We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
105
23
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
23
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sacro monte amazing views orange liqueur medieval village like stepping back in time beautiful hotel santa maria recommend this hotel malpensa airport liquor riccardo specialty balcony hill milan century meats
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Never have wanted to not go home so much. Beautiful hotel with exceptional views. Delightful rooms and food that is absolutely exquisite. Wonderful wines. Amazing base to use if you cycle. But the best thing is the staff. We felt like we were amongst friends. The staff were so helpful and caring, making our stay absolutely perfect. Missing it all so much. Massive thanks to Riccardo and all the folk there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Estherjon5jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I spent only one night here and would absolutely recommend it....Incredible views, fascinating history, sumptuous food, kind and attentive staff, exciting 'elixir'....
After booking the Hotel sent us several very helpful emails with information on getting there, by car and public transport,
we took the train to Varese, then a bus (C) to the bottom of the funicular, hassle free and quick. They also included a list of activities from hiking/biking routes to paragliding!

We will most definitely return....

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PollyH184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 23, 2018

Thank you Polly! We want our guest to be ready to come to Sacro Monte and discover all the beauties our territory can offer.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

My experience is related to the restaurant of the hotel Borducan. Wonderful place, so peaceful and charming! The light candle dinner was such a romantic experience! Excellent food, tasteful experience, good wine cellar. Riccardo is very happy to suggest the right combination food-wine. The atmosphere is unique, a sort of flashback into the 30's, the wood pavement, the Liberty style, Edith Piaf singing on the air.... the plates are a combination of original ingredients mixed together. The Duffy Duck caramelized is a pleasure for the palate. The gnocchi Bietola e zola....wonderful mix between sweet and hot! I suggest also Tagliolini al volo, cooked with orange elisir....
and please ask for the Burducan elisir cocktail as starter!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittoriadeghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet774248, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Al Borducan Romantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Vittoria, we are happy to hear this feedback. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

The hotel is situated in an old town on top of a mountain. The view from here is stunning. You don't hear cars but the noise from birds instead. The hotel itself is very well maintained and beautiful. I felt like I was in a film in the 1920s. You can also enjoy a peaceful breakfast with stunning mountain view.

The hotel room was very quirky and spacious with a little balcony inside the room! Again, no noise no disturbance. Hotel staff is extremely friendly, polite and helpful too.

The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the village centre where you can enjoy an even better scenery.

Connection to Verese town centre is very easy. A 20-25 minutes bus journey and you may get a train to Milan every hour from there. It is an amazing experience to stay at the hotel and in Varese. Highly recommend anyone who visits Milan to take a visit to Varese and hotel Borducan.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sin211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

This is a long story, about an Italian Wine dinner at a restaurant in Kirkland Washington, a winemaker just a bit homesick for his Varese home, and his happy tasters (us) asking for information about places to visit in Northern Italy.
We arrived in Italy with plenty of time to drive from the Malpensa Airport to Verese and on to Sacro Monte of Varese, a walking trail through a beautiful small village with 17th century chapels dotting the hillside walk to a Catholic Church on top. We had scouted the Hotel Borducan and as easy going travellers we figured it looked fun, the person answering the phone spoke great English and was very attentive and helpful. It turns out that Riccardo was not only a fantastic Host, he was a jazz buff, acted as Maitre D, Bartender, information center and was supremely pleasant. The wait staff is a perfect reflection of Riccardo's lead, efficient, very friendly, and always attentive. His brother was our Chef, and I"m sure there's a familial connection elsewhere, it just feels like it.
Our dinner was delicious, and having Riccardo pick our wines and specialty appetizers made it the very best first night after travelling so far I can imagine. We luxuriated in the view for 3-1/2hours, which I guess is a short Italian dinner, but to say it was anything but sublime would be an understatement. Riccardo brought the house specialty desert liquor to us, snacks and tidbits whenever we didn't have something to nibble on. His choice for our "local" wine was perfect, so perfect in fact the next morning our little Cafe Veloce in Kirkland where this all started featured this exact wine for their next wine tasting night. Serendipity at it's finest.
I could and should go into detail about all the funny and coincidental things that happened while we were here at Borducan. I'm hoping you go there instead and make your own wonderful memories. If I was not at the mercy of a schedule next time I might check to see when they have entertainment in their amphitheater just below the bell tower. The view was awesome, and it would be a real once in a lifetime thing if you could time it right.
Love Borducan, lots to see on walks, fantastic food, warm welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: Let Riccardo know your needs and preferences, then let him do the rest.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brixy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews