We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
242
60
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
60
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 305 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

My family and I decided to spend a few days in Sesto Val Pusteria to go skiing and enjoy the scenery, the atmosphere. What a great choice the hotel Royal was! We enjoyed the staying, the slopes, the room with a breathtaking view over the Dolomiti, everything...
The hospitality was perfect, welcoming and helpful staff did cater for our needs. Maybe the SPA a little small but just what one needs to relax after a skiing day. Breakfast and dinner were abundant and always delightful, with plenty of choice and original combinations of ingredients.
Definitely worth staying!
G&V

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid W, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Good afternoon Mr. G.
We thank you for your rating here on Tripadvisor and we hope you had a good trip back home. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal with your family. Hope everybody is on top health and it would be very nice to see you next winter, for "a wonderful winter break"!
Best regards from Sesto
Family Watschinger Steiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

What a dream! The hotel is lovely, gorgeous views, amazing food, super friendly staff. Even though we were perhaps the only English-speaking family that week, we felt fully welcomed. The family and staff seemed to enjoy trying-out their English and they encouraged us whenever we attempted some Italian or German. Meals were creative and outstanding! They were so beautifully presented that I couldn't resist photographing them most nights. For what is called 3/4 board we had breakfast, afternoon soup, breads and cakes (strudel every day), and 5 course dinners every night. In the morning we were given the evening's menu and we often had multiple choices for each course. Our 16 yr old son is a vegetarian (eats fish) and we never had to remind them of this; they always had something exceptionally tasty for him. While at Hotel Royal he said he had some of the best meals he's ever eaten! (He had fish most nights, a couple main-course vegetable entrees, No tofu was served. Also, the soup available in the afternoons was always vegetarian!) Breakfast was plentiful: made to order eggs, omelettes, meats, cheeses, home-made yogurt, lots or grains, granolas, fresh pastries, fresh fruit, breads, amazing homemade jams (at least 6), local honeys, some raw vegetables and a fun juicer to make carrot/ apple juice. And of course coffee, cappuccino etc. The afternoon snack of soup, cakes etc is available for several hours; I think 1-5 pm. (serve yourself) We could get drinks from the bar and sit inside with large window views of the mountains, or sit outside on the deck. This soup snack was perfect to come back to after our daily hikes in the mountains. Dinner was at 7:00 (I believe you could arrive anytime between 7 and 8.) Wine and other drinks, including bottled water was at additional cost.
Our room was not on the front facing the main mountain range, but we were able to get a room on the east side 2nd floor (comfort room Bergwiesen 29m sq.) This was spacious for the three of us and we did have a balcony with view of smaller mountains (toward Sesto I believe). The room was very clean which is always extremely important to me.
Since this was our first time to the area and we are not fluent in German or Italian, Astrid suggested hikes for us which were all excellent and then she helped us plan transportation etc. We did not have a car.
Overall this was a perfect vacation and we are dreaming of returning one day.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank terra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016

We (family of 4, 2 adults and children 9 and 4) had a wonderful week in the charming Hotel Royal in February. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the hotel warm and comfortable, and the food which was half board was simply amazing. We were spoilt every night with multiple courses, many of which were home made, and breakfast was also wonderful and plentiful every morning.
We would recommend the Hotel Royal 100 percent.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2016

The perfect place for a week in the mountains. Superb facilities for skiing - modern ski lockers, spa facilities, massage, ski out/skin in position on the mountain. Fantastic food prepared by the very talented chef and something different each day.
Great service and a really friendly welcome from the Wachtschinger-Steiner family every time we visit.

Room tip: Ask for one of the 'Fischleintal' or 'Rotwand' rooms for great views
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid W, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2016

Good evening Mr. Pert,
thank you so much for your time and your rating here on Tripadvisor. We are very proud that you pass a nice Holiday in our Hotel. Hopefully we see us also next year. have a good time and thanks for everything!
Family Watschinger Steiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2016

This hotel lives up to its reviews for the most part--the family-owned property is beautifully cared for. It is welcoming, clean, friendly, efficient, and complete, It is run by some of the nicest people! Our room was a newly redecorated one that slept 3. It was done in nice neutral colors, and although small, it was comfortable. My only criticism is that the shower is tiny . . . I challenge you to turn around without bumping into the glass. The public areas were welcoming in that Northern Italy/German decor (homey) and the service was fantastic (albeit with very little English other than one of the owners). The food was good with obvious care to presentation but I have to say it was not always agreeable with our palette; some of the pairings of flavors were odd.(but that is just a matter of taste...we would have liked more garlic and rich flavors). The communication when reserving the room was fantastic, and we loved the ski equipment room (a real plus) and the wellness area. You won't find more helpful and accommodating owners and staff! Sesto is both charming and perfect for skiing and boarding...new equipment rental shop down the street, and slopes galore in the majestic Dolomites. GO!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews