We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa la Rocca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa la Rocca Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Casa la Rocca
Double bedroom
Kitchen area
Looking out from the double bedroom
Twin room
Shower room
The pizza oven on a summer evening
Casa La Rocca in June
Sun loungers on the apartment patio
Val di Gizio from the apartment
Rocca Calascio - best view in Abruzzo
Chamois in the Maiella National Park
Oranges from Sicilia
Local produce on a roadside stall
Sulmona market
Lago di Barrea - swimming amongst the mountains
Pettorano sul Gizio
Sagittario valley
The Gargano peninsular
Campo Imperatore
Gran Sasso National Park
Winter above Scanno
Adriatic waves at Vasto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kaye380
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Casa la Rocca offers so much more than is shown on the website. The very comfortable and impeccably clean apartment is set in the most beautiful valley surrounded by stunning mountains.Sulmona is a very central location for exploring the area.
Hilary and Stuart are extremely knowledgeable and provide a very welcoming environment in which you can do as much or as little as suits your needs.
We are happy to recommend this wonderful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance
Liked least: Having to leave!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julschuh
1 review
“An island of recreation”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Casa la rocca is exactly as described on www.casalarocca.it. We can 100 % confirm all previous positive evaluations. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed our stay at "Casa la Rocca" so much that we would be happy to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nocdublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, stress-free & relaxing”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Hillary and Stuart were terrific hosts,always helpful but never intrusive. The apartment is delightful and well equipped.The setting, in the valley, is incredible even during some spectacular thunderstorms.I know the area well and there is a huge amount to do during summer here.There are wonderful outdoor pursuits such as walking/hiking in the amazing mountains , cycling and swimming in stunning lakes and beaches. There are events such as jousting, festivals in surrounding villages (including jazz festival) gastronomic celebrations and fireworks making for great nightlife also. There are many terrific , inexpensive restaurants in Sulmona and around , serving delicious local produce.A truly unbeatable combination for a holiday whatever your age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spectacularly beautiful place
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A peaceful base for a great walking holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Hil and Stuart at Casa La Rocca made me most very welcome. I arrived at lunchtime on the Sunday forgetting that there were no local shops open to buy food for the evening meal (the local supermarket was closing at 1300 as I drove into its carpark!). Previous tenants had left some tins, pasts and so on in the apartment and Hil very kindly gave me some basics from her own fridge to tide me over. Thanks very much Hil.
The apartment is superbly fitted out for self catering with all necessary pots, utensils etc, and the large double bed was comfortable. There is a peaceful patio associated with the apartment with table, chairs and grand view that was great for outside eating and relaxing. Also lots of maps and information leaflets on the area in the apartment helped. I wanted for nothing in the apartment - thanks.
Stuart wrote the “Walking in Abruzzo” Cicerone Guide and gave some very useful advice for the walks I had chosen. The weather was mixed so I did spent a couple of days staying comfortably in the apartment reading and sleeping - a great way to recharge the batteries. However, most if the time the weather was great and the walking and views stupendous (the late fresh snow fall to 1500m adding to the dramatic scenery).
Most I enjoyed a ‘sundowner’ beer or glass of wine sitting outside at the side of the villa in the pleasant, peaceful company of Stuart and Hil. Their homemade wine is wonderful!
The two bits of advise I give are: 1) having a car was for me essential to access the walks I wanted to do and to get provisions - the wee diesel Fiat Panda I rented was ideal, and 2) on driving to the Casa La Rocca from Sulmona I suggest taking the road Via Cavate from near the Confetti Pelino muzeum and factory, then take the left fork onto Via Torta. If you take the SP53 Via Cavate then the squeeze through Case Iommi with any car wider than a tiny Fiat would be near impossible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed and peaceful
Liked least: Couldn't easily walk to a bar or restaurant in the evening for drink or meal
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karst2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Arriving to a 2nd home”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We planned our holliday carefully, we enjoy walking in the Abruzzen very much and liked to stay in a place that gave us the opurtunity to visit several national parks, old cities and villages, privacy when we wished so and a day at the beach to recover from hiking and read a book. We found our place in Casa la Rocca. Surrounded by the view of the national parks and and nearby beauttyfull hikes. When we arrived whe had a very warm welkom from Stuart and the 2 dogs Max and Florance. (my wife is afraid of dogs but became good friends with them after a short while). Unfortunately Hillary was in England and we met her later. The appartment was proper and private with our own terras, everything needed was available. During our stay we had all the help we needed when asked for to make some beautufull walks and visits in the area. Actually the only unpleasant thing for us was to leave. Thanks again Stuart and Hillary for a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayGee377
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - a home from home”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Casa La Rocca is a perfect, comfortable little apartment, and well equipped. Has it's own terrace and own outside area. Hilary and Stuart were very welcoming and relaxed and offered advice and suggestions for the walking I was planning on doing for the 3 days I was there. Stuart even lent me one of his rucksacks and his map, and Hilary brought me fresh vegetables from their garden!

It's very peaceful but yet still only a 5 min drive from Sulmona and any facilities you may need, supermarket/restaurant etc. It's located between the Majella, Abruzzo and Sirente Villino National Parks so makes it an ideal base if you are trying to visit all three but from only one base. The southern edge of the Gran Sasso National Park is also less than an hours drive away.

A wonderful short stay and as a solo traveller felt safe in the knowledge that Hilary and Stuart would only have been a telephone call away if I needed them. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pim_and_C...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“A place to be”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Last June we stayed in Casa la Rocca for 2 weeks.
We had a wonderful time: cycling in beautiful surroundings, enjoying mountains, typical Abruzzo villages and Sulmona in the near neighbourhood. The apartment was very comfortable and Casa la Rocca offered every opportunity to relax and unwind. We would often climb up to the roof to watch the sun set.
We experienced Hilary and Stuart's kindness and hospitality with the greatest of pleasure.

We hope to come back one day...

Pim & Carina, the Netherlands

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing