We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
202
232
105
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
232
105
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake varese old world free shuttle common areas seen better days hill overlooking big park impressive building classical hotel old building stunning views grand old lady loved our stay small pool big hill bygone era extensive buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 579 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We stayed here for just one night. It really is a "Grand Hotel" and looks very impressive. Staff were very helpful and pleasant at check in. We had a room on a high floor with views over the distant lake and town below. The room was quiet, well decorated and equipped, everything worked as it should. The hotel is a bit detached from the town and is up a hill, not a problem for a short stay.

We had a meal in the hotel in the evening, the dinning area was good with views over the garden. The food wasn't great but was OK. Breakfast was busy, probably more so than usual as there was an event on in the town, the staff seemed to cope with it all well.

Room tip: Get a high floor room with views, both lake and mountain views are good. All are quiet and traffic free because of the hotels location.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Planenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear Guest your words of appreciation to our services and our structure make us very happy and help us ,why not, to further increase our presence in the hearts of our customers.
We would like to re-open our doors when you arrive and welcome you with our best smile.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

You can imagine glamorous people turning up here inputs years. Its a big hotel with old world charm. So its best to accept that. We liked it and would go again. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The blind broke on our room and even before I had phoned reception some maintenance men arrived to fix it having noticed us having problems from the garden. We ate in one night and the food was good a bit pricey but we expected that. A local wine was excellent. The room had a lovely view (most rooms do) a huge bathroom with a bit of a small shower. The hotel stands on top of a hill. There is no quick way down or up so have your own transport arranged. There is a shuttle. It takes 40 mins to walk into Varese and a chunk of that is the hill. There is ample parking at the hotel. I will remember it fondly.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jelleyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear Guest, you are also and will be part of our best customers and we thank you for having stayed at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese and to have the kindness to publicly share your experience here on Tripadvisor, maybe also to help in choosing the location, for your holidays, future guests
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

My first room (214) was spacious, clean &comfortable with a great view of the lake. The window blind didn't work so I was awakened each morning at sunrise by the sun blinding me.
My second room (424) was tiny - shower stall was the size of that on a cruise ship despite there being more than enough space. Again the window blind didn't work but there was both a high pitched whine all night as well as a rumbling sound like clothes in a washing machine. Between the two of them, sleep was not restful.
But the worst of all was the lack of concierge service - rude, no taxis, misinformation (wrong directions to train station).
And if you're considering visiting Varese for a few days, don't bother. Everything is closed by 7 PM, there are no taxes after 10 PM and we walked miles and miles in the rain each night. One night we were refused entry into no less than 5 restaurants between 8:15 - 8:30 PM and ate take out pizza. The town was a major disappointment.

Room tip: Room 214 was far nicer than room 424.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Danny thank you for having stayed more 'days at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese. We find it rather strange that an entire city did not like you, including the hotel. Probably you could not understand local customs and habits, such as the blinds, going up or down using the appropriate rope ... Among other things, you had two different bookings, one with a double room overlooking the lake and the other with a twin room without a lake view ... Also you wanted to pretend to find a free restaurant in the city on Saturday night without booking and mostly during the world championship of great cycling ground... We apologize from the city of Varese for the total lack of taxis in those days, due to the very low availability of cars in our city, but unfortunately the local authorities in charge do nothing to help the population in this.
We hope that our further explanations may have made it better to understand what has not worked in your opinion...
Take care ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This was our second time. .beautiful old fashioned hotel ,you could think you were in Thomas Mań´s „ Zauberberg“ . Nice rooms ,views, . Garden. Very helpful staff.
The restaurant was exceptional last year but this year rather uninteresting. maybe they changed the owners?

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TessaT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Tessa the property of the hotel has not changed, fortunately it is always the same. We assure you that this year our menus have offered the best of Italian cuisine, with very tasty and inviting dishes. We have indeed received many plaudits from our international guests, but we know that it is not possible to be able to please everyone. But we try everyday and we will always try!
We are waiting for your third stay at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese, certainly with an increasingly rich and varied menu.
Take care .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Stylish hotel with stunning view, just few km’s from CH border. Very nice entrance and friendly staff. The restaurant is friendly and the food is good quality but a bit over priced. We’ll definetly keep this as a few day stop when going further south.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 409maartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Maarten thank you very much for this beautiful and positive review of the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese and its always attentive and smartl staff. We are flattered to be a fixed point for future trips to the south. See you soon and have a good summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews