We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Holiday”
Review of Hotel Alpino Plan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpino Plan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel was clean we found it cold so wore jumpers even in dining room. Food adequate but basic.

Have to walk down in morning to wait for a bus to take you to town for the slopes. This wouldnt have been so bad had the buses had a schedule but sometimes it would be an hour to get bus back to hotel.

Lovely mountain scenery when ski-ing but the areas are disjointed so you have to hike with skis and boots between them. Crowded coming back across the mountain from about 3.30 onwards on the lifts. Wouldnt use hotel or ski here again.

Went to Siestriere last year much better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggsFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

It's a bit of a trime travel to the 70's but this hotel is good value for (not a lot of) money. Although next time I would go to another village closer to the slopes. There are ski buses but they don't go as much as you would expect.

Oh yes and when you do the saturday to saturday ski week, watch out for wednesday. Then they go wild!! you will get clean bedlinnen, napkins and table cloths!! and hold your breath when the lights go out in the dining room.... don't forget to bring your camera.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees-Ate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

There is hardly a bad thing I can say about this hotel. The service was absolutely first class in every respect. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

The food was absolutely superb every night and was ready for us when we arrived late on Saturday night, and breakfast was made especially early for us (5.15am) on our last day in time for the coach pick-up.

The hotel is a little way out of the main part of the village, but the bus is frequent and it is a very nice walk. It is 5 minutes walk max in the morning to get to a connecting ski-slope and if you know exactly where to get off, you can literally ski back to opposite the hotel entrance.

Not connected to the hotel, I would add that in my opinion the Sella Ronda circuit is over-rated and over-populated.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyberdyne_T-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I visited with 3 friends; all retired, on a holiday to look at the Alpine plants in the area. The Alpino Plan is ideally suited for this.
The Hotel is run by a family of two brothers and two sisters with 'Dad' overseeing in the evenings after his walk up in the mountains during the day.
The family and staff were so helpful right from the start. They organised a car hire for us (which the Thompson rep failed to even try!) and throughout our 2 week stay were more than helpful and friendly. The rooms were cleaned thorougly every day; the beds so comfortable. The comunal areas were comfortable and beautifuly decorated with pictures and ornamentation typical of the area. Breakfast was as expected but with a vast variety of fruits and cereals and breads etc to eat. The evening meal was of 4 courses with choices and salad with the Thurday evening as the banquet night. The food was delicious - especially the pasta dishes. The staff were more than able and willing to cater for specialist dietry needs.
My less than perfect score for the location is that the Hotel is on the main road to the mountains and there are an amazing number of motobikes roaring up the road as well as busses and lorries changing gear for the hill climb - closing the balcony door did cut out the noise to a vast extent but not completely.
I do need to point out that if you are on a Thonpson holiday the 'welcome' meeting is held down in the centre of town some mile or so away. On my trip the Rep was unable to provide any way for me to attend as I had a disability (I will be taking this up with Thompsons) and he did not know how to organise the car hire; to be honest he didn't seem to care about either issues.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryJones09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Just got back from the Alpino Plan. It was a package holiday booked through Thomson Ski. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are cleaned daily but the decor and furniture are very 70's. The lights in the room were quite dull and could definately have done with being brighter (bloody low energy bulbs!). The food on the whole was quite good. The evening meal was 5 course but as a previous review stated it did mostly peak at the pasta course. On the first night we had steak for main course which was lovely but a few nights later the 'Italian sausages wrapped in bacon' were just long rubbery hot dog sausages. The breakfasts were ok but got a bit repetitive, same five cereal choice and same three types of bread. You could ask for eggs, boiled or scrambled. One thing that was a bit strange was the table cloths only got changed twice in one week and you would see the staff brushing off the tablecloths in the evening ready for breakfast time, also you would be given the same napkin for breakfast and evening meal for at least two days. The hotel has a nice bar and friendly helpful staff. There is a boot and ski room but watch out for people leaving their slippers or flip flops on the boot hangers to reserve them, a couple of times I had to take my boots up to the room as there was no where to put them. We hired a car at Verona Airport and made our own way to the resort, we were glad of the car to travel to the ski areas as the buses get very crowded and it was quite a long walk to the bus stop. A word of warning regarding the Thomson Rep - when we arrived at the hotel at 9pm Saturday night he was waiting for us to try and sell us a ski pass for 220 euros per person, he did say it was the same price in town. This ski pass covers a massive area which unless you are a real die hard skier you won't need it. We went into town and purchased a local ski pass for 205 euros per person which covered all the skiing we wanted to do over the course of the 6 days. All in all the Alpino plan is a nice 3 star, adequate for a ski holiday as long as you don't want a swimming pool or wellness area.

A nice bar to go for apres ski is the La Stua bar in the main town. The prices are reasonable and there is a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusterChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Two Dads who escaped work, the wives and the kids for a week on the slopes. One skier and one boarder.

The hotel is plan and simple, but well looked after with welcoming staff. Our room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels. Lots of hot water after a long day on the slopes.

Upon arrival we were offered for a 20euro deposit for a key for the skiboot room, which doubles up as the night access after lights out. We also purchased for 7euro a 7 day pass for the ski bus. This pass starts on the first day you use it and is valid for the whole of the valley. The night bus is payable every night you choose to use it.

Breakfast was help yourself buffet. Eggs were available upon request.

Dinner was always 5 courses. The best bit being the pasta starter. Go for the pasta with red deer sauce. Some evenings the meal did peak at the pasta.

There is a cosy bar and the barman Yuri (Son of the owner) will always help with local knowledge and advice.

All the staff we dealt with had a good understanding of English. In addition you will be by with Italian and German.

The hotel is at the top end of the village and is more like 10 minutes from the centre rather than the 2-3 minutes stated by the tour operators. The ski bus does stop near the hotel at the turn around point, but it does leave you with a 200m up hill walk with all your kit! Don't let this put you off. Staying that it is not the best location with people with children. The ski school meeting point is in the centre of the village. From here thay are bused to the nursey slopes.

Average beer in the village with a couple of good bars. Don't bother with the Irish bar. The only thing Irish about it is a picture of a pint of Guiness. We were served a Guiness which was half a pint of head!!!

Note that Italy is non smoking (apart from the smoking bar at the Irish bar).

Skiing was good. Some of the lower grade reds and blues were flat and narrow. Not much fun for us boarders!

The walk back down the hill in the mornings takes you to a small chair near the skibus stop. From here you can ski/board either to a larger lift up the mountain or into the village. From both points you have access to some good slopes and the Sella Ronda, both the green and orange route. I am a third year boarder and I got round the orange Sella Ronda in about 6 hours, including lots of stops for beer!

Take time out to enjoy the surronding villages and enjoy the good pizza and pasta. Take a walk down out of town and visit the pizza place with the motorbike fixed to the wall.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SevernSiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

A comfortable, pleasant 'oldy-worldy' type of hotel, managed by a very attentive family, who are at pains to accommodate all of their guests requirements. Food presented in an attractive and appetising manner. All tastes can be catered for - and will be if you ask!
Located a short but interesting walk from the centre of Selva. A regular bus service is available with a stop close by the hotel, for those requiring a little help back up the hill to the hotel!

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank Willington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Alpina
Hotel Casa Alpina
#46 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
153 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#55 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
100 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Corona Krone
Hotel Corona Krone
#45 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Wolkenstein
Hotel Wolkenstein
#82 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Garni Hotel Wildbach
Garni Hotel Wildbach
#73 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino Plan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino Plan

Address: Strada Plan 71, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $222 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpino Plan 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpino Plan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpino Plan Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing