaned. This cannot happen!
The buffet breakfast it’s perfect, a lot of choice of bread, jam, juice, coffees, cappuccino, teas, yogurt, salmon, ham, cereal, pastries, eggs etc...
The restaurant staff at lunch and dinner was really perfect, the food was amazing.
The swimming pools had salt water and are heated, and the staff was perfect!
Good choice for stay in Italian Riviera.
Internet in our room was very bad, but in the lobby was good.

Room Tip: room with a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stunning!!! Wonderful location, very beautiful hotel. We spent three wonderful days here as the findal destination of our Grand Italia tour. The room was spacious and full of light. Service was impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiebondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

yes its more money than anywhere else but it is worth it...we got a good deal at euro 340 for a double room with spar in september 2011.its worth asking for a deal.

Room Tip: all good rooms sea view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.5 km away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
324 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#10 of 45 in Sanremo
132 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#12 of 45 in Sanremo
321 reviews
1.1 km away
Residence dei Due Porti
Residence dei Due Porti
#1 of 45 in Sanremo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Sanremo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Sanremo

Property: Royal Hotel Sanremo
Address: Corso Imperatrice 80, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanremo
#1 Casino Hotel in Sanremo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#5 Family Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hotel Sanremo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Sanremo is an exclusive property rich in history and tradition, just the ideal choice for guests seeking intimacy, relaxation and luxury. Uniquely located on the charming Italian Riviera of Flowers, it is set in its lush subtropical park, close to the seaside and to the centre of town with its Casino and shopping area.The hotel boasts 126 beautifully and individually decorated rooms and suites, spacious public areas and a heated outdoor sea-water swimming-pool with children's section. Dining options include Restaurant Fiori di Murano with beautiful views, Salad Bar delle Rose for a light lunch, Pool Restaurant and Bar Corallina, with pizzeria and grill in the summer, as well as gourmet Restaurant Il Giardino on the terrace for alfresco candlelit dining in the intimacy of the park. All these restaurants serve top-rated cuisine with a choice of exquisite regional, Mediterranean and international dishes.The Royal Wellness features signature treatments and a "no prescription" wet zone with hydromassage pool, emotional showers, hammam, Vitarium, relaxation area, herbal tea and juice corner. A most welcoming, luxurious and stylish oasis, just perfect to indulge mind and body, to pamper yourself in a refined and cosy atmosphere/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Sanremo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Remo
San Remo Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing