We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in August 2011 for our honeymoon. This hotel is FANTASTIC! We had a corner room (I believe "classic seaview") on the fourth floor, with a view of the water/beach/lounge area out one window, with fabulous boats and sunsets, and a view of the pool/side street out of the other window. The side street made for great people and moto watching. Huge windows open entirely for great breezes! We let them know it was our honeymoon, and they had complimentary prosecco on ice waiting for us. The hotel has the classic feel you'd expect from looking at the pictures on the website. It's old world feeling, yet updated and modernized. The grounds are kept spectacularly, and there are plenty of places among the shade of the lemon trees to pull up a comfortable seat and relax with your drink.

Staff is wonderful (including front desk and bartenders who had us laughing each evening we spent by the pool), towels aplenty at the pool (if out, just ask and more are quickly provided), clean and gorgeous pool, convenient "internet room" downstairs, beautiful lobby. We rented a moto through the hotel and were able to park it for free in the little parking lot out back. They also provided maps and directed us to downtown Sorrento. We met lovely travelers at the hotel bar who gave us great advice on our Amalfi coast drive, markets, Sorrento.

The hotel is located near Sorrento, but not in the city center. There's a free shuttle to Sorrento we took once, it was convenient. Sant'Agnello is a cute little town with many restaurants right up the street from the hotel - don't take off to Sorrento for every meal, check out some of the places right near the hotel, as well.

Hotel food was wonderful - real, Italian meals; not watered down for American tastes as many hotels can be. Vesuvius Restaurant views are unparalleled, although we only ate there for the half board breakfast. Breakfast food was a good assortment of eggs, cold cuts, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, coffee, tea, superb juices - eggs were watery everyday, though.

The shower in our room was painfully small. We'd definitely return, but request the superior seaview room instead so we have a jetted bath. Rooms were cleaned beautifully everyday and cleaning staff is friendly and accommodating.

We were so excited for the elevator to the beach! We never actually went down to the beach! We were too busy exploring Sant'Agnello, Sorrento, and the rest of Campagnia and relaxing in the room in between trips. The beach is a small Italian beach, typical for the area.

If booking here, plan to book ground transport before you arrive. DO NOT rely on the circumvesuviana train as the hotel semi-recommends (they state they're near the station). As another reviewer said, it's a 20 minute difficult walk among cobblestones and narrow sidewalks from the train station to the hotel. Finding the train at the estacion napoli is difficult as well. Might be easier for a European or someone used to the Italian train system. We found a bus from the center of sant'agnello to return us to the Napoli airport for our departure flight, hotel staff has the information and got us a cab to the bus station - much easier than the train!

All in all, the staff is accomodating, facilities are gorgeous, and we'd definitely return!

Room Tip: It's worth it to book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Director of Sales at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Valued guest,

we wish to thank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for your wonderful review on tripadvisor. You catched the real spirti of Hotel Mediterraneo and that is the best prize for us!

We also would like to inform you that 2012 rates are of course alredy on line and NOW more convenient than closer to season. We have early booking promotion and holiday packages. Check our promotion page on our new website; link is just below hotel name in this page.

we look forward to welcome you soon
best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    281
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
258
658
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed two nights in October 2011. We were upgraded to a sea view room and it was fantastic! Staff was very helpful - they booked us a trip to Pompeii. Breakfast was very good. Only thing wrong was the weather ( rainy one day) and that was out of their control! Room was very large. Pool looked inviting!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is stunning. The hotel itself and the grounds are immaculate. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was lovely.
We emailed ahead to let the hotel know it was our honeymoon and we received a lovely bottle of complimentary bubbly. The view over the bay of Naples from our room was gorgeous. I watched the sunset every night! Had a lovely relaxing break and would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstyFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Director of Sales at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear friend, we wish to thank you for your wonderful review. Our guests satisfaction makes us proud! We are happy you enjoyed your honeymoon in Sorrento. Our place is ideal to celebrate special days and to experience romance in Italy. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please note that only on our website you will find promotions, delas and best available web rates. To stay updated with promotions and get additional reserved discount follow us on facebook. As repeater guest you will always have a special treatment

best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My sister, my husband and I stayed at this hotel on our trip to Italy. What a find, free shuttle into downtown Sorrento, free parking, really nice rooms and views and most important for us an extremely friendly staff. This hotel looks just like it’s pictures only better. If you are looking for a great hotel in Sorrento, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Director of Sales at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for your review! We are happy you had a great time with us. If you are thinking about coming back in Sorrento (torna a Suriento!) please note that you will have access to our preferential rates for repeaters. Send us an email or use promocode "repeaters" on our booking on line system.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had a wonderful holiday and everything about the holiday was perfect. The Hotel is in a beatiful location, the staff were both helpful and pleasant, the restaurant was great and we enjoyed all the food we had. We enjoyed two lovely evenings around the pool with superb food and wine and live music. We had wonderful views from our bed! And the sunsets were breathtaking! We enjoyed the company of our fellow guests. We would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We reckon we had the best room in the Hotel and we are not telling anyone. But we did have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

It is my mistake to book this hotel and the hotel mistake to assign me room #108. I booked a seaview room for 3 nights over 4 months ahead, expecting to be assigned a nice room. Instead, we were given the worst room in the hotel. The room is a corner unit at the first floor, the street in front of the hotel turns at that corner. Italian car are exceptionaly noisy, particularly the fiat. To make thing worst, there is a manhole cover that makes extra noise every time a car runs on it. We tried closing all the windows but it won't help much. And the room is getting hot. They said Italian law does not allow turning the AC on in this season. The wall is also thin and the next door noisy is also getting through, sometime untile 3:00 midnight. I don't see the hotel has a lot of customers at this season and don't understand why they always give you a poor room unless you ask for something better. My mistake is not to ask at the first day. Once we settled in the room, it is too much headache to change. Overall the room is small, thought clean. Good is the shuttle and breakfast. Seaview is not that great, anyway, may be because of the low level. One side is totally blocked.
Will never come back.

Room Tip: May be a garden view room is better. Anything close to the street is a disaster. No #108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WWWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for choosing Hotel Mediterraneo and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We care about our guests feedback.
Room 108 is a classic seaview and balcony room which is not our best category (we have superior rooms and terrace rooms after that) but a good one. It is a corner room with one window and one balcony. We have its picture on our website as classic sea view room so it is easy to understand what are you booking for. Most of our guests love it while you didn'tlike it. Well that' life. But if you just asked to us to be moved we could assign you a room on a upper floor. Some people prefer low floor with balcony and some people prefer upper floor (no balconies). There is not " too much headache" in moving in my opinion as we offer plenty of assistance in packing and moving.

Anyway we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay; next time we will be pleased to offer you our best room if you just ask for it.

We apologize but in November we are not allowed (to help environment) to turn on air conditioning. Outside is 15°-20° C average during the day (colder at night) and lot of people ask for heating.

best regards
Pietro Monti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first time in September for two nights and loved our whole experience at the Meditteraneo. Room was beautiful and very clean with lovely view from the second floor overlooking the courtyard/pool area. Breakfast was very good and views from outdoor seating in the breakfast room were beautiful. Though we didn't have lunch or dinner here, we thoroughly enjoyed the happy hour on both evenings. Bar staff were very friendly and fun! Desk staff were also quite friendly and helpful. Overall great experience and would revisit in future and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 km away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.5 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#5 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#17 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing