We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem that sparkles at the top of a lovely town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Fulham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The gem that sparkles at the top of a lovely town.”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

There is little that has not already been said by way of praise for this small, well run, hotel. Everything here shows immaculate taste and style.

We were totally satisfied with the size of our room and the peaceful view across the valley. There are meshes across the windows so, for those of us who prefer fresh air to conditioned air, you can leave them open 24/7.

We were blessed with good weather so took our breakfast and our sundowners on the patio overlooking the garden.

Positioned at the top of the town the air is just that little bit fresher. Plus, the walk up the hill after dinner is a good way to help the digestion. I am sure no other hotel has quite the same lovely views.

I guess the first approach by car can seem a bit daunting but our UK purchased satnav got us there without a problem. Parking next to the hotel is also a bit daunting. However, the owner gave us a parking permit to use in the square that was less than five minutes walk away and that solved the problem with no inconvenience.

For those who want to stay in touch with the rest of the world there is reliable free WiFi in the public rooms and the garden.

Anna and her husband could not do more to make you feel at home. They added their local knowledge to our shortlist of Tripadvisor restaurants. They added their ideas to our itineraries planned with our self-drive car. They made our week.

We rarely go back to the same place twice as the world has so much to offer. The Palazzo at Spoleti could be the first time we break with tradition.

Room Tip: Tell Anna what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    59
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
201
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

As others have mentioned, driving to and parking at Palazzo Leti is a bit of a challenge, on account of the narrow roads and limited space. However, once you make it, you'll find a beautiful, comfortable, and welcoming Palazzo that is a perfect base for visiting Spoleto and the region. This was our favorite hotel (of the 5 we visited in Italy).

The owners/hosts (Giampaolo and Anna Laura) are incredibly helpful and hospitable. They helped with parking, driving directions, and sightseeing recommendations (which were spot-on). For example, when my wife and I wanted to take a short day-trip to Montefalco, without any other stops, Anna Laura strongly recommended that we visit Bevagna, as well (and she was right -- it was beautiful, and we had the best meal of our trip). That same day, Giampaolo went into town for us to buy a new voltage converter (earlier, we had complained that ours had broken prior to arriving in Spoleto); we didn't ask him to do this, but he knew that we'd have difficultly finding the store, so he went for us anyway.

It's hard to find any flaws with Palazzo Leti. Perhaps our air conditioner could have been a bit stronger. And, the restaurant we visited on our first evening, which the hotel had recommended, must have had an "off" night, because elsewhere in Spoleto we found better food.

But, those criticisms are very minor. Our room, in all, was superb. We loved the Palazzo Leti (and, incidentally, we loved Spoleto). We would immediately choose it again on our next visit to Spoleto (in fact, we'd probably plan a visit to Spoleto just to stay there!).

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Palazzo Leti hotel is a little bit of heaven.The beauty of the setting, the amazing warmth and helpfullness of the owners and the feeling of love and care that they put into their home and guests is truly amazing and wonderful. Spoleto itself and all of Umbria is exquisite with great food,wine, art and people. This to me is the reason to travel. Don't miss this gem. We'd go back tomorrow if we could.Janet and Julian K. Washington, DC

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I spent two very nice nights at Palazzo Leti last month. i would suggest you see the room before landing for sure. The "standard" room, in our minds, left something to be desired. We were upgraded somewhat at a somewhat higher price. Our eventual room was satisfactory, with a nice view to the 'holy' mountain and San Patricio. The a.c. wasn't on yet ('open the window') and it would have been appreciated. Bed and bathroom were fine.

Getting to the hotel through the ancient city was a bit of an adventurous drive and one should be driving a small car. Once there, parking was available in the courtyard outside the hotel (most of the time).

Many nice things about the Palazzo. Breakfasts were very nice and could be taken in the dining area or on the patio. It is beautifully, and recently, refinished in the public areas. The tranquil courtyard, with fountains, is a very pleasant, peaceful spot with lovely viewsover the city walls. You cannot see the acquduct from the hotel, but it is a short walk (and very much worth it). From the Palazzo it is easy to walk to any of the spots you want to see in Spoleto. Amazingly quiet location for being so much right in the city.

Do take a short drive across the main highway, past San Patricio (worth a look) to St. Francis' monastery and up to the top of the 'holy mountain' (ten minute drive, max). The ancient grove of trees at the top was amazing, as were the views over Spoleto.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niwotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Do yourself a favor! Stay at this hotel. It is fabulous. This is my second time at this hotel I had to go back to Spoleto. What a wonderful city and great little towns close by. The owners of this hotel work very, very hard to make this a wonderful visit. The price, the beauty I can not say enough wonderful things!!! Not a real touristy town, quiet but a lot of great of history, shopping and of course food and wine! A nice place to slow down after being in Rome and the Amalfi coast. Thank you Palazzo Leti you are a real gem!!!!

Room Tip: All are wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our 5 night stay in Palazzo Leti was wonderful.
The hotel owners were very kind and courteous-they were constantly on-hand to give any help or advice needed.As the hotel does not have its own restaurant ,they gave us excellent recommendations of places we could enjoy our evening meal. Spoleto has a fantastic choice of restaurants and some of the best were within minutes of Palazzo Leti.
What the hotel does provide, is a scrumptious breakfast and it was tops for us in our 8 previous trips to Italy.
We also enjoyed the `night cap`in their small but intimate bar-another plus!
While their English was as good as our Italian ( very broken!) we still managed to communicate.
Car parking was tight but our host and hostess parked it for us if needed!
The hotel is a perfect place to stay for exploring Umbria and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colette024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We wish we had stayed longer in Spoleto as this hotel made the difference. Beautiful place. It is in the heart of town and within walking distance of everything in Spoleto. Includes parking so it is also a great base to explore Umbria. We only stayed a single night just to see Spoleto however.

When we checked in we were greeted by the owner. He was extremely courteous and professional. We never asked for it but, out of the blue, he upgraded our room for the night. The new room was incredible. A villa isolated from the rest of the hotel on the other side of the garden. Very luxurious, romantic and full of character. Breakfast was excellent also.

We spent two weeks touring Italy. Spoleto was one of the most memorable spots of our tour made so in great part by Palazzo Leti. Had we not had prior reservations for our next stop we would have stayed longer in Palazzo Leti. We recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 km away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#11 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Via Degli Eremiti 10 | Angolo Via Brignone, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful residence of the noble Leti family is located in the historic center of Spoleto. According to various sources, it seems that this was the first residence of the Leti family who arrived in Spoleto in 1500 but the family name became extinct at the beginning of the XIX century. due to a lack of male heirs. The Residence was built shortly after the medieval city walls were constructed (1292) using, in part, a pre existent Roman structure which you can still see walking along Via delle Felici. Recent restoration has revealed an important architectural, environmental and historic heritage not to mention a garden that has been restored in classic "Italian garden" style. From the garden one can admire the beautiful view of Monteluco and some of Spoleto's most important monuments including the Rocca Albornoziana, and St. Peter's Church. Rooms: The Historical Residence consists of 12 rooms, all of which are decorated with warm lightly coloured fabrics and organza. Each room, with its unique architecture, colour and decor is reminiscent of a noble room of the past. All rooms have a view of the sacred mountain of the Spoleto valley "Monteluco", which evokes the peace and the harmony of the hermits that once lived there. Facility: Soundproof, safe, mini bar, air conditioning, TV sat, internet access free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leti Hotel
Palazzo Leti Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing