We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Due Mari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Due Mari
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
göteborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have spent five nights in hotel Due Mari. As we celebrated a birthday we had some extra demand on the service. There was no problem at all to have that. In fact the personal was so kind and understanding. Clean rooms, wonderful pool with seawater and very good food will make this stay to a very nice memory in the winter.
B Stakeberg

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraG_teborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    163
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
176
214
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Situated about 1 hour's drive from Genoa airport, this hotel is also convenient if you go by train from Genoa to Sestri Levante train station. The hotel is only a short walk from many bars, restaurants and up-market shops, the Due Mari offers a peaceful haven with very nice rooms which are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is basic, cereals, toast, pastries, hard-boiled eggs and ham. Staff are pleasant and efficient. Nice swimming pool for relaxing around, in beautifully kept garden area. A very pleasant 5 day break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The hotel is charming, personal, clean, beautiful, and elegant. Its not a stately hotel with a grand entrance, but rather a cozy hotel, with lots of sitting corners, nooks, and parlors to find quiet solitude. The hotel throughout is decorated in a rich, antique style, which provides a characteristic ambiance reminscent of fine holiday vacations from a bygone era.

Our room was clean, adequately furnished, comfortable, and personal. It did not feel like a standard hotel room to turn quantities of guests night after night. We did not have a significant view from our room, but as we didn't plan to spend much time in the room, this was not a necessity for us. The beds were very comfortable, and the room's temperature was perfect at this time of year. I can imagine in the full heat of summer though, our room might have been more on the uncomfortable side, with only the small, corner AC unit to cool the entire room. The bathroom was big enough, but the fan was not really powerful enough to clear out the steam until long after a shower. The room was cleaned during our stay, with plenty of new towels replenished. We only had breakfast at the hotel, and in agreement with other reviewers, I would have preferred the option for a later breakfast, rather than the 9:30 closing time. The breakfast selection was sufficient, but it was not an endless buffet of choices. I'm a person who watches the nutrition of my diet very closely, and I found plenty of goodness within the items offered. There was enough to eat for me, though for another person who is used to a massive buffet of choice from a hotel, they may not be satisfied. Additionally, free wi-fi was available in the dining area, but not in our room. The pool area of the hotel was also quite nice, with a nice feel of privacy. The gardens were abundant with flowers and colors, and maintained in a natural, not overly manicured way.
The location of the hotel is excellent, with easy access to the whole area. Shopping, swimming, boating, walking, hiking, and the evening passagiata are easily available within a short walk from the hotel's entry.
We will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Upon reading previous reviews, I was anxious to see the hotel for myself. It was one of 5 suggested by the conference my fiance was attending and he had booked it months ago. So I was very happy and relieved to find a beautiful hotel with lots of art (paintings, sculptures and antiques), a quiet garden and a nice sized room (tons of hangers in the wardrobe, too). The hotel doesn't look quite as big from the street, but there are lots of places to wander through, or you could go for a swim up on the roof. I would have liked a bigger shower, or better yet, a tub. Maybe one of the higher priced rooms offers it, but I couldn't tell you.

It is steps away from the Bay of Silence but there is no view from our room... well a tiny glimpse if you go to the corner of the uppermost terrace... or once you step out the front door. The staff was decent as well, not overly friendly or smiley, but not rude. There is no alarm clock in the room, and one of our wake up calls was 3 hours early (3:30 am, ugh!)

The one thing that needs improvement is the assortment of their breakfast bar... 1 cut of not so great meat, nothing hot unless you toast your own bread of which there is very little choice, and no real cheese, only the spreadable kind. There were peaches and prunes, some cereal and jams. On one of the 3 days I spied some croissants but it was an hour after we'd eaten.... Oh and it's only open for 2 hours starting at 8 am. Now if you're good with a few little rolls with maybe some hazelnut spread and a cup or 2 of coffee, you've got it made.

I did enjoy laying in bed with the windows wide open and adjusting the shutters as it suited me. Leaning out the window and smelling the flowers is also a wonderful way to wake up.

This last comment is really for most hotels I've been to in the past 2 years... well all hotels except for The Portofino in Universal Studios Orlando...... why no conditioner? And why, if you know there are 2 adults in the room, do you only offer 1 bathrobe?

In conclusion, I loved the hotel. So what if breakfast sucked? There are tons of restaurants just down the street and the views are definitely worth a walk.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

I was getting a bit worried when | was starting to read some negative reports about this hotel, however I am happy to say I didn't experience anything bad at all. When I arrived, I noticed it was much grander and oppulent than I had ever experienced a 3 star hotel to be. Check in was swift, porter helped me with my luggage and showed me to my "single " room. This turned out to be huge room, with an enormous bed which seemed to be larger than my british king size back home. Lovely bathroom with lovely soft towels toiletries, hairdrier etc, mini bar, tv, ceiling fan and safe., and also a lovely terrace that I could sit out on.
Breakfast in the mornings was buffet style which was great,plenty to choose from with fresh fruit that I could take away with me for a mid-morning snack. My bed was turned down for me every night and everything was immaculate.
I chose to eat in the restaurant on one of my nights and I wasn't disappointed either.Great selection of dishes and I just paid for it when I settled my bill at the end of my stay. There was a pool upstairs in the hotel, it looked really nice and private, however I just settled for the beach. For the price I paid of 75 euros per night, booked direct with the hotel as it was cheaper than any website, I thought it was great value for money for someone who doesn't want to give up their little luxuries whilst on holiday. The ONLY gripe I have is that on check out the lady at the desk had to answer the phone a few times whilst dealing with me, so I was hanging about a little longer. Overall a very good hotel that I would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doaknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Last September we spend two beautiful days in Hotel Due Mare. The hotel is there for many decades, you can see and feel the history and the grandeur of Sestri in the Greta Garbo times. We liked that al lot. We had two beautiful rooms at the top floor with a balcony overlooking the bay and the see. One room had also even a small balcony overlooking the city and the other bay (and mare). Breakfast is good. Garden is big with a good pool. Very nice, friendly staf. Big garage. If you want to stay close to the “two sees” and you like to stay in the old town with all the restaurants and shop: go to the Due Mare!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — not to say
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We chose the hotel becuase of the 'pool' which turned out to be cold saltwater.
We knew we'd made a mistake when we first walked in. The lobby was worn and tired and full of strollers. Menu board on the front was not maintained. The twin brother owners threatened to call their lawyer when we suggested that we might prefer to stay one night instead of two. The hotel was not full, and we asked for alternate rooms, but they had none? The carpets and halls were smelly and dirty. The brothers seem to have inherited the place, and are not meant to be inkeepers. Never a smile or friendly nod.
We are experienced travellers, this is for real. I think I could've enjoyed this hotel at half the price. Bottom line: avoid the Due Mari.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chefnancyseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 km away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
#6 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Due Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Mari

Property: Hotel Due Mari
Address: Vico del Coro 18, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Due Mari 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Due Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Mari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing