We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING EDWARDIAN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Reviewed 20 October 2017

This is a very pleasant hotel that has been preserved with its art deco style décor whilst equipped with Wi-Fi, televisions etc in an unobtrusive way. Service is outstanding and efficient. Excellent selection of the finest Piemontese wines. Rooms large, many with a sea view. Beds not so good, passable. Breakfast good but not outstanding. Location outstanding. Considering the deals on offer here I should perhaps award 5 stars but have knocked one off for the bed - pity they didn't buy those mattresses Accor use.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Is this a 4 star hotel?
1 or 2 star in my opinion.
The breakfast was horrible and I have never in my life seen a room with such low standard.
If you pay extra you can get a room with ocean view which is a must have since the other roms are horrible.

Never again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Johannes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

The staff are friendly, the location great for walking into San Remo and there was plenty of free parking. The whole hotel feels a bit tired inside and could do with a refurbishment to be honest. The breakfast was average. I won't be rushing back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank watsonkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend 1 night at this hotel but wish we could have stayed longer. As mentioned in previous reviews the staff, especially in reception are incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were given a room with a balcony and a stunning sea view.
Ok, yes, the ensuite could have done with a bit of tlc (otherwise I would have given 5 stars) but I can forgive that as the staff, the position, the sea views and the ambiance of this hotel far outweigh any negatives. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Charming old hotel, pleasant comfortable room with a great view, lovely efficient and helpful staff, fabulous dinner. The decor is eclectic and interesting. The only criticism would be that the sausages at breakfast were terrible in that they were full of gristle. Oh, and the dining room was a little warm during a scorching hot summer. Other than that, I really couldn't fault it. If I am ever again in Sanremo I would happily stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We came on a cycling holiday. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful especially Mariam. This hotel is what every hotel should aspire to be grand, friendly, accommodating, fun and most of all Italian style - will be coming back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelDesAnglais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Guest, thank you very much about your kindly opinion, we hope it will be help full for other guest wont to spend a good time in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you next time!! Best regards from Des Anglais Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Hotel is conveniently located close to the sea front. We arrived at 11pm on a Monday night travelling from Nice. The hotel is quite imposing as you drive up a small, winding hill towards the entrance. We got parking in the hotel car park, which was fortunate. The facade is beautifully lit up and straight away it felt like travelling back in time - even for our 2 teenagers. The interior is spacious and old-worldly and while this hotel doesn't pretend to be one of the big standard hotel chain-types, it has loads of character and everything worked really well, including an excellent continental breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend and we plan to return soon

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#10 of 43 in Sanremo
355 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Europa - San Remo
Hotel Europa - San Remo
#29 of 43 in Sanremo
131 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 43 in Sanremo
899 reviews
1.5 km away
Alexander
Alexander
#9 of 43 in Sanremo
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Address: Salita Grande Albergo 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range: $93 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 50 meters from the beach, a few steps from the Casino and from the Theatre Ariston of Sanremo, the hotel for all guests free wifi connection and parking area.The buffet breakfast at Grand Hotel & Des Anglais includes salted and sweet meals while for those leaving earlier, coffee, juice and brioches are always ready at our American Bar.You can have dinner in the hotel in one of our elegant liberty-styled restaurant rooms with a selected daily menu tastefully proposed by our chef.The hotel is near the main bus stop, 2,5km from the train station of Sanremo and 45km from the airport of Nice. On request we can provide car transfer reservation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing