We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geweldig, authentiek restaurant, Great and authentic restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Pinturicchio

Al Pinturicchio
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maastricht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geweldig, authentiek restaurant, Great and authentic restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

In our opinion the best restaurant in Tropea. We are travelled well and have been working in tourism for a long time...meaning eating out very frequently .....we like to eat and appreciate good food. In this place you will find excellent food, kind and helpful staff even if your Italian is not that fluent. We have had dinner 3 times here and were never disappointed. We can highly recommend this place to you if you like to eat good and honest Italian food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    324
    110
    35
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic, Great Food, Great Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This restaurant is a real gem. The food was by far our favorite in Tropea and the service staff worked very hard to make sure guests where satisfied. Like in most Tropean restaurants fish is the star attraction. The fish at Al Pinturicchio all seemed to be swimming in the sea that morning. The staff is very proud of this fact and will offer to show you the uncooked fish before you order. We ate here twice and the second time ordered a very large fish for the table. We found it interesting that the waiter offered to take our picture with the fish before it was baked. The fish preparation is simple "al forno" but moist and flavorful with herbs and citrus. We especially liked the two regional antipasti (Locale and Tropea) each served with a basket of still warm riccotta cheese. Another not-to-be-missed dish is the gnocchi with shriimp.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riskdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“best pizzeria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have just returned from a beautiful vacation in Tropea, and the place that stands out the most is this excellent restaurant. It is authentic, with a great terrace, excellent service and delicious food. The pizza is the best that Tropea offers, the fish is fresh and succulently grilled, the pasta is excellent, and they offer a great wine list. A fresh fruit salad to top off the meal was refreshing and a perfect digestive suggestion. The waiters were patient, in explaining each dish, the pizza chef came out and introduced himself, as we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the selection of lovely paintings hung above the tables were by him. They even offered us a complimentary drink at the end of several of our many meals there. If you are looking for typical, homemade food, in a great ambiance, at very reasonable prices, I recommend this restaurant!! Enjoy, and Bon Apetito!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid it unless you're Italian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Dreadful service, no great interest in non Italians and not the cheapest around. Goo food though but meal ruined by poor service and staff attitude.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

lovely atmosphere, wonderful food and reasonably priced. Owned by some good, friendly people.
white table clothes, good service and great fish and pizza. We keep going back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank velvetkappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Pinturicchio also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Al Pinturicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing