We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Werner W
Zurich, Switzerland

Amazing Hotel in Tirolo (close to Merano)

Review of Golserhof
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 23, 2021
We spent five nights in this Hotel in Tirolo. It was the first time and we found it because of a hint from friends. Our expectation were high and it was not a disappointment. This hotel is amazing. The staff is super friendly, everything is clean and nicely maintained, the furniture and decoration looks great and the room was big enough and everything worked. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. They also have a nice, large wellness area. We will come back.
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Great view over Meran
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Golserhof, Direttore generale at Golserhof, responded to this review
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you felt comfortable with us.
We are looking forward to see you again

Best regards from Dorf Tirol
the Golserhof family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
0.8 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view from our hotel
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$273
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Golserhof
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Terrasse/Eingang
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Golserhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tirolo / Dorf Tirol
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
243
55
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
243
55
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 307 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2020 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful - the infinity pool, the jacuzzis in the rooftop and the restaurant with the views. The food is delicious and the waiters are very kind.

However, the rooms are not comfortable and are very outdated. We tried both the suite and a double room and weren’t impressed with either.

The living room in the suite has a very uncomfortable couch, small TV and poor decor. The room itself is also nothing special and very basic.

The balcony is nice and the view is great but not worth the price of the room as it’s the only highlight of the suite.

The double room is very small with a tiny bed against one side of the wall. I would definitely not recommend staying with 2 people as it becomes cramped and uncomfortable.

All beverages are excluded from the half board option so if you want a bottle of water with meals or a coffee at dessert you have to pay the extra. Dinner is also served very early - 8pm being the latest you can go.

The most unpleasant experience was when upon checking out we asked for 2 glasses of water at the counter (it was 30 degrees!), and the owner made a point to charge us €3.80! When we pointed out that we would happily pay but found it to be an absurd fee, she was very rude and sarcastically offered us the water as €3 “is nothing!”.

There’s plenty of offer around with more modern rooms and a less outdated service. As you have to dine so early and there’s not much to do around town or at the hotel itself, it’s fundamental to have a comfortable room to come back to.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mati437
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Golserhof, Direttore generale at Golserhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

Dear Ms. Espregueira!

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the kitchen and the service in our house very much.
However, we would like to point out that you booked for the first night a "retro suite" for the first night (we always mention everywhere that these are our older suites) and for the second night a single room a a couple with a French bed (140 x 200 cm ) and not a double room. Our double rooms are all larger and of course have beds measuring 200 x 210 cm. All rooms are described in exactly the same way on our homepage and in our emails and shown with photos. We also never claim that our rooms are modern. We'd rather call them timelessly classic.

This year we had to remove all things that cannot be cleaned sufficiently and regularly, such as decorations, decorative pillows (cannot be washed with disinfection program), blankets, newspapers, etc., due to the still delicate situation with Covid-19. That is why the rooms will appear a bit more sterile this year than they normally would, as if blankets and decorative pillows etc. were still to embellish the overall picture and make it more comfortable.

We are very sorry that you thought we were an all-inclusive hotel and that there were discussions when you checked out, about paying the drinks you ordered. But with us you can only book with half board or with breakfast and we communicate it that way. All drinks that are ordered extra at dinner or at the bar have to be paid.

We would be happy to welcome you back as our guests and are convinced that if you book a double room that it will be big enough for you as a couple and that you will feel comfortable.

Kind regards

Patrick Mair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2020

It's well worth to invest some more money in one of the new family suites on the top floor with the jacuzzies, they are awesome! We had a great time in this hotel, nice staff amazing views, great views and you just step out and have a nice walk through endless apple plantations....

Room tip: Top floor suites
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Golserhof, Direttore generale at Golserhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2022

Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you felt comfortable with us.
We are looking forward to see you again

Best regards from Dorf Tirol
Patrick Mair & Hiltrud Gufler
with the Golserhof family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2019

A wonderful hotel in a lovely setting.
Excellent accommodation, well appointed, brilliant service and very friendly staff. Excellent food. Nothing too much trouble and great facilities. Ideal for both families and single travelers.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick M, Proprietario at Golserhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

Thank you very much. We are glad that you spend a nice holiday in our hotel.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Delightful visit in late October. Excellent food and wine. Very helpful and attentive owners and staff. Good rooms with lovely views. Beautiful spa facilities. Village of Dorf is close by and Mirano is a pleasant walk away. Hiking with Patrick, one of the owners was great fun! Our German and Italian language abilities are quite limited but this wasn't an issue as most of the staff speak good English.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timgrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

This hotel is about 10-15 minutes away from the centre of Tirolo, which I will define as the tourist info place. Depending on your lazy-level, the relative seclusion may be a pro or con.
The staff are top notch and will make an utmost effort to help you. Now, going to another country, one should never expect others to speak your language and nor be critical if they don't. But in case it is useful for others: the level of English spoken depends on the person, but it isn't always very proficient, and some staff do not speak English. This does not detract from the caliber of the staff at all.
It is a bit formal, though if you're used to the Holiday Inn.
The breakfast was really good, if you like cured meats, cheeses and fruit. Probably the best breakfast selection and quality we had on our trip.
The room was small, especially for the price, but was otherwise comfortable. We generally don't use the foot cover sheet in hotels, and when the cleaning staff visited, they left the foot cover off! That's very thoughtful of them.
We budgeted for one dinner at the hotel, and it was fantastic. A bit pricey to be had every evening, but a good value nonetheless.
The hotel is pretty good for the above reasons, but as alluded to in the title, the AC upset me.
During our stay, nights were about 27oC but the AC was turned off that time of year to conserve energy. I'm not saying that 27oC is the end of the world, but for the price of the room, you should be able to sleep at any temperature you want. For an organization that pays minute attention to the comfort of the staff, why don't they realize that some people just don't feel comfortable sleeping in a room that hot and results in an unrestful sleep. Isn't in the most basic form the reason for a hotel?

So even though many aspects of the hotel were awesome, the lack of AC made this an uncomfortable stay for me. That being said, my wife loved this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick M, Owner at Golserhof, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2016

Hi Johnny W.,

thank you for your very goog review.
As we are living in the mountains there are very few hotels with AC, because we have moderate temperature during the night. In fact I checked the temperatures in may and there we still had night temperatures between 12C an 15C degrees outside (this was a cold may this year). So most of the people still needed the heating in the morning. Please note that the air conditioning can work only at night temperatures above 19° C outside. Until then, we recommend to sleep with open windows and breathe the wonderful air of Dorf Tirol. As we do not have mosquitoes in the surroundings and it is a very safe area, this is completely harmless. Of course, you will get hot temperatures in the room if the windows stay closed the whole night and day. Especially because during the day we had really warm temperatures.
We still have not written in our brochures or internet that we have AC in our rooms. But from march 2017 all our rooms will equipped with AC. But even then it can work only at night temperatures above 19° C outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews