We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
133
238
157
49
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
238
157
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe bussized poolwear a swimming capwaiter servicelovely hoteldeck chairslocal restaurantsfree parkingsea viewfamily roomthe staff were friendly and helpfulscrambled eggsbit datedpisa airportsmall townhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 611 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2018

I had lived in Tirrenia as a child when my Dad was stationed nearby so I was anxious to return and explore the town and area. Glad that I picked this hotel. Location was perfect and our timing was perfect - late enough for the pool and beach to be open and early enough to beat the summer crowd. Hotel is 50 years old but has been updated and is very nice. An advatage of its age is that the rooms and common areas are much bigger than hotels that are newer. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor with a northern view of the beautiful and and beach with mountains in the distance. The room was surprisingly roomy and the bed was firm but comfortable. It has been noted that a downside of ther age is that plugs needed for today's electronics were hard to come by but I was prepared and got by fine. The hotel wifi worked great and they even have wifi available on their beach in season. That brins up a point that some reviewers must have missed - this is a seasonal resort town with a lot of activity May to September and much less the rest of the year. The hotel's website makes it clear that not all amenities are available all year. If you plan for off season to avoid the criowds and save money you may have to miss out on some things. We found the breakfast buffet equal to other hotel swe have stayed at with a nice varietey of options. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would be glad to go back.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank curiouslygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Sir
we thank you for your visit and your positive comments to our Hotel.
We appreciate your detailed description of the hotel with its services and we thank you for your compliments to the kindness of the staff.
Hoping to welcome you again, but do not wait so many years to come back!
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay at this location due to the proximity to the airport and the pool.

We stayed in April for one evening when we were flying back from Pisa the next day. We were hoping for a relaxing day next to the pool - but this was closed. This was not advertised on the website and this proudly showcased itself online as a hotel with a pool.

The beach wasn't private - it was full of people who weren't genuine hotel guests and was instead full of large crowds and lucky lucky men.

Staff were friendly.

Breakfast was awful - not a good choice and what limited selection they had didn't rate great we ended up skipped it.

Good location with a market on when we arrived. Fair few restaurants and bars around. More Benidorm than Italy - it was full of lucky lucky men on the streets and a pole dancing club under the hotel, I wouldn't bring the kids here.

Interior to the hotel is nice. The rooms are dated.

View of the mountains and sea is lovely. Shame about the massive empty dirty pool ruining the view.

No iron to take to room but an iron room and it was top quality too unlike so many other hotel irons.

Got bus to and from here, very easy just need to buy ticket before getting on we got one from Pisa train station and from the corner shop near the hotel. Location for a taxi would be expensive - looks closer on a map to the airport than it actually is.

Wouldn't come again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear Guest
We are sorry about your disappointment. Our 4-star hotel is a historic building of the '70s, fully equipped with all modern comforts and it moves with the times. The rooms are simply furnished, but we inform you that during the low season they undergo a renovation: in the winter just ended, we have renewed the floor of the rooms and corridors.

The Olympic pool is open from 1st May to 30th September, as indicated on our website. We regret that you did not read this communication for your stay in early April. The hotel offers a private beach for hotel guests from May to September, included in the room rate. We believe that during your stay in April you had no opportunity to try, and therefore to judge, our private beach with its services.

Regarding your ungrateful comment on Tirrenia, we are sorry that during your short stay you could not appreciate the pleasant character of our village: Tirrenia is a popular seaside resort, a few miles from the center of Pisa, a favorite place for Italian and foreign tourists, from business people, to couple, to young people, to families with children who spend pleasant and peaceful holidays. Tirrenia offers shops, bars, restaurants, pubs, clubs on the sea as in any other tourist destination.

Regarding the distance, we inform you that the Grand Hotel Continental is located 15 km from the Pisa airport, a distance of 15 minutes by car, as indicated on our website. To reach the airport, as an alternative to a taxi, the hotel has a shuttle service and there are frequent bus connections.

With the breakfast buffet we are committed to satisfy all the tastes of our various guests, offering a wide selection of croissants, cakes and homemade pies, fruit juices, cold cuts, cheeses, fresh fruit, different types of bread, biscuits, jams and honey, corn flakes, jogurt, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, hot drinks served at the table. However, for every request the waiters are available.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay in Tirrenia, we thank you for the compliments to the kindness of our staff.
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located close to the beach and from the room you have a nice view of the sea.
The staff is friendly.
But the building definitely needs some renovation and investment.
Tiles in the bathroom were broken, energy sockets did not work and the free WiFi was almost not existent.
Good thing is that we learned that one half of the hotel is currently under construction.
So there should be improvement visible soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank markusjochengoldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear Guest

We read your review and we are happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel a few steps from the beach, as well as having appreciated the friendliness of the staff.
To ensure a high standard and quality services to our customers, the hotel makes regular maintenance and renovation works. We will verify your report of broken tiles, since there are no such damages.
For any disruption, we wish to inform you that the reception is ready to solve any technical problem from the power sockets to the wifi connection. The wifi connection is present in the common areas and in the rooms.
We hope to welcome again at Grand Hotel Continental

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in the Grand Continental a few times now for business and I do very much enjoy it. Nice and clean, everything you need plus a very good pool. Although there is a slightly frustrating lack of plug sockets near the beds and the gym need some attention as some of the equipment is faulty. Good food and very pleasant staff.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank jammez321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We returned to the Hotel Continental for another stay to be in Tirrenia, a beach resort with many good restaurants nearby and good access to main highways. The hotel staff are all very cordial and welcoming. The rooms are clean, functional, with balconies facing the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can specify whether you want a room facing north toward Marina di Pisa and the more distant mountains capped in marble, or southward toward Livorno. We chose north, having faced south on our previous visit. The rooms are a bit outdated, but comfortable and functional. The common areas of the hotel are much more modern looking than the rooms. The breakfast buffet is varied, complete, with good attentive service. There is a large pool and a section of beach attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor (3rd) to have better overall view of the sea and beyond
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews