We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verbally and physically abused in Verbania - NOT recommended for International Tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ostello di Verbania
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

The WORST hostel experience EVER!!!! Granted arrived late in the night, but hostel accepted booking after 9pm when reception closed at 7pm. No contingency and no preparation.

Woke me up with nothing but verbal abuse, and when receptionist started to get physical and I tried to get her to stop touching me, she grabbed me by my throat!!!! Luckily the Police arrived and realised that there were 2 sides to the story and were very helpful and pacifying, even advised me how to report the physical assault.

This is something decent hostel/ hotel staff should be able to sort out themselves if they have half a brain cell between them. I have travelled the world, but this experience was UNBELIEVABLE !!!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Justice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTELLODIVERBANIA, Responsabile reception at Ostello di Verbania, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016
Google Translation

La cliente, la sera del suo arrivo (oltre l'orario di check-in), trovando la reception chiusa pensò bene di entrare in una camera non assegnata a lei, ed oltretutto riservata ad un altro cliente che aveva pagato per la singola.
La mattina successiva, dopo aver saputo dell'accaduto dal cliente, la cui camera era stata senza motivo occupata da un'estranea, invitammo la signora in oggetto a recarsi in reception sia per il pagamento che per chiedere delucidazioni in merito al suo comportamento non consono alle regole della struttura. Di tutta risposta la signora si chiuse nella toilette per più di mezz'ora, cercando successivamente di "scappare" dalla struttura senza pagare.
Mentre la mia collega nonché responsabile, oltretutto gravida, cercava di fermarla e farla uscire dall'auto, la cliente le sferrò una sportellata sulla pancia, mettendo a rischio le condizioni fisiche della responsabile. Ovviamente durante il caos dato dalla situazione le forze dell'ordine erano già state allertate ed erano prossime ad arrivare in struttura per porre rimedio alla questione.
Ovviamente solo dopo aver interagito con la polizia la cliente si decise a pagare il suo soggiorno e fu così libera di andar via.
La cliente è entrata all'interno di una camera senza degnarsi minimamente del rispetto degli altri clienti né tanto meno delle regole vigenti in Ostello; anzi dalla sua recensione si evince il contrario di quanto accaduto realmente.
Ci auguriamo di non vederla più nella nostra struttura!
--------------------------------------------------------------------
The customer, in the evening of his arrival (after check-in hours), finding the reception closed, she thought to occupie a room not assigned to her, and moreover reserved from another customer who had paid for a single room.
The next morning, after learning of the incident from the customer, whose room had been occupied by a stranger for no reason, we invited the lady in question to go to the reception for the payment and to ask for clarification about his behavior objectionable , against the rules of the structure. Her reaction was closing in the toilet for half an hour, then trying to escape from the property without paying.
While my colleague and responsible, moreover pregnant, tried to stop her and get her out of the car, the customer given a sportella on her stomach, putting at risk the physical conditions of the woman. Obviously during the chaos of the situation, the police had already been alerted and they arrived in structure, to remedy the issue.
Obviously only after interacting with the police the customer decided to pay his stay and was so free to leave.
The customer has entered into a room without respect for other clients and of the rules of the hostel; at the contrary, from its review it shows the opposite of what actually happened.
We hope to never see her again in our hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2015

The building and garden are just great. We have arrived late, when reception was closed, but it was no problem to get entrance code in advance.
Modest breakfast, but enough for start of the day. For internet access some registration was needed what I have found a bit strange.
To see the building I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Dormers are quite big but never too crowded. Everything is clean (especially the toilets). The location is great (an ancient building); it offers a large garden with an amazing view upon the lake. Prices amazing re very convenient!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Camilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I spent two nights at the Ostello di Verbania together with my boyfriend. We had a room with an own bathroom. It was clean, but very simple. Especially the bathroom reminded me of my last school trip. But well, it was also very cheap. The lock of the room is very simple, too, so you can not leave valuables in the room when you are not there.
At the reception we were welcomed very friendly and they were always pleased to answer questions or give recommendations concerning the surrounding (restaurants, activities ...).
The location of the hostel is very good, it's a nice old house and you reach the center and the lake in 5 minutes by feed. The car can be parked on the area of the hostel. You have a great! view at the lake from the room and from the little "terrasse" where you can eat breakfast. The breakfast was not that bad, there was for example toast and croissants, yoghurt and even fresh fruits. The coffee as well as the ham and cheese were not of very high qualitiy, but drink- and eatable.
Definitely recommendable if you search for something cheap in good location and don't expect luxury! However, for a journey with my boyfriend I would next time prefer to book something more romantic ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiSch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Two friends and I stayed at this hostel for one night. The room was clean, friendly staff and breakfast had good variety. But make sure you bring your towels and also slippers/flip-flops. The floor was cold and also when going to bathroom, they are quite handy. The room I stayed was co-ed and there were 8 beds. Since we were the ones arrived last, we could not pick a bed and I ended up sleeping on the bed closest to the entrance. I slept quite ok as I had ear plugs. Location was good. Walking distance to town centre and lake. Considering the price we paid, it was an ok stay.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SleepyPinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfect location, for everything and everyone - 5min to the local restaurants and burs, 10min to the park, 20min to the port. Parking for free, wi-fi for free and was working really nice. Variety of the rooms, from double to 9 persons. Bathrooms were clean and big. I will not risk and leave the expensive and important thing in my room - the key was just normal wardrobe key.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hostel is within a beautiful old house within a large plot of land on top of a hill in Verbania.

We had a private twin room booked but for some reason we were given a double room with two additional twin beds. The rooms were basic and the decor was very tired and this was the same for the entire hostel. It was all a bit dated and tired.

The woman on reception was smoking when we arrived despite the fact it was a non-smoking hotel and there was warning signs all over the place about fines we'd have to pay if we were smoking in our rooms. We asked for food suggestions and she told us to go to some restaurant 10 minutes walk away where we could get a discount as a guest at the hostel. The restaurant was actually over half an hour away and looked awful so we ended up walking all the way back to Verbania's main waterfront and eating there.

There is no wifi in the rooms and the bathrooms are for both male and female but there is no where to put your belongings so you either have to walk through the hostel in your towel or your belongings get wet.

The breakfast in the morning was disgusting. When we stayed there was maybe about 10 people maximum there but they put out a continental breakfast that could feed 100. I don't even want to know how long they keep their food for....

This property has the potential to be something amazing but they are going about it totally the wrong way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vxk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
22.4 km away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
313 reviews
2.3 km away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#5 of 14 in Verbania
233 reviews
4.2 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
183 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Santanna
Hotel Santanna
#7 of 14 in Verbania
141 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
#4 of 14 in Verbania
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello di Verbania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello di Verbania

Address: Via delle Rose 7, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Verbania
Price Range: $52 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ostello di Verbania 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel was born in the town of Verbania Verbania in a luxurious villa of the early twentieth century, set in 3,000 sqm of parkland, overlooking Lake Maggiore, a stone's throw from the historic center, the tourist hub and commercial center of Verbania . A totally renovated and offers all the comforts for an unforgettable holiday. The Hostel in Verbania is the ideal place for those who want a relaxing holiday close to nature, for those who want to play sports, for those wanting a bit of healthy relaxation. The town of Verbania offers its guests many opportunities to have fun through sports, culture, culinary arts, family fun all in the extraordinary natural setting of Lake Maggiore. You can spend your vacation by choosing from a trip to the Monte Rosa and the Val Grande National Park, guided tours of the Natural Parks of the Devero and Veglia, boat trips to the Borromean islands and the nearby town of Stresa, you can visit the nearby Switzerland and skiing at nearby ski resorts. Our professional staff aims to make guests' stay pleasant with information, help and tips about the city and events. The hostel is open to all groups, families, couples, backpackers of all ages .. choose the formula that best suits your needs. The Hostel in Verbania is a partner of AIG and the Hi Hostelling Internationa "Italian Youth Hostels Association" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ostello di Verbania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Di Verbania Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing