We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveller rating
927
359
90
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
359
90
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view across the road large swimming pool waiter service high ceilings pool bar wide corridors evening meal plenty of sunbeds old world charm salad buffet half board garden area reception staff this lovely hotel deck chairs tea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Lovely old school hotel with great service throughout. Spotlessly clean, spacious and charming. It overlooks the sea but also has its own good size pool if you don't want to be bothered with all that sand and prefer a pool side bar!.

Room Tip: Great sea views so opt for one of those if you can get it.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adagio503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We arrived late Saturday evening and were given a warm welcome and an upgraded room. Throughout the week the staff were friendly and attentive. The maid made the room look brand new on a daily basis and the waiters always greet you with a smile. Each day you can discuss the evening menu and make adaptations if needed (one person in our group is vegetarian). Without doubt i will go back and i would highly recommend the hotel and Viareggio.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Annaosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Dear Guest,
It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

this hotel has such beautiful location and building .. its pretty old but has a charming feeling about it .. i love the old reception with the wooden boxes and the vintage feel all around .. has a great garden and pool area with hammock and relaxing chairs.
my view was that the hotel does look vintage which is a good theme but its kinda done weirdly or lazily done it looked dirty and old like bad old .. breakfast area was great with piano playing was amazing the food varaity is good but most things had meat in it which could be hard for vegetarians or people who simply dont want meat in their meal to enjoy the buffet ..

all in all was a different experiance we loved it and would love to see it renovated with a more clean vintage/modern look

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FatmahBabtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to rewiew our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are delight that the hotel was your liking in some part and please apologies if wasn't in other part.
For sure you will not see the hotel renovated in a modern look!!!
The hotel is an historic buiding first 900!!This is its charm!
Hope to welcome you once again
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

A beautifully presented hotel, staff from reception to pool exceptional,good sized bedrooms with all facilities.Well presented gardens and terraces,large pool with friendly staff.Good comfortable and relaxed stay.
All areas of the hotel were kept to a high standard.
Good selection of cafes and bars close by,good rail links so you can visit Tuscany at your leasure.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, would advise the same
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andrewmcb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and I am delighted you chose to spend your time with us. I will pass on your kind words of appreciation to the team and do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marino P, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews